We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for 10 nights with my partner and my parents and we all thoroughly enjoyed it! The hotel itself is in an ideal location. It's in a quiet street, out of the hustle and bustle of Piazza Tasso, but is an easy, flat walk into the town centre and train station.

The hotel was very clean and every member of staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help you!

The breakfasts were great, with a wide selction and we ate in the restaurant for 3 evening meals, all of which were good and service excellent!

We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as it's suitable for a relaxing holiday and a good base for day trips to explore the wider area and we felt offered very good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing this wonderful review.

We are very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the our services and facilities, in particular the Breakfast menus with our selection of fruits, sweet and savoury dishes to satisfy all our customers.


Looking forward to welcoming you again soon here in Sorrento

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,808
    456
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
503
1,413
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week in this fabulous hotel.The location,rooms,decor,restaurant and staff were better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in.We expected to eat out at night but the restaurant ambience,food,and staff were so good being professional,efficient and yet personable with humour made 'eating in' a special occasion every night.We rarely return to the same hotel/resort but this is an exception and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of our hotel,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We would definitely recommend this hotel. Our stay was for 8 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The staff are excellent, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. All staff are fantastic but particularly the 2 ladies on Reception, restaurant waiters and Maitre'D superb. We ate at the Hotel Altea restaurant 3 times, the food and service fantastic. The Hotel is immaculately clean, has two swimming areas, the rooftop pool has amazing views of Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius. We also spent quite a few afternoons relaxing at their sister Hotel, 5 minutes walking distance, which has a jetty with direct access to the sea. Location is perfect - just a stroll from the centre of Sorrento, train station or the Marina. We did have a problem with a tour which the Reception recommended but our complaint was resolved to our satisfaction within an impressive 30 minutes. We do not have a single negative thing to say about this hotel and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poolehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.
It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.
We happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and for appreciating the service, food and facilities. We always do all our best to render the guest’s experience the most pleasurable and comfortable as possible with a stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in the De La Ville towards the end of May, there were 17 of us staying there for my sons wedding and I can honestly say that everybody thoroughly enjoyed their stay. The Staff were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble, particularly Enzo and his team in the restaurant, the egg lady at breakfast was also good value, particularly liked the Prosecco on offer at breakfast. The Public rooms and swimming pools were great and the food was excellent(we stayed half board)Really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return

Room Tip: Great views from higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of our hotel,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

from the moment we walked into the reception area it was a WOW !!! Super helpful, friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The bar staff were excellent the restaurant waiters and Maitre'D superb. The setting brilliant. The rooftop bar/swimming pool overlooking Vesuvius was amazing ! The room was sumptuous, well furnished and air conditioning was quiet and effective. Room service was spot on. I do not have a single negative thing to say about this hotel. Go there !!

Room Tip: try to get a room overlooking Vesuvius, although our room was excellent anyway !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Customers,

We cannot but thank you for the beautiful words of esteem and appreciation for our hotel’s facilities and our work.

We lay great care in service, and repay us every effort recognized with satisfaction.

We hope to see you soon back, same place, same people and same services, to let you enjoy another fabulous holiday in Sorrento.

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We stayed for 4 nights in a room with double bed plus an extra bed for my 10 year old the hotel was spotless throughout. The room was cleaned beautifully each day. Staff were attentive and were very professional. Reception staff in particular were excellent, recommending trips and dealing with any queries. We stayed half board, which I have never done before. The food was excellent and staff were happy to accommodate any requests. Restaurant staff are friendly and clearly multi lingual.

Location is perfect - just a stroll from the centre of Sorrento. You could choose to stroll through the publicly run lemon groves for a bit of shade and a free tasting of limoncello!

The pool on the roof is small but warm, with spa bubbles if you like them. There's a rooftop bar and sin beds to lounge about or you can admire the view. The large pool on the outside ground floor near the orange garden/bar is often shaded so I didn't venture in as it was freezing, but my son braved it. Someone mentioned that it looked a bit dirty but I didn't look closely enough. It's a relaxed stay and we met some interesting people. It's a great spot from which to travel to surrounding sites and we went by ferry, bus and train to them all! Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for the amazing review and for having supported us on Tripadvisor .

We’re highly pleased for all your compliments about the Hotel , the way it is kept, the excellent food at our Restaurant and , above all, the Staff. As you noticed is one of the best services we offer since we are all very kind, warm and welcoming but at the same time we do our best to do anything possible for our Guests offering them help, advice and leads to make their holiday as enjoyable as possible.
Then we’re very glad to read so from you because the satisfaction of our costumers is definitely what makes us improve and gives us more and more power to keep doing a good job, so thank you again for what you said.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We couldn't fault this hotel. From the moment we arrived we were treated in a courteous, friendly manner. The hotel is spacious, clean and very nicely furnished. Our room was one of the more expensive ones, but it was worth it. There was a complimentary bottle of Prosecco chilling nicely on a table when we walked into our room and the view from our large balcony, with deck chairs, table and chairs, was absolutely stunning. We looked out over to the bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The hotel is in a quiet road, 3 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento, and overlooks a garden nursery with lemon trees and we could hear chickens clucking there as well. The room was very large and the bed large and extremely comfortable with perfect pillows. The furniture is very nice and inlaid with the marquetry that Sorrento is famous for. The bathroom was marble and spacious with an excellent shower. There were plenty of complimentary toiletries. The air con worked perfectly and shutter blinds ensured we could choose how much light we wanted to flood into our room in the morning. All the staff were amazingly polite and friendly and always keen to ensure we were happy. The bar is lovely and the choice of two pools fabulous. The larger pool and pool area on the ground floor was immaculately clean and tidy and all loungers and umbrellas in good condition. The sun deck at the top of the hotel (6th floor) with plunge type pool was equally well maintained and just has the most amazing view similar to our room's, which was immediately under it on the 5th floor. There is a table tennis table to use and some games such as draughts on offer as well. The buffet breakfast was beautifully presented and the choice excellent. We always sat out under the orange and lemon trees and the service from the waiting staff was excellent. We had a snack lunch one day and the quality was excellent. I have read a lot of the reviews of this hotel and concur with many of them, apart from the one criticising the hotel over the double booking, lack of carpet in the bedroom and no underfloor heating and puzzling over aerating the room at night. I cannot comment on the double booking or car parking, but let's remember it gets very hot in Sorrento - it is the Mediterranean - and a cool floor made of beautiful tiles is more suitable, plus it is much easier to keep clean and more hygienic than carpet. Why didn't the guest wear the complimentary slippers if the lack of underfloor heating bothered him/her so much. Why didn't the guest use the air-conditioning to keep the room at the desired temperature at night?
I agree with the one comment about a lack of tea/coffee making facilities and wrote this on the comments card at the end of our stay.
We will definitely be returning to this beautiful, friendly, comfortable hotel again.

Room Tip: Worth paying the bit extra for a room, such as the prestige in order to get a fabulous view and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoseCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your warm and detailed review!
We are flattered from your kind remarks and It was a pleasure having you here among us and can't be happier to know that your experience at the De La Ville met your expectations.
We have extended your comments to our Staff, and they all send their warmest regards.

We were pleased to note that the team were attentive and catered for all your needs and made you feel you welcomed guest in every occasion. It is also very important for us that you enjoyed and appreciated the quality and the variety of our cuisine, which expresses the passion of our chefs and all the Italian hospitality.
Our Roof Top Solarium is well kept and equipped to let you enjoy the pleasant climate of Sorrento, it is our pride and we are happy to know that you enjoyed time there.

Your testimony and your positive comments are the best advertisement for our hotel and you let us feel very proud.
Looking forward to welcoming again in future
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing