We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and lovely holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and lovely holiday!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at the De La Ville for a week with my parents, and we were all impressed with the hotel. The staff, as most of the reviews say, are really friendly and will help you with anything you need. The food is fantastic, we were planning to eat out a few times but the food was so good we didn't need to! The menu gives you several options so you there should be something for everyone.
The room was clean, with a lovely little balcony overlooking the pool, which caught the sun most afternoons so perfect for sunbathing!
The two pools were always very clean and inviting, with plenty of sun lounger space around the outside.
The bed in my room was a bit hard, but apart from that I couldn't fault this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J999121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Guests,
We really thank you for write this nice review on Trip Advisor.
Our Restaurant Staff, as all the Hotel Staff, is really proud and glad that you appreciate our service,
We all us work very hard every day to make your stay with us unforgettable, and the food’s quality is one of our strength.
Thanks again for choosing us for your holiday and we hope to see you again soon
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,807
    453
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
503
1,410
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I know it's been said before but it's true,the staff did everything they could to make our stay great. And having our meals outside in the garden made them even better if that's possible.The roof top .pool with it's view was great , my wife and I came to Sorrento to visit the sites eat at different Ristorantes, But we did'nt get out as much because the food at the hotel was so good. Try it you will love.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedsimmons355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your warm and detailed review!
We are flattered from your kind remarks and It was a pleasure having you here among us and can't be happier to know that your experience at the De La Ville met your expectations.
We were pleased to note that the team were attentive and catered for all your needs and made you feel you welcomed guest in every occasion. It is also very important for us that you enjoyed and appreciated the quality and the variety of our cuisine, which expresses the passion of our chefs and all the Italian hospitality.
Looking forward to welcoming again in future
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel De La Ville for 1 week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the hotel, it was a special hotel the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for them especially the dining room staff. The food was amazing and very well presented.

We had a partial sea view on the third floor with views of Naples and Vesuvius. The room was spacious and comfortable and so was the bed! The view from rooftop pool was spectacular.
This was our first time in Sorrento and we will certainly return. It has a certain magic.

Room Tip: High floor at front facing the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your positive review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. In particular we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel restaurant and our choice of food. We always put great care in choosing quality product to make every meal with us a delighted experience of taste.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a first class hotel in all respects. Lovely clean, comfortable rooms and our first floor balcony had a wonderful view of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
The breakfasts were really good and it was so pleasant to eat out in the garden with oranges overhead.
The fact that it is quiet but only a 10-15 minute walk (through an lemon/orange grove if you wish) to the town centre/railway/bus station makes it even better.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the Bay best for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRANCES90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We're a couple in our mid twenties, and without being rude, this hotel is aimed more so towards people in their 70's. It's not far from town but next time I'd rather stay closer to Marina Grande (Hotel Belair, Hotel Capodimonte). The rooms were lovely, breakfast was great. Unfortunately their aim is to please British guests, so you'll often see people asking for a ham sandwich and a pint (which infuriates me). It's very quiet, the music around the pool was hilarious (think Barbara Streisand, Whitney Houston) so bring an iPod. It was a lovely hotel, it's just not the best there

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our holiday with friends first time in Sorrento.
Staying at this hotel was a good choice,it is central for everywhere, is beautifully decorated and very clean.
The views from the rooftop pool are spectacular.
We were half board and enjoyed most of the food although the peas at dinner were terrible!! The starters seemed to be better than the main courses.
The staff were all friendly and efficient, there seemed to be a lot of returning guests who were greeted like old friends.
We did many day trips on our own and felt that with two weeks we would have chance to relax a bit more. Maybe one day we may return to see some more wonderful sights.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of our hotel,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I'm still staying at the hotel after 5 nights of a 7 night stay but had to say what a great hotel this is. All the rooms and public spaces are very well maintained. Try and get a front facing room for the view. We are out the back where the balcony is small and the view not great but hey we use the room to sleep so no great problem. The highlight of the hotel is the staff . Always smiling and helpful from reception to bar staff and the service in the dining room led by the maitre'd and al his team is great. And the food is varied and well presented . We are on half board and by now would want to go out to a resteraunt for a change but not here. We have met several couples who are on their second,third or more visits. That says it all.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks a lot for the amazing review and for having supported us on Tripadvisor .

We’re highly pleased for all your compliments about the Hotel .

As you noticed is one of the best services we offer since we are all very kind, warm and welcoming but at the same time we do our best to do anything possible for our Guests offering them help, advice and leads to make their holiday as enjoyable as possible.
Then we’re very glad to read so from you because the satisfaction of our customers is definitely what makes us improve and gives us more and more power to keep doing a good job, so thank you again for what you said.

Finally we do wait for you to come back as soon as you wish,

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,287 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing