We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception venue - PERFECT!!”
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palazzo Marziale
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have just returned from getting married at the cloisters on 5th September, we booked the Palazzo Marziale for the wedding reception for 24 guests based on the pictures and reviews on here. The pictures honestly do not do this place justice it is far more beautiful and grand. Paulo accommodated and exceeded all of our expectations and made sure that the day went without a hitch. If you are getting married at the cloisters this location is perfect literally just across the road and central to all accommodation and shops in Sorrento. The food was amazing, coupled with all the flowers and candles really did make this venue perfect!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Palazzo Marziale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late August. I chose after a detailed search. It was an excellent decision as it was a fabulous hotel. From most of the other reviews you can tell much about the basic comparisons. But what makes this place special is understanding some of its history which we learned form Paula the owner: It has been in her family for over 200 years, in the early/mid 20th family it was rented out by many families, which took many years to get it vacated for renovation. The renovation took over 12 years. One of the things I enjoyed the most of it, is that the renovation kept to the character of Southern Italy: Beautiful plaster walls, Italian furnishings, fabrics and inlaid wood and marble. You feel as though you are in Sorrento not just another modern hotel. Everything was exquisite.

Finally some negative comments were made regarding the breakfast, I disagree. NO It was not a big heavy American/English style breakfast, it was many types of beautifully made breakfast type crudités, along with of course the cereal/fruit/yogurt/juice/bread, etc. I really enjoyed it. The one comment I would make to the owner is have a write up done on the building and history and add that to the info book in the rooms. BRAVO!

Room Tip: There are only 5, all on the 2nd floor. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana5531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I was there with my friend at the beginning of Sept 2013. (two of us). It was a treat from my friend for my 50th birthday which was planned 9 months ahead. A lovely boutique hotel with warm welcome from the owner, Paolo. We chatted almost every morning. This hotel is very centrally located , barely a few minutes walk from everything...shops, small alleyway streets, an attraction in itself, restaurants, railway station, Piazza Tasso, Teatro Tasso, nice views of Mount Vesuvio and bay of Naples just right across the beautiful garden opposite the hotel and is very near the lift down to the port. It has nice décor throughout with good attention to detail, feels very cozy, has a lovely restaurant (Terrazza Marziale) for fine dining (we dined there on the first night )and is very reasonably priced compared to other big cities.Daily breakfast which changes every day has enough variety to cater for a small boutique hotel and is what everyone should look forward to. Furthermore compared to our experiences of stays at the best hotels around the big cities of the world, one of which being voted best for breakfast by Conde Nast Traveller, this we would say is comparable for breakfast for a small boutique hotel and should be voted best in Sorrento for breakfast in a small boutique hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 nights there and if we were to be in Sorrento again, we would definitely stay there again to the extent that we do not mind moving flying dates a little to suit the vacancy /availability of the hotel. This small boutique hotel would cater for all your needs. Good reception in the bed room for wifi and they have very comfortable bed in the bedroom. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Any room at this place is good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I was there with my friends in July 2013. I stayed 2 nights in this luxurious, cozy and beautiful hotel which was located in the great location in the heart of Sorrento. The owner is very helpful and friendly.The decor was elegant and tasteful .The room was so clean, roomy and comfortable.The bed was so comfy. Good wifi internet connection. Nice breakfast. I will be back to stay in this hotel again. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIYAMIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Thos hotel is just a gem. It ticks all the boxes: exquisite decoration, grand rooms, personalised service and great location (at a price, but worth every penny).

We arrived earlier than expected and we were allowed into the room, which was very convenient.

Paola, the owner, was always around and made you feel very welcome.

The location is just perfect: just off the lift that takes you from the port to the town centre, just opposite a beautiful church and only a few minutes walk from all the action (restaurants & shops).

The rooms have got names (ours was 'Passion') and was stunning. The bathroom was huge and had a nice jacuzzi (a classy marble one, nothing tacky in this place!)

The Palazzo is stunning and the decoration is über chic. If anything that was the only drawback for us (travelling with young children) as probably not the most child friendly place; by no means because you felt they were not welcome (no one was anything but welcoming with them), but rather as you might be a bit stressed out they might break any of the beautiful pieces in display (which would be a pitty, not to mention expensive!) So maybe more an adult oriented place than a family place, but as long as your kids behave (not always easy!)you should be fine.

Breakfast was ok, though I was probably expecting something a bit grander. There wasn't anything wrong either, but just not in keeping with the wow factor that the hotel provided elsewhere.

A truly memorable stay, a highlight on anyone's trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujuhaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We only stayed one and half days in Sorrento mid June, but our hotel was wonderful. A well appointed small hotel in the middle of Sorrento. The entrance to the hotel extremely picturesque. We were greated by the owner and we instantly clicked. The hotel has recently opened an excellent restaurant where attention to detail and food would certainly compete with many upmarket establishments. This is a family owned hotel clean and very homely well worth the stay.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great as there are only five rooms expertly appointed
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

In the labyrinth of travel choices, how lucky to have found a hotel that is so satisfying in every way that it leaves you with an enchanting impression that will last a lifetime. Yes, I said "enchanting". Here's why :
- The location is perfect : surrounded by quality shops (right across from a marquetry workshop) , restaurants of all kinds/budgets, near the San Francesco church, and a few steps from the stairs/elevator down to the bay.
- The hotel is as beautiful as it is comfortable : an old palazzo, beautifully preserved, with just the right balance of modern comforts. The decor is elegant and tasteful. The beds are like sleeping on clouds. The marble bath is luxuriously appointed. (The kids asked me to mention that they particularly appreciated the jacuzzi tub.)
- The breakfast was delicious, varied and beautifully presented, which makes waking up a joy - this is important for me, a non-morning person.

Most importantly, I would like to applaud the warm welcome we received from Paola, who made our stay so special : she recommended the perfect restaurant for dinner, resolved our parking challenges, and answered all our questions. In short, she so efficiently anticipated our needs it was as if she could read our minds. It is rare to meet an innkeeper/concièrge/business person who possesses the intuition, professionalism and warmth of Paola.
Many thanks for the magical travel experience, Paola.
We hope to return one day

The Chauveau family
Paris, France

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room in the front, with view of the San Francesco church.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £141 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing