We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a well-rounded hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights in a standard room (B&B) during July 2014. The hotel is a short 5-10 min walk from the 'action' which means it is nice and quiet at night in the hotel. All of the staff we came across were friendly, pleasant, and helpful (when asked). The room and bathroom was large - overall clean and comfortable. Minor issues, but the room did not have a kettle or iron. Breakfast was nice - a decent spread of selections likely to suit all; it wasn't outstanding food but nevertheless no complaints (the Italian 'sweets' were a highlight in the morning). The pool deck on the roof was a nice place to relax after a day out sightseeing, with an amazing view of the coastline (or even to spend the day up there reading and relaxing). Great value for money - certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guccid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you for your review , not only because it makes us feel proud for having succeeded in our main goal that is satisfying our guests, but also because it’s incredibly useful for it let us get better and better by listening to your opinions.

It’s also very important that you stressed the wonderful location of our Hotel which is right in the city centre ( just 10 minutes walking from the main square) but all the same it offers you a calm and relaxing atmosphere with our beautiful gardens and all the green surrounding.
Hoping to see you again in the near future,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here for 10 nights in late May /early June. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. We paid for a sea view room which was well worth it. However I would say that the partitions on the balconies are a bit annoying especially if someone doesn't like heights and has to sit on the side closest to the railing. There isn't a lot of space to use the lounge chairs provided. The breakfast was excellent and the wait staff during the whole stay including the bar area were very good and friendly as well. Lunch was very good as well and reasonably priced, especially for a hotel. We loved the upstairs pool area. The view was excellent and there wasn't any problem getting a lounger. The pool was a bit small though although there is another pool on the ground floor with no view which was bigger and had fewer people. The sun loungers were the best I have used, with a top bit that you could adjust to shelter your head etc. from the sun. The music by the pool though is very dated, songs I haven't heard in 20 years. While it was kind of relaxing it did feel a bit old. It wouldn't say this is a young hotel but we enjoyed it.
The location of the hotel is excellent, about 10-12 minute walk into main Sorrento, quiet and no to a main road. The room was a very good size and we loved the black out blinds which meant an excellent sleep! We would definitely stay again. I would say though that I think other services were available at near by sister hotels however no one at the hotel told us that, other guests did. The hotel should make this part of their welcome speech.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ahsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.
It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.
We happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and for appreciating the service, food and facilities. We always do all our best to render the guest’s experience the most pleasurable and comfortable as possible with a stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day stay in this superb hotel. My husband had spent a lot of time beforehand researching for a suitable hotel in Sorrento and this hotel certainly ticked all the boxes. The hotel is a great base to get around Sorrento and surrounding areas as it is within walking distance of the centre and both the bus and train stations. The hotel itself has beautiful surroundings; restaurant, bar, roof terrace, etc etc. All the staff were exceptionally professional in their approach to their guests. We could always guarantee a warm, friendly welcome and the service was incredible. The breakfast was amazing!!!! A wonderful way to start the day!!!! All the staff deserve a mention but we would like to make a special mention to Guisy, the chef, who was an absolute joy in the mornings and always made you feel special.

Room Tip: Room with a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wilma307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really glad to read your review on TripAdvisor.

Grand Hotel De La Ville as perfect base to move around in our region, our strategic position, 10 minutes walking from the main square and few steps from the train and bus station are the best to enjoy all the Sorrento and Amalfi coasts without stress.

We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the style of our Hotel, as our service. We couldn’t be more pleased by your words regarding right the Staff ourselves : we extended your lovely greetings to everybody here and they all said, Reception, Bar and Restaurant , that they’re just looking forward to seeing and pampering you again.

Thanking you once again for recommending us, we really do hope to see you soon in Sorrento.

Kindest regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week at this superb hotel on a half-board basis. The accommodation is excellent and just a short walk from the centre of Sorrento. The staff at this hotel provide an excellent service - from the moment you check-in to the moment you depart - nothing is too much trouble for them. The level of English spoken is really helpful for those too shy to try their Italian. The menu is wide ranging and the dining room experience is superb. Enzo (the Maitre D) has established just the right level of formality for the evening meal with an attentive and efficient service delivered by all his colleagues. It was a real pleasure to dress for the evening meal with trousers and shirts required for the men and no sign of shorts or football shirts. If you are considering a visit to Sorrento, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank BobinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guests,
thanks for the nice review and the positive comments about our staff. We are pleased to know that we have made your stay special. Our policy is to maintain the traditional Sorrento hospitality, but without creating a gap with the client, with whom we always try to create a relationship of polite familiarity to make him feel always welcome.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we hope to welcome you soon again.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

After doing a lot of research for our 8-day/7-night vacation based in Sorrento we were excited, yet a little bit unsure, because we did not know anyone who was personally familiar with the DeLaVille. Thankfully, this property was everything we had hoped it would be. It's a quiet location, just a 5-7 minute walk to the main square and only a 3 minute walk to shops/businesses either through the organic lemon grove across the street or around the grove via the main streets.

As many suggested, we asked for a room on the side of the Bay of Naples on the 3rd floor or higher. We were fortunate to get a fifth floor with an ideal view--just incredible upon walking into the room and looking out from the terrace. The room was good size, as was the bed, the bathroom met all of our needs from bath/shower to a blow dryer. But, the "money shot", so to speak, is definitely the 24/7 view across the bay to Mt. Vesuvius and to the right or left up and down the coastline.

The front desk staff was very helpful in providing us information & helping us join in on various tours available to experience the region. When I was having trouble dealing with an impossible Alitalia website regarding flight issues, Alfonso was a huge help speaking to them on the phone then getting me connected to someone who spoke some level of English. Grazie!

The hotel has a nice, serene bar setting which also takes advantage of the outside garden. The two pools provide plenty of sunshine and a chance to cool off, and if you want to experience the water and rocky shores of the bay, a sister hotel--The Grand Royal--just two blocks away--has a large deck and plenty of lounge space, sun chairs and umbrellas that you can access with a pass from the De La Ville front desk. We took advantage of that, as well.

As many have commented, the garden setting for breakfast is hard to beat. It's completely shaded and protected by growing citrus and they also have ceiling type fans to stir the air if it's a little humid. The breakfast selection was ample enough to mix things up if you are there for an extended stay. The wait staff is excellent. You expect personal, attentive service and we looked forward to seeing the crew each morning, as well as the two evenings we chose to eat in the dining room for dinner. Let me say that the two meals we had at the De La Ville were as well-prepared and delicious as we had at any time during our stay in Sorrento. The menu changed each day; the antipasti, primi and secondi choices were many and diverse. The wait staff is very knowledgeable and helps guide you to the best choices that particular day--don't be afraid to ask! Lastly, the prices for dinner are reasonable and fair and are not different--maybe slightly better--than some of the top-rated places in town. I highly recommend guests to take advantage of the Tuesday night "Gourmet" dinner if it's offered while you are there. The price and food offering that night are a nice dining experience.

I could go on and on, but suffice to say we thoroughly enjoyed our time; we would definitely do it again, and Sorrento and the Hotel De La Ville, make for a perfect base to branch out and enjoy the Amalfi Coast region.

A tip of the fedora to all those who made us feel at home. I know I'll miss some but "tante grazie" to Fabiana. Annalisa and Alfonso at the front desk and Enzo, Salvatore, Isidoro, Giuseppe and Roberto (missing a few) on the wait staff, and the wonderful Giusy on the egg station at breakfast. You guys are great.

Room Tip: Third Floor or higher on the Bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank SignorPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guests,
we are all very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. our work get a bigger bonus knowing that a guest leaves the hotel with a good memory and above all with the desire to come back and visit us soon. your detailed review of restaurant service honors us and we are really proud to be able to achieve such results, given the care that Enzo the Maitre D 'and the Chef Giovanni put in the choice of the service and of the dishes to be proposed ensuring the highest quality always .
As well as the staff at the front desk was really touched by your consideration. Know we've done a good job pays us more than anything else, and exhorts us to give more and more to our guests.

We just have to thank you and hope to see you again soon had another experience as our guests at the De La Ville

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is possibly the most delightful hotel we have stayed in. The hotel itself was beautiful, with a calm, traditional feel, and the staff -particularly the restaurant and bar staff - could not have been more welcoming. Enzo, the Maitre D and his team provide exceptional service and make all their guests feel special. The food was exceptionally good every single time, and served with a smile. The main restaurant is classically decorated and the outside terrace is an oasis of calm for breakfast or lunch, surrounded by lemons hanging overhead. The room we had was comfortable and beautifully decorated, with wonderful views from the neat little balcony across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. The rooftop terrace had even better views, the pool was small but perfect for cooling off after sightseeing, and there were plenty of comfortable sunloungers with little sunshades available - towels were also provided. The hotel is perfectly situated close, but not too close, to the centre of Sorrento, just a ten minute walk into town where there are plenty of restaurants to tempt you, and endless choices of gelato! The only downside was that we didn't get to stay longer. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.
It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.
We happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and for appreciating the service, food and facilities. We always do all our best to render the guest’s experience the most pleasurable and comfortable as possible with a stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and used it as a base to do the local tourist trail. As an experienced family of four travellers we have fairly high expectations and in general this hotel delivers. We stayed slightly ahead of peak season but it was nevertheless reassuringly busy and fully staffed with friendly, excellent staff who made us feel very welcome.

Its well situated for the local town which is a short walk away but far enough from the centre to avoid too much hustle and bustle at night.


The rooms are well equipped, clean, comfortable if not sumptuous with good wifi, decent but not outstanding food and a nice relaxed kid friendly bar.

Our adjoining two rooms gave good views over the Napoli gulf and looked out over two local lemon groves, one of which provides a convenient short cut into town.

We would come here again and recommend for families with older kids. Its a bit pricey and the evening meals are a little formulaic and average if half board but otherwise a great relaxed and friendly atmosphere more than compensates for the quibbles.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We are pleased that you have found a comfortable stay in our hotel. We are honoured to know that your expectations have been met in full.
We hope to have your family with us again for another stay soon

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing