We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A fabulous stay!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My family and I stayed in Sorrento this summer as a family member was gettig married. We were concerned about the hotel when we read some of the reviews but having now stayed there I can report we found it lovely. The staff were all fabulous, the food was tasty and there was always choice and the facilities and rooms in the hotel were very acceptable. The last evening of our stay we had the gala dinner where they make a special effort and it was wonderful. The hotel is in a great position from which to explore Sorrento. I would recommend it to my friends and family!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank excitedtraveller305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    188
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
89
325
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

The first impressions were good, very good. A great position, great reception area. We travelled as a family of 4, 2 adults 2 boys 15 and 17. Travelling with Thomson, our rooms were fine, we had 'pool view', although it was more a view of roofs, the boys overlooked a side street, but had a huge room. Both of our roms had a bathroom. We stayed at the end of the season in late October.

The food? Well it really wasn't too bad. In 7 nights there were 2 gala dinners, these were buffet with a meat choice and a range of dishes, the other 5 nights were menu. We needed to choose at breakfast on 4 nights. Menu choice was 3 starters, 3 mains and a choice of another course to substitute for either main or starter. Typically there was one meat main dish - a milanese cutlet (like Vienner snitzel but baked instead of fried), roast chicken, pork - one fish dish and one vegetarian. The main dish was served with potatoes and one vegetable, there was also a vegetable and salad buffet every day. It was local food, very much vegetable based with meat as a treat, except for the substitute dish which was international - prawn coctail, pizza, tuna salad (which I really enjoyed, tinned tuna on fresh tomatoes, eaten with olives from the buffet and good olive oil and balsamic vinegar - I envy the previous poster's dog if he feeds the dog this). Starters always included a soup choice and a pasta choice, again often one choice with a little meat, one with some fish and one entirely vegetarian. Pasta with tomato sauce could be always requested as an alternative to the dishes offered.

Bread was good until the last couple of days when it seemed to disappear - plenty of choice of good fresh bread. Breakfast included scrambled eggs and sausages or boiled eggs plus cereal, toast, yoghurt, bread, cheese, cold meat, fruit, pastries, cakes - and to my son's enjoyment always a good selection of doughnuts. Service was friendly and efficient.

It was worth getting to meals early, the food choice was wider at the start, particularly desserts.

We were looked after very well. We all ate far too much and enjoyed our holiday. None of us braved the pool, although other guests did, as expected the water was pretty cold.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skitandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just returned from seven days break with Thomson,nice hotel,small room,nice and clean,very central.Two waiters very good, food awful,breakfast choice very poor,coffee awful, evening meal choice and quality was dreadful,we ate out as did many others,Thomson not really up for trying to sort it out so bad news for them,we will go to Italy with Inghams as we have always done.Was a late deal, but a fresh loaf of bread costs nothing in a country that is passionate about its food the hotel owners let their nation down.

Room Tip: get a room at the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurice j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from 1 week stay at Hotel Capri - The ground floor restaurant/bar/lounge area is smartly decorated in cream and beige with beautiful huge fresh flower displays everywhere - cool and calm -lovely to walk into after a long day out sightseeing - The bed rooms clean and typical italian style -- We stayed on the front of the Hotel and the rooms only have a small juliette balcony but as it was late October we had full advantage of the sun, which did not reach around to the back of the Hotel much at this time of year - thus making the pool area and the back bedrooms in the shade most of the day. The traffic noise did not bother us much as the balcony doors were double glazed. The 2 restaurant waiters polite and attentive and the meals were of good choice, quality and plentiful. The location of the Hotel is excellent , with buses and the rail station close by and easy walking distance to the shops and main square. It is very easy to visit Pompeii and Herculeum by train and much quicker to get to and cheaper than the tour operators charge. You can hire an audio information guide at the sites on arrival and explore at your own pace rather than get rushed around in a tour group, Again the fast hydrofoil to Capri is only 30 euro return and once there you can easily make your own way up to Capri town and explore leisurely. Even in October the resort of Sorrento, Capri and surrounding areas are very busy but well worth visiting

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are quieter, but later on in the year do not get sun on balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Have just returned from a 5 night stay in the Hotel Capri, when we booked this hotel (My 2 daughters and I) we were delighted to see that it had Air Con, Yes it did but May to the 1st of October only....not good as temperatures were still high there, we were in a triple room and to make things worse the room was on the main road side of the hotel and we could not keep the door/window open because there was so much noise, and the staff could not or would not waver on the air con situation. The hotel itself was very chique on the ground level but needed updating in the rooms, breakfast was not bad at all and the 2 gentlemen waiters at breakfast times were very helpful................Loved Sorrento, hope to return soon,,but unfortunately not to the Hotel Capri..........

Room Tip: I think the rooms with garden view may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

After reading some of the reviews posted on this site, we weren't expecting great things. Shows how wrong you can be! Just got back from a great week in Sorrento and a lovely stay at the hotel Capri. OK it wasn't perfect. We had half-board (not by choice, but by deal) and the first night food was pretty dire. But we gave it a chance and the Gala Banquet on the Sunday was much better. We ate in on 4 occasions and ate out 3 times simply to experience Sorrento's eateries. The hotel dining experience is not great, a bit like school dinners, but overall the food was good. Breakfasts were good too. Hotel is very clean, very central, and a relaxing place to be. To be fair though, the hotel was quiet and it may be a different story in the height of summer!! No real negatives.

Room Tip: We requested a room overlooking the pool, although you don't get a lot of sun on the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Returned from 11 nights in Sorrento at Hotel Capri, Corso Italia. Booked with well known travel company on a Half Board basis. Had looked at hotels and prices and for the location and price it seemed OK.
Reception was clean and bright - creams and whites but lacked any sort of life. Mac for internet and large screen TV in this area.
Reception on arrival was efficient, room allocated at front of hotel, but with double glazing limited amount audible. Discussed requesting a chnage but I was OK with situation. Would return to haunt me!
Temperatures were higher than expected (28C plus most days) so air con a godsend - more of that later.
Breakfast was the usual self service cooked meats, cheese, tomatoes, pastries etc with a small choice of hot food and accompaniments - see later!
Waiters Nello and Antonino (reminded us of Manuel in Fawlty Towers - size and quick movements)were brilliant, always attentive and pleasant.
Bed linen and towels changed regularly and rooms cleaned well.
Pool area clean but pool small and cold - my wifes comment - I did not venture in! loads of sunbeds and chairs available with a raised seated area under cover of a pergola type canopy.
End of first impressions - changes to come...
By the end of the first week we could say the food was adequate but with a limited choice. You selected your evening meal at breakfast. This was interesting as my wife commented on the mornings she had a hot breakfast that the previous evenings vegatables were the hot acompaniment - this included the omelettes! Not convinced of this till after the Gala Dinner on the Sunday when all the little "canape" type selection was seen at breakfast on Monday. This was when the weekly menu repeated itself as we saw from the choices for evening meal. Has anyone had roast beetroot for breakfast.....? This was mentioned as seen later to reception to the "Manager" who was on duty but she said she was not "aware of what the kitchen did with the food and menus!"
We came back to the hotel on Tuesday to find no hot water and no air con. After an "invigorating" shower we went out but mentioned the problem to Reception. We were told they were aware and "man is fixing it" and no air-con was part of the same problem. Returned to find no air-con, assumed it was still to be fixed. Next morning, lashings of hot water - in fact hotter than it had been previously. With no air-con and warm nights we had the french door and window open. The noise was very, very noticeable even in the wee small hours - Italians cannot speak they must shout.....
That evening still no air con. Reported to receeption who seemed to fiddle with the PC controlling such and said it was now OK. Came back later still not cool but running. Windows open again.
Thursday night no air-con and room like a sauna when we returned from the town. Reported to receeption by my wife who was informed that the air-con had been turned off after 30th September and did we not read the contract! Our rep was present but having been in the resort only one month did the best she could. The attitude of reception left a lot to be desired but being the last night there was little that could be done.
NOTE!!! - this hotel is rated as 3 star - 3 stars in the name on the outside of the hotel. At the end of the first week we noticed a crew outside working on the name. On our return we noticed the hotel had grown another star!!!
Sorrento is not cheap, in fact it is quite expensive. Considering the cost of the holiday and the standard of this hotel, the attitude of some staff (as well as the big lady who came down to the pool on a regular basis who was apparently a member of staf!) the service, food and staff attitude should have been a lot better. We ate out the last three nights and on the last night we were chatting to a couple who had made there own arrangements, staying in a 3 star hotel only 100 metres or so up from us and the choice of food at breakfast and dinner was mind boggling by comparison.
The location of this hotel is great for all the sightseeing in Sorrento and access to travel (train and bus station only a few - and I mean a few - minutes walk.
It warrants a good two stars but certainly not 3 as was or 4 as of a week ago.
Along with a churlish attitude in two cafes we used the rest of the cafes, bars and restaurants we used were brilliant (if you do go to Sorrento go to the Marina Grande and use the restaurant/bar by Tony's Beach and the restaurant/bar on the public pier - food absolutely great and wine and drinks very reasonable)
With the exception of the above we had a great holiday but cannot reccomend this hotel at all.
Have since seen info on web that our tour company is looking seriously at the service provided by this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to rear would be better - especially if the air con is off and you need to open windows/doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dg53fdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing