We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful holiday experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful holiday experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

After a frantic, dash about few days in Rome, I came to the peace and tranquility of the Grand Hotel de la ville and is was a perfect experience. The staff are completely charming, helpful and so friendly - special mention to Enzo and Carmine and their brilliant team in the restaurant. My room was divine - large with a balcony, and, of joy, a luxurious deep bath which I made use of regularly. The room was beautifully clean, the bed very comfortable and I much appreciated the turn down service each evening. In all a lovely memorable experience, which I have no doubt I will repeat as soon as it feasible. My sincere thanks to everyone for such a great time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.
It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.
We happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and for appreciating the service, food and facilities. We always do all our best to render the guest’s experience the most pleasurable and comfortable as possible with a stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    446
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
495
1,387
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I made our first trip to Sorrento. We flew to Naples and then hired a car (bad decision !!) . Anyway after a most stressful car journey we arrived at the De La Ville, and like all of us there is always that niggly worry in the back of your mind that you may have picked the wrong hotel . Thankfully Not in our case. The De La Ville is a fab place.

Our room was on the 5th floor and we very very impressed all round. Our balcony looked out onto the bay.

The whole place was very clean, had great facilities. The staff were just excellent, from the reception team to the pleasant waiters and the cleaners.

We did not eat in the Restaurant, but every guest we spoke to said the food was top class. As we were only in town for a week, we had searched out various places in Sorrento, and to be honest everywhere surpassed our expectation (just need to get back to the gym now!).

On the roof was a lovely terrace, sun beds, a very clean pool and a nice bar. A very nice place to soak up the sun and relax .... With exceptional views.

Finally I must just thank the reception staff for all their help and advice and especially the chap who helped me return my car early.

We will definitely go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Clients,

Thank you for your gorgeous review.

We are proud to know that the De La Vile has not lived up your expectation. We are also happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities, especially the Roof Top Terrace, absolutely the ideal place to enjoy the sun and the wonderful view of our bay in total relax.

Our hotel is located in a strategic position, 5 minutes walking from buses and train station, and it is very easy to move round with public transport without stress of traffic and parking.

We really hope to see you soon in Sorrento for another nice stay in our Hotel.

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was superb from the cleanliness to the room to the services provided by the staff. Must make mention of Fabiana at the reception desk who gave us all the information needed to travel along the coast of Amalfi and Enzo who was so friendly in the dining. And of course Juise who met us every morning at breakfast with a giant smile. The location is perfect for staying in Sorrento.

Room Tip: 5th or 6th floors were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing this wonderful review.

We are very please to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all our efforts to make more enjoyable as possible the stay of our guests.


Looking forward to welcoming you again soon here in Sorrento

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My friend & I stayed at the Grand Hotel de la Ville for a week during the second week in May.
Wow! I have never experienced such a standard of cleanliness in any hotel in the UK or abroad. Even the wrought iron surround to the balcony was gleaming without a vestige of dust.

We were in room 101 & it overlooked the outside patio dining area. It was extremely quiet at all times and the room & bathroom were beautifully presented. All decor & furnishings matched and looked brand new. Towels were changed daily & sheets every other day. Mirrored wardrobes gleamed!

The public female toilets downstairs were very pink but beautifully tiled and with regularly changed towels to supplement the electric hand drier.

The dining room was beautiful and the staff superb. Enzo was a caring and helpful Maître-de who clearly loves his job. It is truly a vocation for him and his interaction with guests makes you feel truly special. All the waiting staff were great and had a daily repartee and happy faces at all times of day from breakfast to dinner. Nina stands out for us as she often joked with us. The food was exquisite at all meals. The "egg lady" Guibsey was lovely and very friendly at breakfast. Lunchtime snacks were full size meals very well priced and dinner was served from 7 until 11 pm. Fantastic number of choices weekly along with a daily special menu at no extra cost. Gala dinner on Tuesday is at a small extra supplement if you choose from this menu.

The lounge bar was large but had a good ambience. This was largely due to the staff particularly Flora & Lorenzo who anticipated our every need. Drinks were pricey particularly mixers but there is a Happy Hour from 6.30 until 8.30 pm on Tuesday & Saturday. I am not, however, convinced that ALL drinks are half price as I was unable to reconcile our Saturday 10th prices with this claim. A small issue as we enjoyed our pre and post dinner drinks as well as a well priced Prosecco by the bottle!

Reception were usually busy but were pleasant & efficient.

Our cleaner was wonderful supplying us with soft pillows to replace the very firm ones we found rather too hard! She also kept our room immaculate in all aspects.

The two pools were beautifully clean and the sunbeds & deck chairs provided were again kept wonderfully clean and neat. We used the rooftop solarium and the area is beautiful with a wonderful view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples. Large umbrellas enabled us to enjoy sun or shade appropriately. Towels are available at no charge from the bar & need to be returned after use.

The walk to the centre of a Sorrento takes about five minutes on a level road.

I was fortunate enough to be able to speak to the owner who was present in the hotel during our stay and it was clearly evident that his eagle eye missed nothing which is, no doubt, why the hotel is so fantastic BUT the true strength of this hotel is the close teamwork of the longstanding staff who ARE the Hotel de la Ville. Without them the heart of the hotel would cease to beat and I emphasised this to the owner. I hope he listened. We will return to Sorrento and to this fabulous hotel. Check in here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor which suited us as we were at the back & it was very quiet. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawn_ball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guests,

We’re incredibly happy to read from you and to have the pleasure to answer this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

As we are glad to read your stay at Grand Hotel De La Ville was fabulous and we do have to thank you for all the compliments and the nice words you spent on us and in particular for having mentioned and noticed the Staff obligation. Everybody here is happy to work for our Clients and for this reason is always there to do anything that you may need in a professional but kind way and it’s very pleasant to know that we succeeded in doing this with you.

Lastly, we hope you will come back soon to enjoy another fantastic and relaxing holiday,

Kind Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locarno, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband & I spent 5 nights here-we wished we could have spent longer, but our ongoing bookings had already been made. We booked a corner room which had a partial view of the bay of Naples. The hotel has a certain old worldly charm about it. It is furnished in a Tuscan style & the gardens are beautiful. It is a 4 star hotel, but we are surprised it's not a 5. The breakfast is beautiful, the hot food is cooked to order, the dining room overlooks a lemon grove at the front & the garden at the back. The waiters wear cream jackets & bow ties & take great pride in the standards of the hotel restaurant. We noticed some guests were welcomed by the waiters with handshakes & kisses to the cheek, as they appear to be regular guest over some years, which is rare to see. We would love to return to Sorrento & would definitely stay here. The hotel is beautifully maintained & exceptionally clean. The staff are wonderful, especially in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay extra & get a room with a sea view-I wish we had, as you needed to go out on the balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel3186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Clients,
Thank you for your words of appreciation that make all our efforts worthy of such good judgment, prompting us to give our best to make the stay at Grand Hotel De La Ville memorable experience for all our guests.
The care in the Food & Beverage and the professionalism and friendliness of our staff are our pride and we focus on them to reach excellent results in order to offer an always better service.
We sincerely hope to have you again at the De La Ville
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

From start to finish, we really could not fault this hotel and the team who run it.
Our room had high ceilings, very comfortable beds with great linen. It looked to be newly decorated. Maid service daily could not be faulted.
The balcony looked out on a residential area of Sorrento which gave you a snapshot of Italian life and the noises that come with that! We liked that element. This also gave us sun for much of the day whereas the sea view rooms were often in shade (bear this in mind when booking)
The hotel was a very tranquil place. A relaxing garden. Superb dining room headed up by Enzo as Maître d'. We could not fault the team and the service that was given. Food was great with ample choice of around 10 starters an 10 main courses daily. We had chosen a half board package and did not feel the need to eat out at all.
Bar service was personal and very efficient.
Live music included a violinist in the dining room (once a week) and a pianist in the lounge one or two nights a week.
Two pool areas. One on the ground floor. Sheltered and a sun trap. The other on the rooftop with superb views across the Bay of Naples with Vesuvius taking centre stage. Both I crowded when we stayed.
The hotel was well placed for a short walk into Town. The bus station and train station within 10 minutes (on the flat) walk.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel look out on a residential area where you may experience sounds o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your warm and generous review.
We can't be happier to know that your stay with us was fully satisfying and we can not thank you enough for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento is one of the most popular destination in Italy, and here at De La Ville we are ready to work and do all our best to not disappointing the expectation of our guest .That’s why we choose only the best products of our land well cooked from our Chefs, served in Dining room with our professionalism and friendliness at you disposal.
Our Roof Top Solarium is the ideal place to enjoy the view on the Bay . We look forward to having you among us again in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the Grand Hotel De La Ville in Sorrento and I only wish we had stayed longer. The hotel is well situated, only a short 5 minute walk to the center of Sorrento. We paid for a premier room with a larger balcony and our view from this 4th floor room was spectacular. Breakfast was very good with plenty of variety with cereals, cheeses, pastries, pancetta, salamis, fresh fruits, juices and eggs cooked to order. Our room was very nicely appointed. We could not have been happier and highly recommend his hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kdindixie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you for you for recommending us with this nice review .

In particular at the Grand Hotel De La Ville seems unbelievable to stay just in the town centre for the quiet and amazing view, and our rooms with the traditional inlaid wooden furnishing let feel you in a warm and familiar atmosphere.

In particular , thank you so much for having highlighted the stunning view you can enjoy not only from the sea view rooms the Bay of Naples , the wonderful sea and the view of the Mt. Vesuvius will certainly leave you speechless

Hoping to see you again in the near future

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing