We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOOOW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for 10 days and we enjoyed every second!

The staff were delightful; they were not only a team but a big family and they welcome every guest into their family circle with open arms!

As you must know, there are many 4-5 star hotels in sorrento but what distinguishes this Hotel from all the rest is the staff.

I'm not even going to go into great detail about how spotless our room or every inch of the hotel was. All I'll say is picture you dream hotel and Grand hotel De la Ville is exactly that!

The only thing that I would recommend is that tea and coffee facilities should be provided in the rooms; that would be really nice.

Thankyou for everything!


P.S ENZO and team ✌️

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baharee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your nice review and for recommending Grand Hotel De La Ville. We are deeply touched by your words and for considering Grand Hotel De La Ville as the a “Dream Hotel”.

A review like yours can only prompt us to keep doing always better, so our guests can continue to experience the most pleasurable and comfortable stay in a professional but also friendly atmosphere.

We look forward to having you again among us in the near future.
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 2,518 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here for one week in August - 2 rooms. 2 Adults, 2 Kids (aged 13 and 15).

Pro's - Very Clean and Well Maintained. The room had an old style (Furniture and Pictures), but actually when you get there you realise it is all fairly new and very well maintained, including upto date quite Air Con, Bathroom etc), just done in an old style.
The Breakfasts were really excellent, and the staff at breakfast were just Superb.
Location is excellent - you can easily walk into the centre of Sorrento and back. There are cheaper cafe's etc close by, and a Laundrette very close.
They allow you to use the Sea Deck of their Sister hotel across the road, which is really nice.
Cons - Roof Top Pool is small and cold and too exposed, Ground Floor Pool is large and warm but dark and shaded. Although many of the rooms, including one of ours have views over the bay and to Vesuvius, many of the rooms (including another one of ours) don't and overlook other crumby properties (although it was clear on the booking which ones had views and partial views)

If you visit their Sister Hotel "The Royal" - you'll realise that the De La Ville is not a 5/5, since the Royal is a step up, with great pool - I expect very expensive though.

One Recommendation to Management - I found in Italy that hotels do not provide Tea and Coffee making facilities in rooms. When you stay in Sorrento for a week or two, it becomes a pain in the neck to have to pay for Tea and Coffee and Water everytime you want one. I think it would be a really nice service to offer all day Complimentary Self Service Tea and Coffee (and Water) in the Bar. At the end of the day, people would probably end up buying more bar drinks rather than less (especially if they have kids with them), so you might even make more money from the bar !

Room Tip: Try to get the ones with the views at the front of the hotel, since the view is absolutely spectacul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PaulFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for taking some of your precious time such a kind and honest comment in regards to your recent stay at Grand Hotel De La Ville in Sorrento. We really glad that you shared your experience in our hotel on TripAdvisor,
Every comment is being taking in consideration by our management, in order to keep improving our products and services, and your review will be a huge help.

We look forward to see you son in Sorrento for another stay with us.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just over a week in July for our honeymoon. The hotel is in a great location only a short walk into the town centre.
There isn't anything I could fault about this hotel, the rooms are large and decorated beautifully, large comfortable beds, quiet efficient air con, TV and safe (no iron or coffee facilities) good size bathroom with bath and power shower.
Staff are very friendly and seem to be multi lingual, very knowledgable and professional.
Breakfast is served outside in the beautiful garden or inside the main dining room. Good choice of food both hot and cold, also sparkling wine is available.
The hotel has 2 lovely pools, the best being the one on the roof terrace, can get quite busy but offers breath taking views over the bay and across to Vesuvius.
We've stayed in Sorrento on a number of occasions now and this has been our favourite hotel by far. We can highly recommend and we look forward to returning for our 1 year wedding anniversary.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank scharn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,
we are pleased of your review and we would like to thank you for choosing Grand Hotel De La Ville for your Honeymoon.
We always pay all our attention in guest’s satisfaction, from the welcome at the check-in, for all the stay until the departure time. Thank you also for all the nice compliments to our Staff, they all are happy to know that their efforts and their professionalism are recognized
Looking forward to welcoming you next year to celebrate your 1st anniversary in Sorrento.
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Would agree with all the reviews below. The hotel is of an excellent standard and the staff extremely professional. However car parking is expensive and you have to wait for a porter to bring your car from the garage which meant you couldn't easily get things from the car when you wanted them!

Room Tip: Sea view and high up, however even though ours weren't the people watching from the balcony almo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review and your nice comments about your last stay at Grand Hotel De La Ville.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. Regarding your comments about our Garage Service, we would like to clarify that the cost is in line with other hotel or parking space in Sorrento (or even lower) and our car valet is always at disposal to bring the car or escort guests to the garage.

We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

With our best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

For the fourth time in four years we have returned to the Grand Hotel De La Ville, and received the same warm welcome from Enzio, Carmine and staff. They never seem to forget a face, and treat us as old friends.

It is a pleasure to eat in the restaurant where the food is excellent and the choice immense. Once again, my mother-in-law who is now 91 and partially sighted was welcomed back and was looked after by all the staff. She loves to sit in the lemon grove for breakfast each morning which is a very relaxing place.

We are hoping to return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for the wonderful review about the Grand Hotel De La Ville.

We are very happy to know that for the fourth time we satisfied your stay once again and we love reading that you consider Staff as old friends.
We have taken a lot of steps to improve and maintain our property and we are so pleased that you enjoy it as much as we do. We look forward to your next visit to Sorrento

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent a week at the hotel having travelled for the week beforehand.

Hotel was lovely, staff fantastic, food great and bed sooooo comfortable.

Room was perfect - loved the fact that you could open and close the shutters from the bed!

The staff went out of their way to ensure you were happy. Breakfast was great and lunch menu generous and extensive. Didnt have dinner there but would imagine that is great too.

Two pools - downstairs one nice but you dont get the sun all day. Pool on the roof terrace fab but really hot up there. We went to the pool downstairs for swimming till around 5 and then went up to the terrace for the late afternoon sun.

Location fantastic - lovely walk through the lemon groves to get to town and the train station (literally 5 mins walk). Restaurants and shops galore and train/bus to take you to Pompei, Vesuvius

Room Tip: Sea view - we were on 2nd floor at the front which was a little noisy with the door open - maybe a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Grand Hotel De La Ville on Trip Advisor website.

We are happy for such positive words and we are delighted to learn that you were very pleased with meals and that all the staff was helpful and friendly. Your description of our facilities and the location is very useful for next clients

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback for the customer service & we will be sharing your feedback with the entire team.


We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.
Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 days at this lovely hotel. We stayed in room 307 with a wonderful view of the bay and Mount Vesuvius. The room is large,bright clean and airy but the use of shutters ensures that you sleep in perfect darkness. Large bathroom and good shower. Good air conditioning. There is a mini bar but no tea and coffee making facilities. I would describe the hotel as relaxed elegance. Large comfortable lounge to sit and enjoy a drink, terraces to play table tenis ,eat breakfast or lunch outside, 2 swimming pools one downstairs in which you can enjoy a swim and a much smaller one on the roof terrace where you can sunbathe, have a drink and a quick dip to cool down. Breakfast is plentiful with lots of variety and the food in the resteraunt is enjoyable. The resteraunt staff are fantastic - welcoming and charming and very efficient. We travelled independently and as a couple but we noticed how great they were with families and especially young teenagers. Carmine remembered that I was vegetarian and every evening ensured I had the vegetarian menu to choose from without me having to ask for it (even though there was a good choice for vegetarians on the main menu). Enzo was welcoming and charming to all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with a sea view. Room 307 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delavillesorrento, Manager at Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking your precious time to share your thoughts and experience on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read through your wonderful comments and that you had a pleasant stay.
Our team is always dedicated to provide the best service ever and for the complete satisfaction we offer our guests a choice of menu adapt with their life style and need.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back in the future, to experience even more of what we have to offer.



Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £116 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing