We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming, the perfect place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming, the perfect place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2009

Just returned from our first ever visit to Sorrento. We chose Hotel De La Ville mainly from reading the reviews on this site and we were not disappointed . Travelling with First Choice we were promised at least a side sea view, our room though was on the 1st floor, so no view, but it suited us and I'm sure if we had complained we would have been moved. The views from the rooftop are spectacular especially at night, sunsets are amazing. Well, what can I say about the staff! everyone was so friendly, reception, porter, chambermaids, bar (Gino and team), and the restaurant under the watchful eye of Enzo who was so charming. His team were brilliant and the food excellent.
The hotel is situated 5 minutes walk from the centre of Sorrento, the train station and bus stops. We booked for 3 excursions which were quite expensive (Herculaneum/Vesuvius, Capri, Salerno/Paestum), but found the guides very informative. Note that admission to sites and also lunch is not included on most trips, they do prearrange a set lunch at a restaurant which can cost an extra 11-15 euros a head. You can decline this if you wish, which we did on the Salerno trip having bought rolls in Sorrento before going. Check out the patisserie on the main street, just past the supermarket. 3 euros for an enormous ham roll!! We made our own way to Pompeii on the train, which is really cheap, and would really recommend this as the site is huge and we spent the whole day there without being on a time schedule.
We are already thinking about a return trip to this hotel, it is rare to find somewhere that is so perfect and that make their guests feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bizu07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    435
    105
    24
    13
See reviews for
486
1,354
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Reason for holiday was to get married in Capri. We had 4 days in Sorrento Hotel Grand de la Ville and then onto Capri for the wedding and 3 nights stay there. We were a party of 4, my wife to be and our two sons, 8 years and 5 years old. At first we were a bit concerend that there would be enough to do for them, but I can honestly say that we had the best holiday ever and cannot wait to return! The waiters, Enzo, Genaro, Nemo, Dino,etc.... all long time serving at this hotel were fantastic with the boys,even taking them into the kitchen to meet the Chefs, I cannot compliment this hotel enough. I have travelled and stayed in many hotels around Europe and could never understand why people return year after year to the same holiday destination/hotel, but after satying here I now can.The hotel was so clean and maintenance was spot on, food excellent choice (we were HB), good choice for kids. This hotel has two pools, one roof and one in the walled garden, but if you like the sea make sure you use the sister hotel 2 mins walk and you can use the bathing platform into the sea, this was also great for the kids.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetraveller360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

The hotel was excellent no faults at all. The staff made you feel welcome and the food was excellent and rooms immaculate. The views from the roof were to die for. I would certainly go back and take the whole family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeycambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Boldon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

I used Trip Adviser before booking this hotel, as a single traveler I was disappointed with my room. On arrival my room was ready - fantastic, I saw the standard and size of double rooms on the second floor and then opened the door to my room. I felt let down as I had paid a single supplement and I can only describe the size of my room as "Shoebox". the room was gloomy and had neither a sea view or view of the lemon tress as stated in the Hotel literature. I felt like a second class citizen, this was not a good way to start a holiday. I was given a complimentary upgrade after 3 days.

Food was good and the restaurant staff were friendly, but service was quick and although open until 10pm from memory when I once was "late" down for dinner - around 8.30pm I was rushed out!

Wine waiter "recommended" expensive wines from the list and water was 3.5 Euros a bottle.

I had use of a complementary room the day I checked out - a double which was of a very high standard - my warning is that not all rooms are of the same standard and in my opinion the single rooms do not warrant a 4 star rating. The second room had a fantastic view but the shower was once again not up to standard (shower head that needed to be replaced and shower curtain that had seen better days) - I expected more after reading the reviews.

Would I recommend this hotel - only if you check out the standard of your room before you book, and don't travel "solo"

On the plus side the restaurant staff made everyone feel very welcome!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloEastBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We went to Italy in June 2009 and checked the trip advisor before we booked. All previous reviews were good and so we chose this hotel.
We did not want to be on a main road, this hotel is on a quiet road and within a 5 minute stroll to the main Piazza, Restaurants and shops, so ideally situated. The rooms were spacious, electric blinds on the windows were a plus. Our rooms overlooked the back, no view but small balcony table and chairs so adequate.All the staff were happy and the hotel was very clean. The restaurant was beautifully laid out. The food was excellent with good variety and Enzo and his staff were always very attentive to everyone young and old. I would definatly recommend this hotel and would love to visit again especially if i could stay on the 4th or 5th floor front facing rooms as they have fabulous views across the bay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoMoustach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

Well i do not know where to start. Everything was perfect, the staff could not do any more for us than they did. The food was fantastic, the rooms were the best i have ever been in, the view was breath taking so much as i had to pinch myself each morning i looked out of the window. If you like fantastic views or photography like myself this is the place to be.

Thank you so much to Enzo & all the staff

Long live Farrari

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madf1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

My wife and I booked the Hotel de La Ville after reading some excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and, having just spent a week there we certainly do not have any regrets about our choice.
I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel where all the staff were so friendly, so pleased to be of service and always had a smile or warm greeting for their guests. I also don't think I've stayed at a hotel where every area was so spotless throughout our stay.
My wife and I particularly enjoyed the opportunity to breakfast on warm mornings in the wonderful garden. The choice of food for breakfast was certainly on a par with some of the better hotels we have stayed in.
My one major complaint was that we tended to be rushed through our evening meals. I like to take my time to enjoy food rather than gulping it down, but on more than one occasion the waiter came with our main course before we had finished our salad that accompanied our starter. Likewise, no sooner had we finished our main course than the sweet trolley was at our table. The hotel was, no doubt, fairly full at the time and they wanted to get everyone served as quickly as possible. I am sure that this hotel is no different to many others in this respect. There was certainly no shortage of restaurant waiters - they seemed to be swarming everywhere. And they all had a smile on their faces!
Another slight gripe was the price of drinks - subtantially more than in the UK, but no doubt the week pound against the Euro had something to do with this. Drinks were just as expensive at other bars we visited in the resort.
A word or two about the decor - it was superb, with an emphasis on in-laid woodwork - furniture that must have been extremely expensive to buy if smaller in-laid woodwork items in the nearby shops were anything to go by. I personally thought that the bed was rather on the firm side, but no doubt many guests prefer them to be like this. You'll never please everyone when it comes to hotel beds.
All in all, we spent a thoroughly enjoyable week and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing