We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
millom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's half board holiday at this pleasant hotel. We found the staff helpful and friendly, they work very hard to ensure a comfortable stay. We had a room facing the road but didnt find the traffic noise a problem as there was effective double glazing and decent air conditioning. Our room was serviced daily and was very clean. There was a lovely garden above the pool area with comfortable furniture and the scent of jasmine was gorgeous. We enjoyed the meals, a good variety with pasta, fish and meat choices every day and one evening a gala dinner of 5 courses. The buffet breakfast had lots of options for all tastes and we were well looked after by the courteous dining room staff. The location of the hotel was ideal.....5 minutes walk from the main square and amenities and just round the corner from the raiway station. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelagh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    201
    53
    36
    12
See reviews for
92
342
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and had a very pleasant time. We found the decour of the hotel very nice, the bedroom was comfortable and the dining room clean and nicely situated overlooking the pool.
The staff were very friendly and helpful when we wanted to book an excursion to the isle of Capri.
The location of the hotel is good, ideal when travelling by train as it is only a short walk to the t station and ten minutes walk to the centre of the resort.
As our room was overlooking the road there was some traffic noise but this can be expected in such a resort as Sorrento and it in no way spoiled any part of our stay.
Perhaps the only criticism we have is that the pool chairs were taken in at 6pm and we felt that they could have been left out an hour or so longer.
We would recommend this hotel and would definately use it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John681385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Overall it was a decent hotel, it was clean and in a good location. The included breakfast was better than most hotels as it had some hot food. However a quite a few things could be done to improve.
The pool- closed at six, charged for pool towels, and you aren't allowed to use the room towels. Nor are you allowed to bring any food or drink including water. Which is pretty ridiculous.
The stay- we were booked for a double room and asked for twins and asked if any were available. She tried to accommodate us but had no knowledge of which rooms had twins and which didnt, not a huge deal. However, It was kind of frustrating when someone walked in the next day and requested a room and got the same size room with a balcony for cheaper and we booked ahead. A few other small things (Internet and hard towels) but those were the main issues.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackingEuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The food was awful,we ate out most nights at extra cost as our deal included meals.Breakfast was poor,tea and coffee machine made and was awful,orange juice diluted.Rooms small but clean,very noisy at the front.We were told we could not change rooms .Air conditioning not working,no attempt to repair it.Staff not overly friendly,or helpful,No ambience,although a modern decour in reception and bar,it did not extend to the bedrooms.Pool area very nice but the chairs and cushions were taken in at 5pm.We gave it 1 star as it was very central.

Room Tip: choose room to the rear away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west of ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel capri from 19th of may 2012 for a week and we were so disappointed. We asked for a quiet room and we were told it was all organised for us as we are elderly, on arrival we were shown to a tiny little room which was very clean, but it was so noisy that we could not sleep very much due to motorcycles and trucks going by most of the night. When we asked at reception the lady just shrugged her shoulders & said she was unable to help in any way. The bathroom was clean, but it did not include a bath which upset my husband, as he likes a bath. The towels were like cardboard, very hard!!. The staff in the dining room were very nice, but I did not think much of the food. It lacked imagination, breakfast was just hard bread & I think there was a banana there on one occasion. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, we certainly wont be returning.

Room Tip: I think if you cant be assured a room at the back with a balcony, then forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megan048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The front desk staff is less then helpful. We lost our wallet and the front clerk shrugged it off and did not seem concerned. Would not call or email the bus terminal or provide any number to call. He laughed at the fact we were so upset. The rooms are overpriced and the staff is snobbish. There is nowhere to eat at the hotel and you can't even sit by the pool unless you want to buy something.
I would stay anywhere but here while in Sorrento.... Trust us we travel a lot and have never had such a bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have just returned from staying at the 4 star Hotel Capri. We booked through Citalia for a very competative price (I didn't even consider booking it ourselves once I received the quote). We flew from Stansted and were able to choose our flight times. A private taxi transfer was waiting at Naples airport and took us directly to our hotel. We arrived mid-morning, but were welcomed warmly and shown to our room without delay. We had a double bedded room with a balcony overlooking the small pool with a sun terrace (lots of sunbeds). There is also a solarium for sunbathing on the top floor. We paid for half board, a wise choice given the restaurant prices, and were treated to 4 or 5 course meals. The menu choice wasn't extensive, but it catered for vegetarians and meat eaters alike. Breakfast was buffet-style with a couple of hot choices. My only little complaint here was for the lack of fresh fruit salad. There was always apples and oranges, but the breakfast did cater more for Germans perhaps with cold meats, cakes and salad. The hotel itself is modern, bright and well-furnished with comfortable sofas and chairs in the spacious bar to relax in. We chose to stay in a couple of evenings and chat with other guests while enjoying very reasonably-priced bar drinks (always served with snacks). Our room was bright, comfortable bed and pillows, daily maid service and always fresh towels. A flat-screened TV and safe provided (small charge for the safe). Tea/coffee making facilities would have been a welcome extra. The hotel is ideally placed, just a couple of hundred metres from the main Tasso square and even closer to the railway line (for Pompei and Herculanium). What made this hotel so special was the staff, the restaurant, bar, cleaners and reception staff were truly wonderful and made our stay so enjoyable. While in the area don't miss out on a visit to the Foreigners Club on the road to the Marina. Very reasonable food, snacks and drinks, but a view over the bay that is priceless!

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happynanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#57 of 100 in Sorrento
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
388 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
1,082 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing