We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, Staff, Food & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Ranked #15 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We first stayed at De La Ville in Sorrento five years ago and this year decided we wanted to return. I wanted to stay at De La Ville again as we had such a good time on the previous visit.

We were not disappointed this time round in fact it was even better as the bedrooms had been re-furbished since the last time.

The Hotel, Staff, Food and Location is amazing and I think you would not find a nicer Hotel to stay in if you were ever to visit Sorrento.

I have no negative comments to give on this Hotel as the level of customer service we received each and every day was great. The food was lovely with lots of choices and we had a lovely room with a balcony. The whole Hotel was spotlessly clean and was an absolute joy to stay at.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for all the above and the location is also great.

Very well done to the owners and all the Staff at De La Ville you should be very proud of yourselves!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,876 - 1,882 of 2,548 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

Wonderful hotel in fantastic location. Brilliant room very elegant and comfortable. Very helpful staff. Fantastic swimming pool and roof top pool and terrace. Wish we had stayed longer. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrDude69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Our room was a generous size, with a balcony overlooking the outside breakfast area. Everything in the hotel was clean and well kept and the restaurant staff were among the smartest waiters I have ever seen. The Reception staff spoke good English and were very polite and efficient.

The hotel has 2 pools, one in the garden, and a small one on the roof. They have some form of ‘entertainment’ each evening ranging from a simple happy hour, to a sedate pianist in the bar area.

The hotel has a restaurant area both inside and outside for breakfast and dinner. The selection of food for breakfast was fine, but we didn’t have dinner there. The diner menu looked quite expensive, and Sorrento has a large selection of bars and restaurants in the town which we preferred to use.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute stroll from Piazza Tasso which is at the heart of the bars/restaurants/shops. For us, this was perfect as we like a bit of stroll before and after dinner in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravel-Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Location is excellent, very close to the port (where we got boats to capri and positano) and main town square (10 minute walk to piazza tasso) but what really made it for us was the staff, all of them couldnt do enough for you, very friendly and welcoming whether it was gino bruno, marianno or flora in the bar or enzo and his team in the restaurant. My wife can speak a little italian but we wouldnt have struggled if she couldnt as they all speak great english. The hotel iitself is spacious with two pools to choose from (although our preference was the roof terrace with its panoramic views over the Gulf of Naples and Mount Vesvius) and very clean with traditional italian smart decor. Overall a very comfortable stay and we WILL be back !! A big thankyou to everyone at GHDLV from Neil and Rosie

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P0lls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Just returned from this hotel yet again,thankyou to all staff for such a happy stay.Again Enzo and his team did a wonderful job,food exellent service with a smile what a special bunch of staff with Enzo in control.Genario is a star good sense of humour never stops smiling,fabio guesuppie dino isy isy all superb.Not forgetting the wonderful Bruno Flora and of course the main man Gino,for looking after us in the bars.Room service off Gino exellent not to mention the TEA!!!!!!!.special thanks to Alfonso the night man.I was staying at hotel with my elderly mother and auntie,who were looked after well by all members of staff.Returned on monday and by tuesday afternoon had booked to return in april 2011.Please keep up the high standards as i am sure you will.You are all very professioal people.Many thanks.The welsh ladies.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffys41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Take a top floor sea view room and enjoy a relaxing hour on the balcony after dinner before strolling to the town centre or the hotel bar. The views are great, and the rooms are air conditioned and extremely comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the food in the hotel. The range of choice at breakfast and dinner should please everybody. The service was excellent, provided by friendly, helpful staff at all levels. A lunch in the garden is also a pleasure. Access to all parts of the hotel is easy with clean, fast, available lifts to all floors.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and would definitely recommend it to others. The rooms are very clean, quite spacious and have black out blinds which are fantastic! Breakfast is excellent - they have a very good selection from full cooked breakfast to fruit salad, bread, cheese, ham, cakes etc. The roof top terrace is perfect for sunbathing (the pool is only very small but great for a quick dip to cool down), but there is also a larger pool on the ground floor. The location of the hotel is also great - only a 5 minute walk to the centre of Sorrento, and also very close to the train station.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
2,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Riviera
Grand Hotel Riviera
#18 of 100 in Sorrento
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Royal
Grand Hotel Royal
#20 of 100 in Sorrento
1,664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
Europa Palace Grand Hotel
#61 of 100 in Sorrento
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento

Address: Via Rota, 15 | Sorrento Coast, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#8 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#14 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £112 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and welcoming atmosphere, a relaxed ambience with every type of comfort and the spectacular setting of the Gulf of Naples, combined with the cordiality and professionalism of the staff, are among the main features that make a stay at the Grand Hotel De La Ville unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing