We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$507
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$485
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$524
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$348
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$521
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$490
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$473
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$533
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$593
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,628)
Filter reviews
2,628 results
Traveller rating
1,982
495
112
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,982
495
112
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolsister hotelbay of napleslarger poolsea viewthe ground floorrestaurant stafflovely hotelreception staffhalf boardwine waiterlemon grovetrain stationorange treesthe main squareevening mealtown centre
Filter
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 2,628 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Another absolutely fabulous holiday! It could not be better! I highly, highly recommend this incredible hotel! The Staff are totally the best - they remembered us from last year, even remembering our preferred alcohol choices! They greeted us like old friends and couldn't have been more pleased to see us! The fact that the Staff are nearly all exactly the same, speaks volumes alone.
The facilities are second to none - a mix of formality in an informal way, and fully English speaking, yet with a very strong Italian feel. The roof top pool has amazing views, is quiet and just idyllic! The food is to die for! There is in-house entertainment 3 nights a week, with special food, music and dancing on the rooftop! My husband and I rarely dance together, but here we led the dancing on 2 occasions!
There are masses of things to do in the area and Sorrento is completely gorgeous! It is possible to do many different things (my husband did many excursions) and equally possible to just laze in the sun (my preferred choice)!
I cannot fault our holiday experience at all! The attention to detail is superb and we felt treasured and nurtured throughout our stay. I can't wait to go back again next year and hope to return every single year for the rest of my life!
If you stay at Hotel de la Ville, you won't ever want to go anywhere else again!

Room Tip: 419 was stunning, but not accessible for wheelchairs and about 20 steps. Stunning views on 3 sides and a large balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank AlexChislett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear clients,
First of all we want to thank you for having chosen our Hotel to spend your holiday here in Sorrento and it’s a pleasure to see that the trust you gave us has been paid back by offering you a wonderful time at De La Ville.
Thank you for your review as well, not only because it makes us feel proud for having succeeded in our main goal that is satisfying our guests, but also because it’s incredibly useful for it let us get better and better by listening to your opinions.
Then we are gratified to see you felt at home thanks to the special warm of our Staff which works everyday to welcome our guests in the best way they can and we are so happy we managed to give you a special taste of the Italian kitchen as well of the international one .
Hoping to see you again in the near future,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I have just spent a week in this charming hotel. On arrival, we had a slight problem with our room but this was quickly resolved and we were moved to a different room. The hotel is not a modern, swanky one but it is the faded grandeur and old world charm that make it so lovely! And without a doubt, the heart of the hotel is its staff! They are truly 5 star!

My husband and I have travelled around the world and never have we received such heartfelt, friendly service. They are truly exceptional. Enzo and Carmine run a beautiful restaurant with little touches that make you feel as though you are their most important guest. The waiting staff are all professional and friendly. The bar staff, especially Flora, are equally as fantastic. The boy who
runs the roof top bar was, again, obliging and helpful at all times. Without exception, the entire staff made our stay so special.
The food at the De la Ville is outstanding. There is a vast menu and every meal we had was 5 star! I have no doubt it is the De la Ville that contributed to my holiday weight gain as it was too delicious to turn down!!
The roof top bar is extremely peaceful and the loungers and umbrellas are plentiful. It seems they have invested in this and it was worth the spend. We also took advantage of the wooden jetty at their sister hotel and it was stunning! We also ate in this hotel but it was terrible so we happily came back to the De la Ville!
The average age of the clientele was a bit older than us and they seem to have a lot of repeat guests. I can understand why as, by the end of the week, we didn't want to leave!
I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Yes, it is slightly older than some others but its heart and charm lie in the staff and the sincerity with which they carry out their roles. I would highly recommend a stay here, we left happy and refreshed!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauram83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for this feedback that , is very useful to help other costumers and travellers to decide about the accommodation they’re going to choose.

Many thanks for having chosen Grand Hotel De La Ville too, that definitely met your expectations and offered you a wonderful and pleasant stay in Sorrento.

Waiting for you to come back to enjoy the pleasure of our hotel,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I spent 7 nights in a standard room (B&B) during July 2014. The hotel is a short 5-10 min walk from the 'action' which means it is nice and quiet at night in the hotel. All of the staff we came across were friendly, pleasant, and helpful (when asked). The room and bathroom was large - overall clean and comfortable. Minor issues, but the room did not have a kettle or iron. Breakfast was nice - a decent spread of selections likely to suit all; it wasn't outstanding food but nevertheless no complaints (the Italian 'sweets' were a highlight in the morning). The pool deck on the roof was a nice place to relax after a day out sightseeing, with an amazing view of the coastline (or even to spend the day up there reading and relaxing). Great value for money - certainly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guccid01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Clients,

Thank you for your review , not only because it makes us feel proud for having succeeded in our main goal that is satisfying our guests, but also because it’s incredibly useful for it let us get better and better by listening to your opinions.

It’s also very important that you stressed the wonderful location of our Hotel which is right in the city centre ( just 10 minutes walking from the main square) but all the same it offers you a calm and relaxing atmosphere with our beautiful gardens and all the green surrounding.
Hoping to see you again in the near future,
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here for 10 nights in late May /early June. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. We paid for a sea view room which was well worth it. However I would say that the partitions on the balconies are a bit annoying especially if someone doesn't like heights and has to sit on the side closest to the railing. There isn't a lot of space to use the lounge chairs provided. The breakfast was excellent and the wait staff during the whole stay including the bar area were very good and friendly as well. Lunch was very good as well and reasonably priced, especially for a hotel. We loved the upstairs pool area. The view was excellent and there wasn't any problem getting a lounger. The pool was a bit small though although there is another pool on the ground floor with no view which was bigger and had fewer people. The sun loungers were the best I have used, with a top bit that you could adjust to shelter your head etc. from the sun. The music by the pool though is very dated, songs I haven't heard in 20 years. While it was kind of relaxing it did feel a bit old. It wouldn't say this is a young hotel but we enjoyed it.
The location of the hotel is excellent, about 10-12 minute walk into main Sorrento, quiet and no to a main road. The room was a very good size and we loved the black out blinds which meant an excellent sleep! We would definitely stay again. I would say though that I think other services were available at near by sister hotels however no one at the hotel told us that, other guests did. The hotel should make this part of their welcome speech.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ahsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review.
It was our absolute pleasure to have you with us.
We happy to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and for appreciating the service, food and facilities. We always do all our best to render the guest’s experience the most pleasurable and comfortable as possible with a stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.
We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 10 day stay in this superb hotel. My husband had spent a lot of time beforehand researching for a suitable hotel in Sorrento and this hotel certainly ticked all the boxes. The hotel is a great base to get around Sorrento and surrounding areas as it is within walking distance of the centre and both the bus and train stations. The hotel itself has beautiful surroundings; restaurant, bar, roof terrace, etc etc. All the staff were exceptionally professional in their approach to their guests. We could always guarantee a warm, friendly welcome and the service was incredible. The breakfast was amazing!!!! A wonderful way to start the day!!!! All the staff deserve a mention but we would like to make a special mention to Guisy, the chef, who was an absolute joy in the mornings and always made you feel special.

Room Tip: Room with a seaview
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wilma307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really glad to read your review on TripAdvisor.

Grand Hotel De La Ville as perfect base to move around in our region, our strategic position, 10 minutes walking from the main square and few steps from the train and bus station are the best to enjoy all the Sorrento and Amalfi coasts without stress.

We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed the style of our Hotel, as our service. We couldn’t be more pleased by your words regarding right the Staff ourselves : we extended your lovely greetings to everybody here and they all said, Reception, Bar and Restaurant , that they’re just looking forward to seeing and pampering you again.

Thanking you once again for recommending us, we really do hope to see you soon in Sorrento.

Kindest regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews