We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round good hotel! Would recommend (:” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All round good hotel! Would recommend (:”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Our room, though it didn't have a view, was in a quiet location and was spacious taking into consideration that there was three of us. The room was kept spotlessly clean. Breakfast was fairly average but this was made up for in the evening meal which was always of an excellent standard. Even though the hotel was full to capacity the waiters still had time for friendly bantor, service was very efficient. Pool area was not quite up to the standards of the hotel but being able to use the facillities of the sister hotel, The Royal, made up for this. Our two weeks stay was over far too quickly as we all had such an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFGLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,733
    434
    105
    24
    13
See reviews for
485
1,354
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed in 2 Prestige rooms (side by side) on the 5th floor with sea view.
Positives
Rooms are a good size and nicely decorated. The buffet breakfast, which is included in the room rate , includes both hot and cold items and is very good. The garden area is very nice for after dinner drinks or for lunch. Two pools- large one in the garden area- no view, extremely small one (think size of hot tub) on the roof top terrace- great view. Free in room internet service. Great location.

Negatives
Website pictures of the hotel are somewhat deceiving. From the photos I had the impression the hotel was on a cliff overlooking the sea. It isn't. Although the prestige rooms do have the view- it's far off - you need to look beyond the street/ houses/ trees to get to the view. The roof top pool looks amazing in the photos- in reality it is a tiny little pool that we didn't even use! Overall, the website gave the impression of being more luxurious than it was so we were somewhat disappointed. The garden pool area was fine- but did not have a bar- needed to go inside to get our drinks and towels.! Inconsistently wait staff would come by to clean up glasses and would never ask if we wanted anything- we basically had to pounce on them when we saw them to take an order.


For not too much more you should stay @ Excelsior Victoria. We went there for drinks and it is stunning. It is on a cliff with amazing views and the pool area is top notch.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LinaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

We have just returned from the De La Ville and had a most enjoyable stay. We had a room at the front of the hotel but not with a sea view. The room was large with typically Italian furniture and tiled floor. The bathroom was a fair size and the whole room was clean and well looked after. We would recommend having a room at the front which has a slight supplement even if you can't afford the expense of a sea view room.

We were on the first floor and still had a bit of a sea view. The views from the rooftop swimming pool were superb and it was lovely at the end of the day when it was quieter to watch the sun go down.

Mention must be made of the staff who were excellent especially in the dining room.

All in all a very good hotel and we would stay there again if we went to Sorrento. It is in a quiet location but very close to the centre of Sorrento (which can be quite busy). I agree with other reviewers regarding visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum. It is so easy to go by train and a fraction of the cost of the organised trips.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingVs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We have been here six times in the past seven years and enjoyed every minute of every visit. All the staff are fabulous, in particular Enzo and his assistant Carmine. The restaurant staff work very hard as a team from the Maitre De' downwards, but an extra pair of hands at peak times wouldn't go amiss.
The cleanliness throughout was exceptional; our room was immaculate with wonderful
views over the bay and Vesuvius. Thank you Gino and all your staff for your friendly service and attention.
This is by far our favourite Hotel anywhere and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRANKMOMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in Sorrento staying at the Hotel De La Ville and like many others that have stayed here would definitely recommend it. This was our first visit to Sorrento and chose this hotel from the many reviews on this site and they were not wrong, the hotel is 'First Class'. Although it has been reported that not all the rooms are up to the hotel grade we were very fortunate to have top floor room with a spacious balcony overlooking the mountains and sea that was also very convenient for the roof top pool. The bathroom could have been bigger as the shower was a little tight but then how much time do want to spend in your hotel room when you visit somewhere as beautiful as Sorrento. All the hotel staff were very helpful and the restaurant headed by Enzo and his team were very friendly and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. The hotel location is ideal, only 10 minutes gentle walk to the Piazzo Tasso where you can enjoy going around the many back street shops in what is called 'The Drains'
( Don't take any notice of the name they are very clean) Although the food and drinks can be expensive due to the exchange rate it is worth just sitting in one of the many cafes people watching as they go about there day, look out for the scooters. If you go on a package holiday don't rush to book all the excursions with them, we went to Pompeii on the train and although not advised to do so had no problems at all and it was very cheap. Most excursions do not include food or entry so also bear this in mind.
We will definitely be returning to Sorrento and the Hotel De La Ville as a week was not long enough to see everything, what a perfect excuse to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

From the minute we arrived we were made welcome. The hotel was lovely, the staff friendly & helpful, the views from the roof top terrace to die for, wish I was back on my sun lounger with glass in hand! Room was comfortable & clean.
It is a while since we stayed half board anywhere, as we like to eat in different places each night ,but Enzo & his staff soon put paid to the idea that we would go out a couple of nights, the food was lovely, the service impeccable we didn't want to leave.

Short walk to the Circuvesuviana station easy to get to Pompeii, Vesuvius(see review under Mount Vesuvius) , Ercolano & Amalfi( bus leaves from outside station buy tickets at news stand in station).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2009

The Grand hotel de la ville was the best hotel i've ever stayed at in Italy. The restraunt staff were the best i've ever met, they were very friendly and efficent. There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere all around the hotel. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone.
Thank you Enzo and Carmine for making my holiday a brilliant success.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamedwards123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing