We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

From the moment you arrive at the Hotel de la Ville you are made to feel like family. From the reception to the cleaners the staff are pretty amazing. Helpful, friendly and warm. Then you go to eat... The team are lead by the wonderful Enzo the maitre d' and Carmine. You are greeted like family and served by equally wonderful staff with excellent food.
The hotel is spotless and every effort is made to make your stay as good as it can get.
A visit to the 6th floor pool is a must as the views are exceptional wether you sunbathe or just go for a quiet drink.
The hotel is in a brilliant quiet position just a few minutes from the centre with a lovely lemon grove walk where you can sample the ever available limoncello.
It is not often we go back to the same holiday destination but we made an exception for this hotel and we were so glad that we did as it lived up to all our expectations once again.
Thank you to all the staff, you are amazing!

Room Tip: For the time you sepnd in the room, I don't think it matters. All the rooms are good and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Clients,

We are so glad you had such a good impression of the Hotel dealing with all its aspects from the Restaurant where you had a taste of excellent dishes and wines , the rooms perfectly cleaned and the swimming pools with the astonishing view you enjoy from the one on the sixth floor.
In particular we want to thank you warmly for the nice words regarding the Staff : we try to make all the Guests feel at their ease and to let them breath a familiar atmosphere but all the same we follow a high standard of professionalism being always available and pleased to give you any kind of suggestion you may need.
Waiting for you to come back here to enjoy another great time,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just got back from 10 day stay at this hotel July 2014.
Our first impressions when we walked in were that this hotel had a lovely décor and was nicely laid out, very clean and well maintained. The bar, dining and garden areas looked good and just generally hotel had a nice feel about it. Over the 10 days we stayed there we weren’t disappointed, all the staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to please. For our first trip to the dining room for our first meal the Maître d’ made a bee line for us (we obviously looked new) took us to a table and took time to explain the dinning arrangements and we felt welcomed. All the dinning staff likewise are quick to help and assist and as they get to know you they interact on a more personal level but also maintain their professional approach. Food was great with plenty of menu choice (we stayed half board), my wife and I did not have one bad meal for the whole stay. Rooms were nicely decorated with marble and tiled floors and attractive light colour schemes. The hotel has a lovely roof top terrace where you can sunbathe and cool off in the small pool and appreciate the views across Sorrento (also a larger pool to ground floor for those more interested in swimming/playing than sunbathing!). The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to the main town Piazza but still in a quiet location. As we got to know people staying there it was obvious that many guests were on repeat stays and they were remembered by the staff who have served there for many years. Didn’t meet anyone who had a bad word to say about it. Staying at this Hotel has made our holiday to Sorrento all the more enjoyable and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for having posted this nice review and for all that you said dealing with our Hotel : it is perfectly kept and cleaned, the location is wonderful because it is so next to the centre and the Staff . Definitely what makes the difference.
In fact we always try to do our best to satisfy all your needs and make you feel totally at your ease so that you can really enjoy your holidays and , when we get feedbacks like this, we are pushed to do more and more.

Hoping you will come back in the near future,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A place to go back to. Great location (a room with even a partial view is a must in Sorrento). Beautiful grounds and furniture, so very Italian. Eating under the lemon trees çan not be described with words, it has to be experienced. I would advice just breakfast so you can dine à la carte if you so wish. Monsieur Enzo, our maître d and his wonderful staff made our stay a 5 star. For a special occasion I ordered a special menu ( a surf and turf for those who know what I'talking about) and it was a dream. Nothing was too much. They aimed to make you happy and succeeded as far as we were concerned. One negative: the bacon and eggs at breakfast swam in grease. To finish on a positive note, the roof swimming pool was another view to remember. Very quiet atmosphere, not a lot of kids and one of the cleanest hotel we've ever been to. Thank you again to all of you for this extra special vacation.

Room Tip: A room with a view ( even partial). We loved our 205!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Frieda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review and we are really happy that you kept such good memories of your stay with us. We have to say that it’s a pleasure for us that you appreciate the Hotel and all the services we provide; we know that the location is a big credit to us since we are really close to the centre and the station but also far enough to let our Guests enjoy a bit of peace. Lastly, special thanks for what you have written regarding our wonderful Staff. They do everything possible for our Clients.

Hoping to see you again in near future

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have just returned from Sorrento and our weeks stay at the De La Ville. This was a special holiday as it was to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We were welcomed by a bottle of champagne in the room compliments of the Hotel. Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel and we still had a nice view. The room was spotless and was cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels. The air con was very effective and quiet and the electric blinds were brilliant, making the room very dark and quiet. All the staff without exception in this hotel are amazing, they are pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. We were particularly overwhelmed by the service we received in the dining room from Enzo, Carmine and their team. We were made to feel special and received a warm welcome every evening. The staff were very attentive and in spite of being very busy always had time for us as it runs like clockwork.
There is an extensive menu and the food was amazing, including the presentation.
The option to have lunch instead of dinner was an added bonus if you want to try one of the many beautiful restaurants in Sorrento as an alternative one night.
There are two pool areas and an option to use the decking area by the sea at the hotel Royal which is only a couple of minutes away. All in all we have only good comments about this Hotel which is definitely top class with a wonderfully warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Would love to return to beautiful Sorrento and the equally beautiful De La Ville one day.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are more pricey but don't be put off choosing a first floor room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.
It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.
We happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and for appreciating the service, food and facilities. We always do all our best to render the guest’s experience the most pleasurable and comfortable as possible with a stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Would highly recopmmend this hotel and Sorrento is beautiful.
Hotel is in a great location a short walk from the main part of town and has fantastic views on the roof pool/terrace. Rooms clean and tidy, stayed on the top floor on the side with amazing views. Probably worth paying bit extra amd getting front views to the sea and bogger terrace.

Lovely to have breakfast and dinner on the outside terrace. Always managed to get a sunbed by the pool every day. Would definately go back and my mum and dad went year after us and also loved it.

Room Tip: Choose one high up for great views. Ones on the top floor at the front have best views and larger te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ocnnllKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of our hotel,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Recently returned from our fourth trip to Sorrento and the 'Grand Hotel De La Ville'. This hotel in particular is fantastic in all respects and each member of staff are happy to go that extra mile and never fail to delight. The restaurant staff under the expert guidance of Enzo and Carmine are the icing on the cake and we're always impressed with the service that they deliver. A special mention must go to 'i miei buoni amici'.... Dino (ciao caro Dino), Salvatore, Isidoro, Pasquale, Giuseppe, Antonino, Nina, lovely Giussy (great breakfast eggs!), to bar staff Domenico, Lorenzo, Flora , Francesco and finally Agata who kept our room so clean throughout our stay.
The worst part of the holiday.....having to say 'addio' and we look forward to returning again....'a presto speriamo l'anno prossimo'?

Room Tip: Side rooms overlook the gardens and have great views of Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guests ,

It’s so beautiful to read reviews like yours from loyal clients like you and we could not be prouder or happier for having satisfied you so ones again.
Thanks a lot for all the wonderful words about the Hotel : the immaculate and spacious rooms, the Maid Service and our exceptional Staff that works so hard to be always available to meet all your needs and give you help, advice and good leads.

In particular we want to thank you for the gorgeous words regarding the restaurant : it’s wonderful you enjoyed it so much thanks to the very wide variety of choice and the charming and warm Restaurant Staff (Enzo, Carmine and all the others…) that makes staying at our restaurant a pleasant and unforgettable experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you next year

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in June and absolutely loved it! The room was lovely and very clean and the view from our balcony was amazing. The rooftop terrace was lovely and gave an amazing view. We never had any problems getting a sunbed and the bar staff there were so lovely. The hotel looks quite grand but the staff are so friendly and you feel comfortable straight away. We also ordered breakfast on our last morning on our balcony and it was delicious! Crossaints, bread, parma ham, cheese, fruit, coffee, highly reccommend doing this! The location was really good, just a short walk from the train station and an even shorter walk to the city centre! No complaints whatsoever!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LuisaE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear clients ,

Thank you very much for your nice review and for having appreciated our Hotel and all the facilities it provide so much.

In particular , special thanks for the words dealing with our Breakfast offer: very large choice of food to meet all your tastes and welcoming, warm and charming Staff that makes you definitely have a great time.

Waiting to another stay with us,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#22 of 100 in Sorrento
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £115 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing