We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel that you will return to year after year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was our 6th visit to this hotel and we wil definately book again for next year. The hotel has an excellent location with the main square only a 5 minute walk away. The staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful and make us feel most welcome. The food is of a very high standard and there is always plenty of choice. The roof top pool is a great place to relax offering amazing views over the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius. There are so many places of historical interest to visit in this area with Pompei being a particular favourite of ours. All in all the De La Ville is first rate hotel and is a great place to stay whilst visiting this beautiful part of Italy.

David & Lorna Barr, Scotland

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBLBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,928 - 1,934 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. Overall it was a fab hotel, with very attentive staff and decent food. We stayed half board and the buffet breakfast gave a very good selection of both hot and cold options and while we stayed there it could be eaten outside in the garden. The evening meals were fairly good with a selection 5 or 6 options for starters and main which were changed daily. The food was not the best we had in Italy but given how expensive Sorrento is going half board was a good option for us. They have a buffet once a week which had a massive choice and gave you the chance to try something different. The hotel also serves lunches in the garden area which were very nice and not overly expensive compared to the rest of Sorrento.

One good point about the bedrooms (ours was on the small size with a small balcony but had a comfy bed and roomy bathroom) was that although you needed to put a key into a plug to get the electric to work so it was not left on when you went out, the air condition worked the whole time it was turned on even when you were out which was a life saver. It is very noisy though esp when trying to sleep at night. We did find all the signs about not bringing outside food and drink into the hotel over the top esp as you could not drink the water in the bathroom and it was in the mid 30s when we were out there.

There were two swimming pools, the one on the roof with its own bar is very small and is more for cooling off then swimming but there is a big area with sun loungers here and amazing views. The pool in the garden is a proper size and was never overly crowded while we were there.

The decor in the hotel does feel a bit dated but it is kept extremely clean (as our the bedrooms) and is in an excellent location around 5-10 mins walk from the main square and less then 10 mins from the train and bus station. We found everywhere in Sorrento inc the marina and port were walkable from the hotel.

The staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The staff in the restaurant worked extremely hard and always greeted you with a smile no matter how busy. The bar staff both by the pool and in the main bar were also very friendly though we did have our drink orders forgotten about a few times (you order at the bar then they bring it to your table) which was sometimes annoying. The only other annoyance we had was as it was our honeymoon we should have had a free bottle of wine on arrival in our room which we did have to ask for three times.

The bar and minibar prices are very expensive, but this is the case of everywhere in Sorrento. We paid our bill halfway through the week and again just before we left which I would recommend as it does creep up (4 euros for a can of coke from the mini bar or hotel bars, 3 euros for a big bottle of water and wine from 17 euros up in the restaurant which is not too bad for the area but is worth checking the price of the wine that is recommended by the wine waiter).

All in all we had a wonderful stay in the hotel, the views from the roof terrace are amazing and it is in a fantastic location to explore the area.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CPFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

A lovely hotel. A bit (8 minutes) from the central town area which is not a bad thing except cabs in Sorrento are HORRIBLY expensive. The hotel itself is lovely - great breakfast, great pool (actually 2 of them), friendly staff. Lots of Brits seem to adore the place.

In style, it is a throwback to midcentury modern early 60s look but in a reallly cool way. This was the best value of our trip to Italy and really a place with all the amenities which feels like home.

ONE negative: The hotel will NOT book reservations for you to restaurants outside the hotel in a silly attempt to get you to eat more meals there. Hopefully, people will complain about this because I've never been in a 4-5 star hotel that did that - but it's a small complaint in a long list of positives.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSha246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Excellent service. Really friendly and attentive staff in the restaurant (we went half board). Two simming pools - one on the roof and a large one in the garden area but we were also allowed to use the jetty of the sister hotel (Grand Royal) which meant we could go for a dip in the sea too! Would go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolmanHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Grand Hotel De La Ville is such great value for money. The quality is top notch, rooms are spacious, air conditioned with flat screen t.v.s, mini bars, comfy beds, great bathroom facilities and lovely balconies.

We had a standard room with a balcony overlooking the garden - Sorrento is built up so if you don't have a sea-view, you will be facing other apartment blocks. The hotel is really nice and homely and the garden is a beautiful place to enjoy your breakfast. When you are dining or relaxing there, you would think that you were in a secluded place - it does a great job of discguising the surrounding buildings. The large ground floor pool area is surronded by lemon and orange trees and has a hydrojet pool attached. The rooftop pool is fabulous and is located beside a rooftop bar. The views of Sorrento, the sea and Mount Vesuvius in the distance are breath-taking and it's hard to believe you're not looking at a picture!

The breakfast was great for a european breakfast - choice of eggs cooked to order while you wait, crispy bacon, fresh breads, fruits, cheese and delicious cakes. You can even enjoy a glass of Prosecco with your breakfast if the mood takes you! We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the restaurant looked lovely, if a little old fashioned.

The location is brilliant and we didn't have to take a taxi once! It's a five minute walk from the train and bus station, seven minutes walk from the main Piazzo Tasso and ten minutes to the beach that we frequented!

Sorrento is not very well equipped for the disabled unfortunately and I would not recommend it if you had any difficulty walking as there are a lot of hills, cobblestones and steps and very few establishments have ramps.

Overall De La Ville was a great choice and for the location and quality, it was well worth the money!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceedly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

No holiday in italy will be cheap but I think this hotel is certainly good value for money. It is in the centre of Sorrento so easy access to the train station and ferry port if you want to venture to Pompei, Naples, Amalfi or Capri. The hotel is a very good standard and clean, the food is brilliant and having the roof pool and bar terrace overlooking the coast line is just perfect. Drinks are expensive so beware of your hotel bill at the end!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GumtreeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I spent a week at this beautifully appointed hotel with comfortable surroundings and first class service from all staff. We requested a room on a high floor and paid extra for a balcony and sea view which was well worth it. Choice of two poolside areas - ground floor with bigger pool offering more shade and a rooftop area with smaller pool and fabulous views. No problem getting a sunbed or umbrella - both free. We took half board and considered the choice of food at breakfast and in the evening excellent. The current poor exchange rate for the pound against the euro means eating out is expensive, particularly when you deviate from the traditional pizza/pasta dishes and want more than one course. The hotel is centrally located and a 10 minute walk takes you to both the town centre and the station. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJP02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Marziale
Palazzo Marziale
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#7 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £114 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing