We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #16 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best hotels we've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

Have just come back from a weeks holiday and were lucky enough to have stayed at the grand htel de la ville. The staff were very friendly and efficient, serving lovely food in the rather grand dining room. This is the perfect hotel for couples who just want to unwind during the day. Although there were young children staying at the hotel I wouldn't recommend it as the evening entertainment isn't really geared up for them. Sorrento itself is the nicest, safest frindliest ,and cleanest city I have ever visited, with lots of bars shops and resturants in abundance. Just a word of advice for anybody wishing to book the trip to pompei, your entrance ticket can only be purchased with cash, debit/credit cards are not accepted. Could go on all night about this hotel but not enough room to write. suffice to say we aredefinately going back !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,757
    438
    104
    25
    13
See reviews for
495
1,369
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

If you want a really relaxing holiday go to this Hotel. Everyone is made to feel very special. We only returned yesterday, and we already are missing being there. If I had one little niggle, it would be that there are no tea and coffee trays, in the bedrooms. Apart from that, a perfect place to stay. The food and the restaurant, are easily 'cruise' class.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinzanoSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Grand Hotel de la Ville has the most incredible staff that I have ever seen! They were all very polite and funny at the same time and very helpful. The hotel was located just outside the centre core of Sorrento so it's not a long walk, but still it's far enough to be very calm and quiet. The rooms are about average in size. We were three guys in a double bedroom and we had no problems with space. The interior design and decoration was very nice and exactly what you can expect from a south-european hotel. Breakfast was amazing, and so were the dinners we had at the hotel. A lot of options and there was nothing I couldn't imagine to eat. And finally, the pool on the roof was like the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

We spent two weeks at the De La Ville , having previously been to Sorrento some 20 years ago and we were keen to find a good hotel close to the city centre. Luckily, we really hit the jackpot with our choice.

Our room was spotlessly clean and very well decorated. The balcony overlooked the Bay of Naples with great views of Vesuvius. The new furniture was representative of the local wood marquetry industry, which was a nice touch. The air conditioning was quiet and efficient and the metal blinds ensured that the room was kept cool during the day and night.

There are 2 pools, a small one on the roof and a large one in the garden, both with free sunbeds and umbrellas , which were very welcome. There is plenty of shade in the garden but beware of the mosquitos which are attracted to the flowers and fruit trees.

The city centre is only ten minutes leisurely stroll from the hotel, which is located in a quiet residential area just away from the main streets. As a result sleeping was easy, as there was minimal external noise.

We had the half board option and boy, was the food good. Plenty of choice for breakfast, whatever your preference and the chocolate croissants were yummy! Can your waistline risk you have the fried prosciutto, sausages tomatoes and eggs? If so, you won't be disappointed.

Dinner was three courses, with a great selection of local dishes, which were well presented and very tasty. You just had to leave some room for the desserts, which were very naughty but nice! Each day over the two weeks was a different menu with hardly any duplication of dishes. The Grand Buffet on Tuesday evenings is excellent and very well managed.

The staff are all extremely helpful and very friendly, especially in the dining room where the genial Maitre D, Enzo was the epitome of Italian charm and elegance. His team made it their business to get know you personally and by the end of the two weeks they had become good friends, who we were sad to leave.

There is free entertainment on 3 nights and we really enjoyed sitting on the roof overlooking Vesuvius and the lights of Naples, having a drink and listening to some very good local performers.

The railway/bus station is only 10 minutes walk away, as is the Marina Piccolo where the ferries leave from. It is easy and very cheap to get under your own steam to Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Positano, Amalfi, Capri and Ischia. I would recommend going to Capri on a Sunday as it gets very busy during the week and get to Pompeii and Herculaneum early as it gets very warm.

It cost us 67 euros for the rail tickets and entry fees to Pompeii, which included a 2 hour guided tour with only 10 other people for our family of two adults and two students under 18. An organised tour would cost you that much for one person plus entry fees so try and be brave and do it yourself.

One word of caution, Naples is very intimidating and you need to be very careful there. It is only for the brave and fearless independent traveller.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justrecently-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We enjoyed a 2 week honeymoon break there and we had a fabulous holiday. The food is fantastic, an even better standard than at a couple of other hotels we have stayed at before in Sorrento, The service at breakfast and for the formal dinner was superb, the waiters and maitre'd give it a real atmosphere and make you feel special, which is a rare thing in these days of all inclusive buffets! Special thanks to Isidoro, Gennaro and Enzo. Dont forget to pack trousers as you are expected to dress up for dinner, but this quite rightly just adds to the special more formal feel. Drinks are expensive, but then they are throughout Sorrento, so if this is important to you then go elsewhere. The rooftop terrace is perfect for sun worshippers, with a quiet relaxed atmosphere and fantastic views. The downstairs pool is perfect for kids. All in all a charming hotel, that will please any visitor. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyV38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I have read the previous reviews and agree with a lot that has been said. The hotel rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and a fantastic range of foods. The dinner at the main restaurant was delicious and the staff were fabulous. The location is also excellent.

There are two swimming pools. The ground floor pool is large. The pool on the roof top deck is very small - much like an oversized spa pool. It is also heated and was pretty warm given the time of year. Drinks were available at the Bar on the rooftop but they were not available at the downstairs pool which was a bit disappointing (as this was where we spent more time as we had children and the downstairs pool was certainly where one went with children. That said, from my observation, a lot of people staying at the hotel were older). Food was not available at either pool.

Personally, I if travelling without children I would probably happily stay there again. But if travelling with children, personally, I would probably look somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieannaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

The hotel had everything we wanted: A large balcony with a great view of the Med, a rooftop pool, a quiet location with an easy walk to shops and restaurants, superb breakfast buffet and access to the pool and waterfront nearby at the Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Property: Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#15 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing