We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast in a long time!”
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Marziale
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best breakfast in a long time!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

the hospitality of the owners of the beautiful Palazzo Marziale is above any service standards you can find! the best address in sorrento! don't miss paola's cake in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    47
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
305
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This has got to be the best hotel we stayed at in our six week tour of Europe, the staff are friendly and very helpful, The bathroom was an adventure but in no way detracted from our stay, the constant steam of weddings in he fantastic church across the road from our window was a source of pleasure.
The elevator to the beach is only 100 metres away. Being set opposite a park allowed us a view out to sea. While on the road there was not any noise at night and the local restaurants start 10 steps from the font door up a little side street.
We recommend the Palazzo Marziale to all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We had an amazing time in Sorrento; helped by our fantastic stay at the Palazzo Marziale. The location could not have been improved being only a hop to the beach and a skip to the many cafes and shops in the town centre. The rooms were perfection, lavishly decorated and extremely large by European standards. Being our honeymoon; we were treated to a complimentary bottle of prosseco that we sipped whilst overlooking the gorgeous Sorrento sunset. The staff could not have been more accommodating; organising early breakfasts when required and ensuring our every need was met. The friendly smiles from reception and genuine interest in our level of comfort made our stay one that we will never forget. We will definitely be returning. Thank you so much Palazzo Marziale! Lauren and Mick (Bunbury, Western Australia)

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are great value and fantastic for viewing the daily goings on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had our wedding reception at Palazzo Marziale on June 6th after marrying at Villa Fondi. Upon arrival we were greeted outside and handed a glass of champagne by who we assumed was the head waiter. He congratulated us and led us inside before heading upstairs he picked up the train of my wifes dress so she would not trip which we thought was a nice touch and these little extras and attention to detail made a real difference.
We had exclusive use of the entire venue and our guests all commented on how stunning the venue was!

We had a meeting with Paola, the owner, upon arriving in Italy and she was more than happy in assiting us with decorations and discussing favours etc. We took our favours and a few other things to the venue a few days before the wedding and these were all organised and arranged perfectly on the table.

We wanted to have one large table as opposed to smaller round tables which again was no issue - It was lovely to be able to have exactly what we want as opposed to what the venue normally has.

We had an hour to relax before we sat down to eat and were served canapes and drinks throughout - the variety offered was excellent. We also decided to have a three tier wedding cake and had not told Paola what we would like - we were confident in leaving it down to her. We were very happy with the cake and the way in which the staff displayed this.

Once we sat down every guest was asked their preference in wine and water and were served this instantly. The two waiters that served us all throughout the evening were fantastic! They refilled every glass before we had the opportunity to ask which was a fantastic extra step!

We had a four course meal and every plate was perfect! The food was absolutely fantastic and presented beautifully. We had the same dish for every person but had one child with us and after the starter we decided he may not manage our chosen main course of steak - my husband spoke to one of the waiters and he said it was not a problem he would get something more suitable for a two year old sorted out we asked for a chicken dish and this was served with no issue at all which we thought was fantastic!

After we had eaten we were asked if we would like to serve our cake or if we were happy for the staff to do this - we were more than happy for the staff to do this and they again served this beautifully and boxed up the remaining cake.

Overall we feel Palazzo Marziale was the perfect choice for our wedding reception and was outstanding in every aspect. We cannot thank or praise the staff enough for the fantastic evening we had and would highly recommend to anyone getting married in/around Sorrento!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Me and my husband have recently returned from Sorrento where we got married at the Cloisters and held our wedding reception at the Palazzo Marziale. I highly recommend this venue if you are considering getting married in Sorrento, its in a perfect location just across the street from the Cloisters and also the public gardens which are perched on the cliff top overlooking the beautiful bay and mount vesuvius.

Paola (Owner) was so amazing, helpful and a perfectionist at what she does, nothing was to much trouble. The whole process of planning the wedding reception was simple and stress free, we trusted her to take care of everything and we knew everything would be perfect because she is so passionate about her work.

Paola arranged for us to use her chairs at the cloisters for the ceremony, which solved the problem of there not been enough for all of our guests. Also her chairs were alot nicer than the town hall chairs anyway.

We had drinks and aperitifs served by Paola's waiters within the public gardens and also at the Palazzo Marziale on the outside terrace. The food was so amazing and there was more than plenty of food and drink to keep everyone happy until the meal was served. The atmosphere was perfect outside on the terrace and all of our guests were amazed at how spectacular the venue was.

We had a sit down meal downstairs, everything from the flowers to the table linen, candles, menus were all perfectly presented. The food was absolutely amazing and the service was brilliant, the staff were so efficient and helpful.

Paola was also taking care of organising the wedding cake for me, I had sent her a photograph via email of the cake i wanted and specified what flavours i would like each tier to be and she said she would take care of it. I did not see the cake until the night when it came to the point of cutting the cake and i couldnt believe how perfect it was, it looked identical to the photograph i had sent her from the internet and it tasted so good.

We are so pleased we chose to have our wedding reception here, We couldnt have wished for a more perfect day and it was made so easy by Paola. All of our guests were amazed at how stunning every single room within the venue was; we would strongly recommend using this venue for a wedding its perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Best value in Sorrento, Deluxe acomodations,excelent location, Great atttention to guests,
Best hotel in my trip in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Excellent central location ....opposite to entrance to garden (overlooking bay) in which is lift (1 euro to use) to harbour. We made good use of this!. Easy walk to rail/ bus station/ lanes/ restaurants. Charming/ helpful staff (Valeria!). Quiet. Stylish. Good breakfast. Great timber door to disappear through ...look up on street view! Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#3 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Property: Palazzo Marziale
Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing