We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights over Easter. The hotel is in an excellent location: just outside the centre of Sorrento in a quiet area but close enough to walk to in less than 10 minutes. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean, bright and spacious - we were on the 5th floor and had a good view of the sea. We dined in the restaurant on one evening and the food was excellent with a special Easter menu - there is also a good choice of wines at reasonable rates. Lots to do in the area. We'd definitely stay again.
Michael O'D.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the nice review and for having spent your time posting it giving us a big help on Tripadvisor.

We’re very pleased that you had such a lovely holiday also thanks to our Hotel and all the comforts we offer: first of all the location ,as you’ve just said, it’s definitely what makes the difference since we are very close to the centre and to the station but far enough to enjoy a bit of calm and quiet.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our Menus at the Restaurant, we put great care in choose of food and first quality products.
Lastly, we would be really glad to enjoy the pleasure of your company again,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

My 8 nights here were a real treat. Elegant, classic decor throughout. I loved the balconies (there are some communal ones so you can benefit from these even if your room doesn't have one) and the view from the rooftop terrace was great. The garden was lovely too. There are two pools, one at ground level and a small one on the roof.

The electric blinds were a real plus for me as sunlight can wake me easily. So I slept well here. The room was a good size and the wi-fi worked well.

The breakfasts were very good indeed, with lots of variety and real flavour in the food. The dining room was beautiful too.

But perhaps the best thing was the lovely staff. Fabiana on reception gave us a warm welcome, Enzo in the restaurant is jovial and a real gentleman, and Giuzy who does the eggs in the breakfast room is a star - what a lovely lady! She even gave us a goodbye hug! I miss them all now.

So I'll definitely stay here again if I come back to Sorrento. Thank you all for a lovely stay! Mille grazie a tutti!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Direttore at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.


It’s so nice to read such nice words about our Hotel dealing with the rooms perfectly and spotlessly cleaned and the wonderful position that , on the one hand is very good because it takes just 10 minutes walking from the centre and the Tasso square and on the other hand offers a relaxing and quiet atmosphere avoiding all the noise and hustle.

In particular , thank you so much for having highlighted the stunning view you can enjoy not only from the sea view rooms but also from the roof (where the second swimming pool is ) that is available for all our Guests : the Bay of Naples , the wonderful sea and the view of the Mt. Vesuvius will certainly leave you speechless.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of Your company,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014


Great location, 5 min walking from train station (easy to walk with your luggage) also from main street and piazza tasso. The client and customer service is just impressive, from the adorable lady at the scramble eggs station in the breakfast to the front desk and managers.

Stayed 3 nights and had to departure very early (6am) on the next day. These guys know how to please the client and provide the best experience. The manager at front desk had prepared to us a package with a fast breakfast so that we could have it on our train. Can you imagine this? We started our day in an amazing mood and thanks to all staff from maniello chain of hotels.

The decoration, room , aisles, furniture is so beautiful.

The only suggestion I have is to allow customers to drink their own bottle of wine in the cozy lobby. When I was about to play a piano nocturne for my wife at the bar and drink our wine I was alerted by the bartender that we could not drink our own drinks at the lobby. Anyhow apart for that guy all was perfect.


Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I agree with all the positive comment on facilities and especially the staff. Extremely helpful reception staff. If you are considering spending some time at the hotel itself, it is also excellent as a resort, however if you like to go out every night it will take you 12 minutes to walk to the Tasso Square. You are just 7 minutes from the train station and short cut can be made through the orange grove, but it is closed from early evening. For people who have difficulties walking, the distance from the centre could be quite long. For couples on honeymoon, please keep in mind that the rooms are far from soundproof.

They offer guests to have evening meals at their restaurant which is the same room as used for b breakfast. The room is beautiful, but the large size does not give you same nice feeling when dining in a small italian family restaurant. The quality of the food is excellent and the service, but is in the higher price range of the restaurants of Sorrento. We used it once and were happy with the food and the service, but we prefer the restaurants in the center.

I plan to use this hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The street is very quiet during the night and rooms facing the street have the view over the bay of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hlynur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for having spent your holidays here at the De La Ville that has definitely satisfied you.

It’s a big reason of pride for us to know that you appreciated so much all the facilities we offer especially the restaurant where you did enjoy your breakfast and dinner and thanks to the huge variety of choice (both international and regional dishes), the high quality of food and the warm and welcoming service we succeed in making you have a great time

Thank you also for having highlighted our wonderful position : 5 minutes walking from the bus-railway station and 10 from the main square.

Waiting for you to come back as soon as possible

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in a great location. We has no car and walked everywhere. Easy to get to the train station and the port. Very clean with great staff. Breakfast had a very wide choice to eat. Two nice pools as well. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walshy1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Clients,

We received your excellent review on our hotel and we want to thank you!

We are really glad to read that you had a special holiday at the Grand Hotel De La Ville our hotel impressed you in all its aspects : from its staff, to the breakfast in dining room and its wonderful location.

Waiting for you to come back and enjoy another fantastic holiday,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel during Easter Week. The hotel has a beautiful view of the bay of Naples, and Mt. Vesuvius. We had 2 superior rooms on the second floor and a triple with a view of the gardens for my three nephews. The all glass view with a little patio and chairs was great. We went for a five minute walk and got some wine to have on our balcony. The hotel is not right on the cliff but a great location to walk to Piazza Tasso and all over Sorrento. Big tv with lots of English channels which is unusual in Europe, nice size bathroom beautifully tiled, 2 chairs and a table. I would stay here again in a minute. The breakfest was very good....the woman that cooks the eggs is a delight. All the waiters were very friendly! We had a tour with Umberto Izzo of Italydriver.com who took us to Pompei, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello.....and on our last day we stopped in Caserta on the way to Rome because we found out my husbands Grandpa was born there. Umberto was so sweet and helpful in every way. We enjoyed him and when we were in Rome for 5 days we missed him. He also took us to La Tagliata, Positano.....on a cliff overlooking the sea...so much food and drink. It was cool so the pool couldn't be used. The garden is stunning!! We didn't even check out the 2nd pool.

Room Tip: Very good view from the second floor, if you want a better view go for a higher floor but all you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dominonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Clients,

Thanks a lot for having spent your holidays at the De La Ville and we’re so happy you had such a great time here.

It’s a pleasure you thoroughly enjoyed your room and all the facilities we offer and it’s very nice you also noticed the very beautiful tiles on the floor and in general the traditional and distinguished style that characterizes not only the rooms but the whole hotel.
Dealing with the room again, we’re very happy you liked so much the stunning view all over the bay of Naples it offered.

Many Thanks

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location was great, the rooms were spacious and the staff was friendly. The view from the pool deck is beautiful. We (husband and two sons) enjoyed breakfast and had dinner two nights in the restaurant. Very expansive menu and it was delicious.

The "egg lady" is the biggest asset in the hotel. She was the most friendly, smiling person in the hotel. Give that women a promotion!!

My only negative on the hotel was the one night we wanted to sit out on the patio. My sons ordered a few beers from the hotel bar and we bought some pizza in. There was only one other couple on the patio in the 25+ tables out on the patio. We did not know that the tables were part of the restaurant and were told we had to leave the patio with our carry-in food. I asked if we could move around the corner by the table tennis, where no one would even see us, and we were told no. Very disappointing, as we were patronizing the bar and had eaten at the restaurant the two other nights we were at the hotel. If they were busy out on the patio I could understand the request, but it left me shaking my head in disbelief.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julieb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing