We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We have just come back from a weeks holiday in this hotel and we had a fabulous time.
The staff in the hotel were so friendly and made sure that our stay was perfect in every way. We had a great room on the sixth floor overlooking theBay. It was wonderful to wake up in the morning and see this view.
The food in the hotel was excellent - in fact we were only booked in on a bed and breakfast basis but we found the food was so good and the attention in the dining room was so great that we ate in the hotel several nights. The choice on the menu was extensive - something to suit everyone and the desserts were to die for!! The dining room was managed to perfection by Enzo and his team and it was great to be brought back to the good old days when manners were the order of the day. After dinner we would wander up the road to the main shopping area.
We are definitely planning a return trip next year. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judydonlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,933 - 1,939 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

We read all the reviews of all the hotels in Sorrento and decided on this one. The position is excellent very near to the centre. We were in Room 515 one of the best and it was lovely but we paid extra for this. The views were amazing. We were on a B & B basis but were given a complimentary dinner, which was just as well as would not have paid for it it was terrible. The breakfasts are very basic not much choice and definitely not enough fresh fruit. Food 3* standard and cater for package tour clients at 3* level. Also it is not the hotels policy to recommend any restaurants which annoyed us. Not the best place to stay if you want good service and food but good for location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We were given room no 116 for our first 2 days of stay which was their worst room with no view and with rattling sounds coming from the kitchen till late night - it was also their smallest room. On our last day we were shifted to a different room which had a decent view and was spacious
Breakfast was Good with lots of variety, though the coffee was disappointing as per Italian standards
Location was nice with the main market area closeby
Value for money was not there

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepakmalik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Not a great hotel but a nice hotel.I think 4 stars is pushing it,maybe a good 3 star.Must say things in defence,staff are really great and helpful,position is really nice in that a 5minute walk on the level takes you into the centre of Sorrento,or you can walk through an orange grove to take you into the main shopping street.Our room on the second floor was clean,bathroom was excellent especially the 2 washbasins very helpful,the view over an orange grove was fantastic with a view of Naples and on a clear day we could see Vesuvius.The only downside was the small balcony with a table and 2 chairscreated a tight squeeze and the curse of Italy the mopeds which passed every 3 seconds sometimes up the wrong way on the oneway road.
The pool on top was our favourite spot with great views and a great bartender,the other pool is somewhat enclosed on all 4 sides by buildings and in our week there never saw anyone using it.
Now the only thing we could find fault was the evening meal which we thought was not upto a 4 star rating,we had one choice on the first page either a soup,or antipasta,and the other page a choice of about 5-6 main courses plus dessert.The main course was disappointing nearly every evening,meat either chicken,fish or occasionally veal but all came with one stewed veg,potato or rice,A nice selction of fresh veg lightly cooked would have been appreciated at least they did`nt serve chips any night!
All told if we were to return to Sorrento. we would stay there again but only on a b&b basis.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StourbridgeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous week in Sorrento staying at the Grand Hotel De La Ville. On entering the hotel the family friendly atmosphere, attention to detail and the willingness to ensure our stay was perfect was evident from the start. We had a sea view room on the second floor and within minutes our bags were brought up.

We stayed on half board and boy was the food good. A great selection for breakfast with a range of both hot and cold items to choose from. The staff made us feel so welcome so by the end of the week we felt like part of the family. For dinner there is in excellent choice of starters main courses and desserts to suit all tastes, with an extensive wine list. It isn't cheap, but you certainly get what you pay for. The Maitre D'Hotel, Enzo, is an absolute star as are the rest of his team.
In the bar, again great service from Gino, Bruno and Flora. Great range of drinks and entertainment that suits the style of the hotel in being high quality and friendly.
There are two pools, one on the roof and one in the garden on the ground floor. My husband doesn't swim so we didn't partake but it certainly looked good.
All in all a fantastic holiday and a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoCo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

On arrival we found a warm welcome by friendly staff who were very helpful, Room were 1st class as were all areas of the hotel.
We would like to say a speical thanks to Enzo,Isodora,Fabio,Ginaro,Guiseppe,Dino from the dining room.
Also many thanks to Gino,Flora,Bruno.
We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjan1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We have just returned from our second visit to this wonderful hotel. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with smiling happy faces at the front desk,a lovely clean room and after unpacking went straight down to the garden/pool for our lunch where we were greeted by the lovely staff,all smiling,Dino,Flora to name but a few. In the evening
we were greeted in the lovely main dining room by Carmine,who remembered us from two years ago with his lovely warm smile and gentle manner,and then of course the
'magnifico' Enzo who shook our hands warmly,and from that moment on you are treated
as one of the family . My Father was also staying in Sorrento and joined us for Dinner one evening,Enzo greeted us warmly and could not do more to make this a happy evening. And of course how can we forget our wonderful Wine Waiter who chose some lovely wine's and Salvetore who made us laugh with his wicked sense of humour.
We would highly recommed this hotel and resort. We will be returning next year to
treat ourselves to another wonderful week.

John and Lindsey Smalley,Room 220
Aka Ugly John and Blondie
Isle of Sheppey,Kent,19 June 2010

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sorrento10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £108 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing