We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very helpful for our Easter break school visit”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff very helpful for our Easter break school visit”
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Our large school group was very well treated by staff and management during our brief stay. Theresa and Claudia were very efficient and helpful, and always had a smile. Nello and Tonino in the dining room were patient and obliging, helping us out when we needed a room for meetings. The rooms were adequate, but 4 in a room was a bit of a squeeze. We also had problems with a lock but Theresa was ready with her screwdriver. The pasta starter was fine but main courses were basic. Maid service throughout was excellent, decor freshly painted, comfortable furnishings in foyer. Only 5 minutes walk to Piazza Tasso. I recommend going to Davide Augusto for a super ice cream in Via P R Giuliani - some went back for fourths! All being well I'll be back in 2013.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambridgelatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    205
    57
    36
    13
See reviews for
94
350
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I stay at the Hotel Capri in October 2010 and was very happy here. The position is very good, right in the city centre a short walk from the train station, especially important if you are travelling by train and have heavy luggage.
Staff were very helpful and the room was small but comfortable and clean.
I would definitely recommend it and go there again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The hotel capri is right in the town of sorrento.Be careful of the rooms on the roadside of the hotel as these are only good if you aint keen of sleeping as the local scooter racing goes on till about 2 in the morning.Rooms are very small and basic but clean.Food all tastes the same abit of a disappointment in italy.Even in the day when relaxing round the pool the staff watch you and everything you do,be careful dont take a drink around the pool as they tell you off even water,if fact they tell you off for eveything.Staff unfriendly no atmosphere in this hotel.ps they had a family party while we was there and we was all told to leave the pool so there party went well i mean dont worry about us we only paid to go there.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank bobandbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Just got back today with my Wife after having stayed at the Capri Hotel for a week on a Sunway Package Holiday. The Hotel is very central to the main street near all Train and Bus stations and is near Piazzo Tasso the Main Square.
The Hotel is very clean and the staff are exellent especially the two waiters who work in the dining room. They work very hard to cater for up to forty to fifty people at a time especially in the evenings at dinner time.
The only think I find wrong with this Hotel is the limited amount of food that is left out for breakfast and especially in the evening at dinner. It happened to us on a few occasions when we came down to dinner in the evenings there would be hardly be any vegetebles left in the salad table. Only a limited amount put out daily and tough luck if you were not down before eight at the latest. Poor choice of salad on the salad table
and breakfast with cereal with toast or some bread and some cheese or ham and there again very limited. This is the only think where this Hotel fails on. I note from previous reviews the same complaints about the food.
When we were leaving we were asked to fill out a comment form and I stated as I have here. I would recomend this Hotel as the staff are very friendly and do there best to make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

This is a small family run hotel in a great location, it is clean comfortable and even though the rooms are not huge they were adequate. The pool and surrounding area small but OK. There is a bar service at certain times but no bar area in the conventional sense. The general area available for customers comfort ect, is limited. We stayed two weeks on a package tour. It included half board. The breakfast was just about passable but the evening meal was an ongoing disaster. Quality and quantity would both be in question.No attention paid to customer requests and no choice or change offered from a very poor and limited menu. Was not expecting a lot but found what was on offer was appalling. My advice would be, go bed and breakfast only, do not waste your money on the half board option no matter how little it costs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeremiahIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We have just came back from a weeks holiday in Sorrento staying at the Hotel Capri. Hotel was in a perfect location for trainstation, buses, restaurants, shops, bars all within 5 mins walk, ports were about 15 to 20 min walk. Hotel itself was very clean overall in the pool and dining area. Rooms were also cleaned to a high standard everyday. We were in a room overlooking the main road and contrary to other comments posted was not to noisey. Pool was really nice area to sunbathe and even had a small jacuzzi which was a nice surprise. We had booked half board but only ate in the hotel a couple of times as wanted to experience the local restautants. 1st night we attended the gala dinner which was really nice with live music and the food was lovely. 2nd time though the dinner was pretty poor and we ended up eating out. All hotel staff were extremely nice and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back.

Another helpful tip I would say for Sorrento is DO NOT pay the extortionate for airport/hotel transfer/taxi prices. There is a shuttle bus that runs every hour that costs 10 euros each. If you arrive a little later at nighttime as we did (9pm) you can catch a train from Naples to Sorrento (last stop takes about 1hr) for 8 euros - totally beats the 100 euros each way in a taxi :)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HELLS1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We booked this hotel as a last minute, recoup for me as i had been ill and we wanted to just chill out. When we got there, we were put in a room facing the noisey rd on the 1st floor. It was horrendous, we faced a 24hr garage so there was constantly vehicles going in/out. Also we had no balcony. (not that you could use it on that side.)
We requested/begs to be moved whenever was possible willing to pay whatever it cost, but we were told by the oh so friendly manager "NO!"
The next day we bought earplugs as neither of us could sleep the night before.
We even tried to get moved to another hotel with Sunway...But thats another story!
Only thing good about this place is the location and the 2 guys that run the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalwayTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing