We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The hotel had everything we wanted: A large balcony with a great view of the Med, a rooftop pool, a quiet location with an easy walk to shops and restaurants, superb breakfast buffet and access to the pool and waterfront nearby at the Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,840
    458
    105
    25
    13
See reviews for
512
1,436
36
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

the grand hotel de la ville is set in a quite part of sorrento but in very easy walking distance of the main part of town. the rooms are very clean and well apponited and the food is fantastic not only in quality but choice. the staff were all very helpful and made you feel welcome. we would certainly book again and would recommend it sorrento itself was very nice and well situated to vist other palces of interest

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silkmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I've had plenty of holidays that just come and go and gradually disappear from your mind but for some reason the De La Ville has struck a chord deep within that will remain with me for a long time to come. A special mention must go to the very attentive staff especially Enzo, Carmine, Salvatorre, Isidoro, Dino, Gino and Flora. They will all remain in my heart for a very long time to come and one thing's for sure I will 'Torna a Surriento' and choose the De La Ville as my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel is SO CLEAN. I stayed in Sorrento for 3 nights. We wanted a hotel that was clean with local culture. I am VERY CRITICAL when it comes to hotels. This made my list!

Room: It was large for european standard. We picked the Classic room which had tile floors, beautiful bathroom, balcony looking over garden, wood inlayed desks, flat screen tv, two twin beds. THE ROOM WAS SPOTLESS AND I MEAN SPOTLESS. They must of bleached the room daily. The only complaint is the shower is in the middle of the tub. The beds are firm but comfortable and sheets were put on tight to give you that warm feeling. I just want to remind everyone that european hotels are different the american ones. They are less plush.

Breakfast: This was by far the largest buffet I have seen in europe. It had EVERYTHING from eggs to toast to fresh fruit. Large variety. The breakfast staff were AMAZING and checked up on you every 5 minutes.

Front Desk & Staff: All amazing! Even the ones at night. They were all very kind and willing to help.

Amenities: There are two pools one in the garden another on the roof. The pool deck on the roof has outstanding views of the coast. Pool is great. Roof bar is good to.

Location: It is right next to the main street and equal amount of space between the coast. 6 minute walk to town square.

Recommendations: Go to Positano for a day and eat at Ristorante Da Costantino. You will not be disappointed WORTH DRIVE. Luigi is the main person he is SO NICE. Fresh made pasta. AMAZING VIEWS!!!!!!!! GO GO GO!!!! We told our waiter to bring us out 4 courses whatever is the best stuff and he did.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Impressed with hotel whenever we arrived at reception. Restaurant staff were all excellent in particular Enzo and Guiseppe. Bar staff Gino and Flora also excellent. Standard of room(415) with sea view was great. Would not however advise rooms at rear which face into garden.Gala buffet was excellent with a large selection of starters main course and delicious sweets. Only negative as far as we were concerned was the entertainment in the hotel which was in general opera and easy listening music. One night a good group of three who played a selection of international music.. Ten to fifteen minutes gentle stroll to main square of Sorrento. Recommend Foreigners Club in Sorrento just off main square with great views.Two trips with tour operator to Capri and Amalfi coast were well organised. Capri was well worth the bumpy boat journey.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran2856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

From the outside the hotel De La Ville appears modern as many others do. But inside it is a different world. It is a hotel of sheer elegance with spacious rooms, cool marble everywhere, a rooftop solarium with pool and bar, a large ground floor pool, a relaxing lounge and bar, a tasteful dining room where cordon bleu food is served and a garden that transports you into another world of peace and quiet. But what makes this hotel special is the staff. From the chamber maid and reception staff, from Maitre d'Hotel, Enzo, and his restaurant team you will receive a warm, friendly and helpful service, one that will make you want to return, as indeed many do.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardpriestley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Stayed at the De La Ville for the 2nd time, for our silver wedding celebration. As we found on our last visit, we absolutely could not fault anything. The hotel is located in a pleasant residential area, very close to the centre but just far enough out of the centre to be more quiet. The public areas in the hotel, including swimming pools (stunning one on the roof top terrace - overlooking the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvious), garden/dining area, main dining room, lounge bar - are all lovely and most welcoming. We stayed on half board and the food really is excellent, with lovely waiter service. The bedrooms are attractive and spacious and are kept immaculately clean by the maids. The staff are amazing and with this being a smaller hotel than some, you get to know the staff on a more personal level. We love Sorrento and we love the De La Ville - Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#21 of 100 in Sorrento
1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing