We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe treatment at the Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Deluxe treatment at the Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Add my raves to those below--this hotel scores high on everything I wished: quiet, comfort, elegance, and hospitality. We splurged on the seaview, and it was well worth the tariff. The staff members were outstanding in their attentiveness, the room was spotless, and the location ideal. The breakfast buffet was the most lavish I've ever seen. The coffee was not the best, but it was plenty good enough, and I can't testify to lunch and dinner, since we ate elsewhere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragoslava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,840
    458
    105
    25
    13
See reviews for
512
1,436
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Arrived last week for a 3 day break as treat for partners birthday. Had also booked WITH THE HOTEL transfers from Naples Airport to hotel and for the return back on Sunday. Paid 210 Euros for round trip for a nice Mercedes car as detailed on my confirmation. On arrival at the airport we were shown to a Mercedes Van. I was not impressed. Once at the hotel I specifically asked Reception to make sure we had a CAR to take us back to the airport on Sunday but sure enough a Mercedes Van turned up. Apparently they had forgotton to call the company. Have complained and am still awaiting a response on how they plan to compensate me.

The room - on checking in we were taken to our room. I had booked a Superior Double which has a partial seaview. Our room had no seaview. I went to Reception and as soon as Enrico saw me he knew he had given us the wrong room - not sure whether it was a genuine mistake or just trying it on. Gave me the option to upgrade to full seaview for an extra 30 Euros per night which I did. The view was lovely. The bed was comfortable, the room decorated in true Italian fashion but could do with a fresh coat of paint and the bathroom certainly needs some work. Not much space for 2 washbags.

Dining room was nice and bright and breakfast was fine although that was the only meal we had at the hotel as so many lovely restaurants in town to eat.

Top floor pool nice with good view of the Bay and Vesuvius (same view from our room).

Hotel is in good location and just a 10 minute walk into town.

In summary, had a good time in Sorrento but the fiasco over the car spoilt it a bit for me.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watchtower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Our large group decided on this hotel after reading the reviews here. We were not disapointed. The hotel is everything we expected and more. The staff at this hotel are out of this world. They all speak really good English and will go out of their way to make your stay as unforgettable as possible.

The rooms were above average in size with balconies and a full bathroom. We were very comfortable during our weeks visit. We never ate in the restaurant, preferring to eat in town at different places and go back to the hotel for a night cap. The entertainment in the lounge or garden each night was also superb. Well worth making the effort after dinner to watch.

The views from the roof were incredible, we enjoyed our sundowners on the roof each evening before going for dinner.

This hotel is very popular with English tourists who seem to return every year and know all the staff and are in turn well known. This in itself is a good recommendation. Our favourite staff were Gino and Flora who served our drinks each evening.

The breakfast at this hotel was by far the best I have ever had in Europe!

This is a great place to relax and enjoy a great holiday with outstanding service.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balsam Lake
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The property is immaculate, the rooms spotless and very safe. All the comforts are available. I paid more for the seaview but found that I was so busy that I spent literally no time on the balcony. Also, as previously noted you really do not get a sea view given the trees directly in front. The cleaning staff are second to none of all the hotels I have been in, there were kept spotless. I did not eat in the restaurant for lunch or dinner except one night and I found it overpriced. Yes, the coffee is not that good unless you like expresso but I found that everywhere in Italy not just in this property. I bought a box of individually wrapped nescafe in the grocery store and just asked for hot water. The hotel and the staff is excellent and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kawarthalakes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Service generally as expected from a 4 star hotel, however the Maitre d' and assistant Matre d' were inappropriately over familiar.

Room on fifth floor with good balcony and sea view toward Naples and Vesuvius. Quiet. Excellent decorations and furniture in keeping with both 4 star and Italy. Good bathroom with bath and shower

Location 5-7 minutes easy walk from town centre, could go through a lemon grove when it was open (10.00am to 07.00pm). 2 minutes from sister hotel where can use the seaside lido facilities. Roof top solarium peaceful (and sunny!) but swimming pool became shaded fairly early in the afternoon (in September, this may be less of a problem in the summer when the sun is higher.)

Breakfast was fine including hot options (be aware they charge extra for the omlette). Coffee was some of the worse ever experienced anywhere. Certainly not what you expect in Italy or 4 star. Got the day off to a bad start until buying a decent cup in a cafe.

Dinner food promised a lot on the menu and choice, but in practice uninspired, poorly presented and bland. Certainly not 4 star. Wine can be expensive. The wine waiter does not like you reading the wine list at your own pace. Make hime leave it, there are some pleasant reasonably priced bottles if you look but he will try hard to prevent you finding them. Ask for a JUG of water, they will try to palm you off with a charged for bottle. Coffee in the evening (charged extra!) is better than at breakfast but not what you expect in Italy.

The dining experience was so disappointing that it came very near to spoiling what should have been a pleasurable experience in a hotel with otherwise good facilities.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francophile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Non sea view rooms smaller than others and look out on to back yayd of block of flats. Sea view rooms large and comfortable but trees obscure 70% of sea view.
Staff friendly and very obliging. Lounge and bar quite cramped but comfortable.
If wet we only had half a pack of cards, a set of chess-men to share with the entire hotel. Roof top pool great but ground floor pool enclosed by brick walls.
10/15 minute walk to Piazza Tasso.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank R0bin1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stayed in a third floor courtyard view room (got a great deal on Expedia) and had a lovely time. The service was outstanding - every question answered, great staff. The breakfast was really delicious with lots of choices. The gardens, pools and rooftop area was my favorite. Stunning views and very relaxing...just be warned that the pool water is cold! The room was spacious and the bathroom was so pretty and large. It was also nice and quiet and dark in there - a must for sleeping! The location is good - it's a 5 minute walk to the bus/train station and 10-15 minutes to the main square (depending on how quick you walk).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyctraveler300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing