We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2010

as with most previous reviews the de la ville is a very good hotel,food and cleanliness were both excellent.Enzo runs a very good restaraunt together with his excellent staff.food was good quality and varied choice especially the desserts !!!! reception staff were the only real let down not the most helpful !! good location not like alot of other sorrento hotels which were either on the outskirts or on hills.dont take the travel company trips to pompeii take the train which is 5 mins walk from the hotel and 3 euro s return direct to the site.capri 57 euros return for 2 jesus !!! but defo a must do.wine very expensive in the hotel but hey your on holiday

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoody888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,961 - 1,967 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2010

The accommodation was excellent plenty of room with excellent ameinties.The food had a varied high quality menu also the staff were friendly and welcoming.The only minor complaint is that the bar drinks were expensive but overall an excellent visit.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanmccluskey194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We would definitely stay here again and recommend the facility to anyone. The staff, beginning with the front desk, the porters, the lounge, and especially Enzo, Carmine and the entire wait staff were outsanding. We were treated as if we were the most important guests. The aroma of the orange blossoms in the garden was intoxicating. We could have not been happier with our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAVELLO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We were very happy with our stay at De La Ville. All staff were friendly and informative with excellent language skills. Our room was large, bright and kept spotlessly clean. We paid extra for a full sea view room and were glad that we did although the view was partly obscured by trees the overall vista was lovely. Bathroom was large and well equiped and amenities were replaced daily. Buffet breakfast was good if a little repetitive with more emphasis placed on cold rather than hot and it was nice to have a proper pot of english breakfast tea. We went half board and were glad we did as Sorrento is not cheap for eating out. The Maitre D, Enzo does run a tight ship and service in the evening was excellent. Starter, main course and dessert were all waiter served with a buffet salad bar if you wanted it with bread and grissini. Meals came plated so you had no idea what vegetables accompanied your main meal. Quality good. The hotel is well situated and about a 15 minute walk to the main square. Drinks prices were comparable with the rest of Sorrento but like the rest of the Euro zone, don't expect it to be cheap. We went out of season and the evening entertainment programme didn't start until May so evenings were a bit quiet. This hotel (and three others close by) have been owned and run by the same family for four generations and it shows in the attention to detail. Overall a lovely break and we would definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrummieLadyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

There was a special offer - 20% off - so we booked a premier double room for 3 nights for Euros 130/night. For that we got a terrace, a fairly decent view of the sea, free internet and breakfast which was ok.

As many of the negative reviews have stated, the hotel is a little tired, they do have plastic flowers, the breakfast is average and it is primarily used by large UK tour operators but it is nevertheless a fairly decent hotel in a good location for the price.

The room was a good size but they do have the obligatory blanket & sheet bedding set-up which seems to be the case in many Italian hotels. There was some road noise but it was bearable.

We didn't have much to do with the reception staff and we didn't check out the pools or use the bar but the staff at breakfast were really nice.

If you can get a good rate then it's an ok place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel De La Ville. Compared to other European hotel rooms, our room and bathroom here was huge! The hotel was very clean, beds were comfy and breakfast provided many more options than other hotel breakfasts we had on the trip. The staff was peculiar at times. They always seemed rushed when we asked them questions even if no one else was waiting at the desk. The waitstaff at breakfast also seats you close to other diners when the entire room was basically empty which also seemed strange but whatever. One other thing that is strange and I'm being nitpicky, but I purchased one hour of WiFi there for 2 euros which only works in the lobby. They neglected to tell me that it was only for one use. So even if you use 10 minutes, you cannot log on again. This is not how many other hotels work with WiFi and that's fine, but maybe you should tell guests up front. When I told the desk that it wasn't explained to me, they did not care to give me more time. They just looked at me like, "Oh well"

Aside from my nitpicking, the location was great. About a 10 min walk to the train station and to Piazza Tasso, the main square in town. We would definitely stay here again. It was a great room, ideal location, and terrific value.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mere811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Excellent hotel and facilities, Enzo and his team make every meal special with their personal welcome! Gino at the bar also very welcoming.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will go back (hopefully)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leightra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing