We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Palazzo Marziale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palazzo Marziale
Ranked #2 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Palazzo Marziale. The hotel has only 5 guest rooms. Ours was spacious and comfortable, with our window overlooking the old church and the very short walk to the scenic view across the bay to Vesuvius. The bathroom was large and well equipped and our room had a sitting area and a small table and chairs near the fireplace. The rooms throughout the hotel are beautiful with very tasteful antique furniture. On Wednesdays, the hotel is "closed". This did not affect the service we received. Paola is only a phone call or doorbell ring away. We had envious looks from passing tourists, as we used our key to open the ancient front door on Wednesday. The continental breakfast is quite good and the young waiter could not be more helpful and pleasant. We dined twice in the adjacent restaurant, Terrazza Marziale, also owned by Paola. Again the surroundings are beautiful, the staff very friendly and the food was delicious and a break from all the typical Italian food we had been eating. The hotel is very conveniently located for all the restaurants and shops of old Sorrento, a short descent to the marina to catch the ferry and a 10 minute walk to the train station. I do not hesitate to highly recommend the Palazzo Marziale.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    51
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
103
331
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a very enjoyable four night stay at the Palazzo Marziale over the summer. We could not believe the position of the hotel, where you walk down the front stairs, across the road and you are on top of the cliffs with an amazing view out over the water. Mount Vesuvius is across the bay and the sunsets were just spectacular.

The hotel itself is lovely. Our room was well-appointed with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. The free wifi was also good. The breakfast was very nice each morning, and we also had some delicious cocktails in the bar before heading out for dinner on a couple of nights. The hotel is also well positioned to walk through the side streets into the main square, with some nice restaurants within a minute's walk.

Overall, we couldn't have been happier!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrashMan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay at Palazzo Marziale (10th to 15th October 2013).

There are a number of aspects which make Palazzo Marziale a truly special experience - the great central location, the lovely decor and furnishings, the spacious and comfortable rooms, but above all it was the owner Paola Savarese and her friendly and helpful staff that impress the most. This is not a sterile, corporate hotel that simply processes you, it is more a warm invitation into a special family home.

Our arrival date coincided with a French air traffic controllers strike (10th Oct 2013) which had delay or total cancellation potential. We had booked the airport transfer through Paola so we let her know and she fully understood that if we were delayed, or worse had to cancel, it wouldn't be our fault. She also put us in contact with the airport transfer company and we had regular text and telephone updates to make things seamless and stress free. We couldn't have asked for more help and support in tricky circumstances.

Finally, we should mention the food. There is a delicious and freshly prepared traditional Italian breakfast buffet with fresh coffee individually prepared every morning... a great start to your day! The terrace restaurant is a lovely setting and again the meal quality and service won't disappoint, competing very well with the local quality restaurants.

All in all a great stay and definitely worthy of a "highly recommended".

Thank you Paola, Philip and Janet S.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Do not hesitate to stay in this amazing place. We have just returned home after a wonderful 3 night break. We felt thoroughly spoilt and loved every minute.Great location,right in the hub of Sorrento,very romantic. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

From the moment we entered the Palazzo Marziale, we were enchanted. Arriving late, we did not meet owner Paola until the next morning. She was warm, welcoming and by the time we left, a wonderful friend. We stayed in Love, the junior suite that looked out onto the cathedral and the short street to the sea. Sitting on the small balcony was a great way to drink wine and people watch after a day sightseeing in Sorrento. The room was wonderful. It was large and very luxuriously appointed. The bed was divine. You could tell that every area of this place had been touched by Paola who has amazing taste. This is her home and she makes sure that everything is perfect. The restaurant that she just opened is wonderful. We went there to celebrate our 43rd anniversary. The room is beautiful and very romantic. Service and food are top notch. Evenings were spent at the little bar facing the street where Salvatori, the bartender offers fantastic service. We missed saying goodbye to him. If you are staying in Sorrento, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Spectacular! That is the best way for me to describe Palazzo Marziale. We are a family of 4 with two children agest 10 & 6 who travel to Europe every year and this is one of our favorite places we have ever stayed. We loved everything about it. The finishes are exquisite and the restoration of her family property is sheer prefection. Paola is a remarkable host. She does all the baking herself for breakfast and greets her guests every morning with a beautiful smile and warm heart. She went out of her way to make our stay special and memorable. My children felt welcome and at home. I cannot wait to visit Sorrento again. Palazzo Marziale is a special place and Paola is a true gem!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you were to design and operate a house in Sorrento with a wonderful location, this would be what a perfectionist would create. Thats what Paola, the owner has created. Its a wonderful home with tasteful design and ammenities for the guest. I highly recommend this property.

The only suggestion I would make is that the breakfast provided is not as complete or nice as it could be. It just does not match the quality of this property. Suggest to move to the dining room or restauaunt area and make a more complete buffet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pgblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#5 of 100 in Sorrento
1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison La Minervetta
Maison La Minervetta
#1 of 100 in Sorrento
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,686 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Marziale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Marziale

Property: Palazzo Marziale
Address: Piazza Francesco Saverio Gargiulo 2, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Marziale 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Marziale is an historical building located just in the heart of Sorrento.Just a step from the public gardens, the lift to the port and beach and the San Francesco's Cloister.Is actually runned by owners who care for it like a "family juwel" and will make you feel like at home.This year the five very spacious rooms have been completely renovated and two restaurant will be available for our guests: the terrace restaurant, open from April to the end of October and a lounge bar/restaurant open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Marziale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Marziale Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing