We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm oasis steps from where it is at!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel has it all, a close walk to everything, exceptional value and great in an oasis of calm. The staff will do everything to make you happy, they helped with phone calls, made reservations for us and organized day tours that were truly personalized and unique. Thank you to Marianna and Annalisa for their professionalism and warm greeting everyday. Enzo runs a food service that warrants a 5 star establishment. Their pasta is made fresh everyday and the daily cocktail specials are very special. The value of the food and quantity at the Sorrento evening should not be missed.

Room Tip: Right hand side or ocean view are lovely. Great value and large rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrea52501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel De La Ville for your holiday in Sorrento.
We would like to thank you for your nice review and for nice words of appreciation for our Staff. We all do always our best to let our guests enjoy the most wonderful experience and we put extremely care in food quality and service. We really hope to see you soon in Sorrento for another nice stay in our “Oasis”

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first visit to Sorrento and the Almafi Coast. We arrived at the bus station, and had a hard time finding the hotel, as we were told it was within walking distance, but with luggage it's alittle challenging . We asked a taxi driver who suggested we walk as he would have to charge us $15 euro and said it wasn't worth it. So after being given directions by several people, all in different directions, we asked a taxi driver how to get there. The Grand Hotel De La Ville is a nice hotel, about 10 minutes walk to the main square , Piazza Tazzo. We were first given a room with a partial sea view, which I had booked, but we also had a view facing hanging laundry on the building opposite our room. At this point I was frustrated, having walked 30 minutes to find the hotel and then given a room less that what I expected. They quickly and pleasantly upgraded us to a view of the bay and Mt Vesuivus. The room was clean and a good size, the bathroom was also good. The bed was not as comfortable as I would have preferred. We only had breakfast 1 day in the dining room even though it was included, as we prefer to eat lite and have a good cappuccino in the morning, but the buffet had a lot to choose from, just not our tastes. We did have cocktails in the bar area and it was quite nice. Pleasant front desk employees, and prompt housekeeping services. A good choice in Sorrento, short walk to all you would want to see there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Hotel is in an excellent location, just a short walk from the main Piazza, Train and bus stations. the staff are very friendly and efficient, rooms decor is exceptionally good, the hotel and facilities are kept in a spotless condition, good choice of food in the restaurant overseen by Renzo and his enthusiastic team. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Sea view , it's stunning and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogerB730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Customers,

We cannot but thank you for the beautiful words of esteem and appreciation for our hotel’s facilities and our work.

We lay great care in service, and repay us every effort recognized with satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon back, same place, same people and same services, to let you enjoy another fabulous holiday in Sorrento.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was our first time in Sorrento and we booked vis Thomas Cook hotel & flight package for 7 nights. The holiday was amazing , the weather was lovely most of the time.But it also worked out so well because of the hotel. It was within 10 min walking distance to Piazza Tassco , train/ bus station, restaurants etc and yet quiet. The food was plentiful and very nice. The staff (especially those in the restaurant ) were always helpful, friendly and jolly. It started off our mornings in good mood. We had a room on the top floor with sea view and near the roof swimming pool. I think the rooms at the back with little view.We will certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: The front rooms above 3rd floor have lovely sea view , worth to paid the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheltenhamLaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for the amazing review and for having supported us on Tripadvisor .

We’re highly pleased for all your compliments about the Hotel , the way it is kept, the excellent food at our Restaurant and , above all, the Staff. As you noticed is one of the best services we offer since we are all very kind, warm and welcoming but at the same time we do our best to do anything possible for our Guests offering them help, advice and leads to make their holiday as enjoyable as possible.
Then we’re very glad to read so from you because the satisfaction of our costumers is definitely what makes us improve and gives us more and more power to keep doing a good job, so thank you again for what you said.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel, however a little tricky to find if navigating from the train station with a suitcase.

Cant fault this hotel, beautifully decorated room with amazing views

Lots to pick from in the breakfast buffet.

About 10mins walk to the main centre of Sorrento.

They even made us a packed breakfast as we had to check out early on our departure day.

Made use of the roof top pool, which was not over crowded and had amazing views.....great place for an afternoon nap!

Would reccommed highly.

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it, however there is a road just below so you do get a bit of noise of balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine5065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Clients,

Thanks a lot for having shared with us your nice opinions about our Hotel .

It’s a big reason of pride for us that you had such a nice time here : so close to the station and to the harbour too so that moving around in incredibly easy , De La Ville is definitely the best place to stay at and a wonderful base to return to after trips around where, thanks to all the comforts we have, you can enjoy a peaceful and pleasant time.

For this reason, we hope you will come back soon to spend another fantastic holiday with our charming and nice Staff that is just waiting for you,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I travel as a solo also I'm disabled and that means paying more for a double room for solo use, in this hotel I had a lovely room, bathroom, private balcony with a side sea view of the Bay of Naples. I was very pleased. The room was immaculate and everything worked including the fridge (in many Italian hotels they turn it down). Nice toiletries, comfortable bed, good lighting (again in many Italian hotels that is often very low as well). Breakfast was very good with a nice choice for every one plus lovely very hot and strong good coffee served at the table. I only had dinner there 2 nights out of my week but again the food was excellent. Enzo and Carmine the Maitre D's were kind, helpful and didn't do that dreadful thing of putting elderly single ladies in a corner because we are invisible. I had a nice table each time. I had a snack in the garden which is lovely and peaceful. The roof top pool is again lovely and the view well you just stand and stare and stare and stare. Spectacular. Reception staff (the ladies) were very helpful I had a problem with my mobile and they really did try to solve the problem. All the staff from restaurant down to maids and porters were nice, friendly and helpful. Also bar prices were reasonable. The hotel is within easy reach of the main part of Sorrento. One small complaint perhaps there could be more hand rails for the Disabled I did find a couple of places in the hotel grounds that were difficult to cope with. Italy can be very expensive but I thought this hotel was good value.

Room Tip: The higher the better re traffic noise also tiled floors, people leaving to travel home early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RegGiovanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We’re so happy to hear you find our hotel excellent and many thanks for having trust us by choosing Grand Hotel De La Ville as the place you spent you holidays.

It’s delighting that you enjoyed the food here at the restaurant and also the service.
And it’s also wonderful that you had a great impression on the whole Staff.
Finally thank you for posting this nice review that really makes us proud of our staff even more than we already were,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When we first arrived we were greeted by very friendly Staff front desk as well as bellman.

They offer parking which was awesome and very safe. Car was always ready to go when you needed it.

The Rooms were well equipped and very spacious and very clean.

WiFi was awesome no problems.

The roof top terrace was awesome to come home too as we go up for the sunset and bring our drinks and play cards.

The Breakfast in the morning was absolutely outstanding for Quantity freshness and variety. You also had the option of eating outside in the morning.

All the staff were so helpful and friendly but Enzo would always recommend a great place to visit and how to get there.

All the staff from the hotel were so friendly and pleasant. Very Happy
Experience.

If we ever get back to Sorrento this is the place we will stay again.

Bravi Tutti.

We Stayed for 7 nights

Frank and Dayle Toscan

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ftoscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guests,

We’re incredibly happy to read from you and to have the pleasure to answer this lovely review on Tripadvisor.

As we are glad to read your stay at Grand Hotel De La Ville was fabulous and we do have to thank you for all the compliments and the nice words you spent on us and in particular for having mentioned and noticed the Staff obligation. Everybody here is happy to work for our Clients and for this reason is always there to do anything that you may need in a professional but kind way and it’s very pleasant to know that we succeeded in doing this with you.

Lastly, we hope you will come back soon to enjoy another fantastic and relaxing holiday,

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £121 - £1,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing