We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic fortnight at this hotel in Sorrento! It is ideally placed for exploring the wonderful attractions of Pompeii, Capri, Versuvius, Amalfi etc and is in walking distance of the main town of Sorrento. It is a traditional hotel, with wonderful food served in a beautiful dining room (just be aware no short trousers in the evening, including teenage boys, as this is not made clear!), with breakfast outside under the lemon trees. The rooftop pool has the most stunning views of Versuvius and in the evening you can sit and have a drink or listen to the piano twice a week. What made the holiday even more special was the amazing staff,who were just so attentive and friendly, we were really sad to say goodbye!! Would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview, the back rooms overlook residential flats.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Daer Guests,

Thank you very much for this nice review.
Thank you for choosing Grand Hotel De La Ville to spend your stay in Sorrento and, in particular, for having appreciated the services offered from the hotel.
The area where is located the hotel is a quiet residential area within the city center. The location of Grand Hotel De La Ville, 5 minutes walking from the train station and 15/20 minutes walking from the harbor makes our hotel a perfect starting point for visiting the surrounding areas and for excursion to Capri, Pompeii Vesuvius, and Amalfi Coast.
All our Staff is pleased to know that you are really satisfied for the service, and we all looking forward to welcoming you again soon at the Grand Hotel De La Ville.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    435
    105
    24
    13
See reviews for
486
1,354
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very nice hotel, nice rooms and perfect service. Suitable for visiting the center of town, close to all kinds of attractions. The area was quiet, the staff friendly and helpful for all the information. we'll be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We are pleased that you have found a comfortable stay in our hotel. We are honoured to know that your expectations have been met in full.
Hoping to see you in near future .

Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely hotel, with walking distance to centre, great staff, very clean. The food is excellent , buffet for breakfast, waiter service in the evening, fab choice of food or you can ask for other options, I would recommend to ask for a sea view they are much better then a side view. Great holiday

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david54277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for spending time in write this review.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and retain a “Great holiday” the time spent by us.
The recommendation for the sea view rooms is good advice for our future guests, requests are always many and worth booking in time, but do not forget about our rooftop solarium which offers stunning views of the Bay of Naples to all our guests, even in the evenings of musical entertainment.
Looking forward to have you here for another nice stay,
Best regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Just had fantastic week at hotel de la ville. Staff efficient and courteous, always happy to help. Food in restaurant excellent. We never usually eat in hotel restaurant, but had three superb evening meals here. Would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SallyHartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food in our restaurant, where we put always the greatest care and attention to get to everyone's tastes. We are really proud and would like to thank you for recommending our Hotel
Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijlen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you are looking for a stylish hotel with an excellent staff and good food in Sorrento, we can recommend Grand Hotel de la Ville. The hotel is in a quiet street on walking distance of the center of Sorrento and near a lemon garden (where you can buy limoncello).
The hotel has lovely rooms with Italian mosaics and has 2 swimming pools (one on the ground floor and one at the roof top with a view on the bay of Naples and the Vesuvius). Every day, you can take breakfast in the garden of the hotel.
Many thanks to the hotel staff (Carmine, Enzo, Salvatore, Dino, Pasquale, Guiseppe, ...) and their every day smile!

Room Tip: We had a room at the east side (sun in the morning) with a balcony with view on the Vesuvius. Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gyzels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time writing this wonderful review.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the traditional inlaid wooden furniture and the traditional majolica floor in our rooms.

Our Restaurant Staff is glad to hear that have made special your stay with a smile.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon here in Sorrento

Best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

On June 13th 2014 we arrived at the Grand Hotel De Ville, Sorrento, Italy. This was our 7th visit and as per usual what an absolute delight.
For those who are not familiar with the De La Ville this is a medium sized traditional and elegant hotel situated in the residential area of Sorrento, but still only about a 5 minute walk from the main square, Piazza Tasso.
There are two pools – The pool on the roof top terrace is the smaller of the two and has a whirlpool, use of sun loungers and parasols and pool bar. The real clincher on the roof top terrace is the wonderful views of the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. The larger of the pools is situated on the ground floor, again with sun loungers and parasols. This pool is great for the more energetic who enjoy a good long swim; it also has an ideal section for children. The larger pool is to some extent overlooked on two sides by residential flats, but do not let this put you off as the whole area is very quiet and relaxing as the pool is bordered on three side by a mixture of beautiful shrubs and flowers.
Additionally, if you prefer a dip in the sea there is the use of the bathing platform at the sister hotel, The Hotel Royal situated just across the street.

The restaurant is very good and its cuisine has an excellent reputation. The efficient running of the restaurant is overseen by Enzo and Carmine- two absolutely charming people who are ultra efficient in their work. They are backed up by Salvadore and other waiters and waitresses who serve with a ready smile and a willingness to make your stay enjoyable. The restaurant serves a buffet breakfast which you can have in the restaurant or outside in the garden – either way the selection of food and quality is excellent. Also a nice touch is the serving of chilled Prosecco - what a delightful way to start breakfast! Dinner comprises of 3 courses chosen from a very good menu selection and with food being freshly cooked for each diner. The wine selection is also very good with excellent recommendations by the very efficient sommelier.

There is a very pleasant lounge area served by a well stocked bar or Tea/Coffee if you prefer. There is Table Tennis situated in the courtyard adjacent to the lounge.

The reception is efficiently and smoothly run under the watchful eye of Mariana, a very professional and helpful lady. We found Mariana, Fabiana and Annalise extremely helpful in arranging car hire and assisting with any questions that we may have had.

The rooms are well furnished with very comfortable beds and adequate wardrobe and storage space. Rooms have a well stocked mini bar, safe, large flat screen TV, Laptop sockets. The balcony accommodates two chairs and a table. The bathroom is well stocked with the usual toiletries.
Note: There are no complimentary bathrobes or slippers and no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.
The bedrooms and everywhere throughout the hotel are kept spotlessly clean by the hardworking squad of cheerful cleaning ladies.

To sum up the De La Ville offers very good accommodation, excellent food, very friendly and efficient staff. As I previously stated this was our 7th visit to the De La Ville and we are looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for posting such a nice review that makes us feel really happy and proud for having been able to offer you a wonderful holiday which is our main purpose.
In fact we work hard everyday for our guests and when we get messages like this we do feel satisfied and encouraged to do more and more.
It’s a pleasure to see that you appreciated the kindness of our staff that really gives its best everyday to help you with all you may need.
We also feel bold that you enjoyed the food here at our wonderful restaurant which offers you a definitely huge choice of dishes from all over the world, exalting of course our gorgeous Italian kitchen.
On the other hand it’s a reason of pride for us to see you noticed the particular attention our Staff put in keeping the rooms and the whole hotel always clean and fresh.

Thank you for having spent your holyday here at the Grand Hotel De La Ville,
Waiting for you to come back and feeling confident you will,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our 2 day stay at this hotel was very nice. From check in, to the room, to the delicious breakfasts and the central location, it was top notch. Our room was large, airy, very clean and bright, as well as comfortable. The desk staff, breakfast servers, and other personnel were all very helpful, friendly and cheery. The location within the city was just right for choosing restaurants, touring and enjoying the area. We enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonR8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for this nice review and for the nice description of our rooms. All the Staff is proud to to hear that you appreciated their professionalism and kindness.

We looking forward to have you here for another nice stay,

Kind Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and ACCOR so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing