We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for seven days in June with my girlfriend.

Some mixed reviews on here but I can honestly say it was a great place to stay. Its main asset is its staff. Teresa in particular was fantastic. All were polite, friendly, helpful, etc but it was always a delight to see Teresa on reception. From general information, helping us plan trips and booking things for us, they couldnt have done more.

The reception area is friendly and nicely decorated and the pool, sun area is small but adequate. Would be nice if the pool was open a little later than six pm though.

Only had breakfast and it was adequate so can't comment on food too much. Snacks around the pool were good and all reasonably priced. Drinks were 2 euros 50 so a bargain!

Room was OK. Clean, good AC, a little noisy from corridor / other rooms but nothing to distract. TV, hair dryer, shower, etc, etc, usual features. I would say the room was much more 3 star than 4 but perfectly fine. Good luck finding better in the centre of Sorrento for less than 100 euros per night.

Location - brilliant. Snack bar, convenience store - 30 seconds. Supermarket - 2 mins. Bus/train and airport bus -2 mins. From here you can get anywhere. Main square - 5 mins. Within a zone of approx 10 mins you have access to around 50 bars and restaurants and all the shops. Basically, even at a leisurely pace you can reach anywhere in Sorrento in about 15 mins - including the port. We used the hotel as a base to discover Sorrento and using local bus and train, Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, Capri, Caserta, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Easy!

Downsides, only think I can think of is early pool closing is a bit odd - apart from that, for 100 euros a night, we got more than we thought! Stayed in many cities in Italy and this was great value.

Summary, great staff, great location, great price, would stay again. Happy to answer any specific queries anyone may have.

Thanks Teresa and team. X

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkenny_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    186
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
88
323
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from a week in The Hotel Capri, and have to say, that although the initial impression on entering the hotel was good....... everywhere was beige and white décor and looked fresh and new. That was until we got key for our room and discovered the air-con wasn't working. After several trips up and down to reception, and a wee waiter who tried to tinker with the air-con switches (the knobs of which were broken off), and I reckon my 4yr old grandson would have known as much about it!! He achieved Nothing but tried to convince us, "IT Now Working!!".... if problem ring down in 1/2 and hour. As there was no sound coming from it we knew it wasn't working, and thus had to ring yet again, and were told technician would be in after 6pm and he would fix it........ without much faith that this would happen, we asked if we could switch rooms, but were told no... that they had no more rooms. Eventually technician arrived and got it working while we were down for dinner, but there was no adjusting of it, and we had to content ourselves with it being on continually, which when you were trying to get to sleep was quite noisy The room was perfectly clean, but smallish, and had very little storage space, thus we resorted to working out of suitcases' . The shower was tiny and it was an elbow banging experience to have a shower. All this we could have dealt with, but the food was something else !!!!!!

We have always associated Italy with brilliant food..... we have been to Italy a couple of times before, and had a fantastic time.

The breakfast was poor to say the least.......... as someone else has already said in a review, the coffee was from a vending machine , and poor quality at that... as was the fruit juices, PATHETIC. The only edible thing was the croissants........ which I finished up having EVERY morning, as everything else was so poor. One morning I thought I'd have a nectarine for breakfast, but it was SO hard, I couldn't mark it with the knife, and just had to leave it. On another morning my husband was having cereal, and remarked that it had a funny taste, I tried mine, and immediately knew the milk was 'OFF',. .We told the waiter and he immediately took the jug of milk of the buffet table and replace it, but offered no apology. One morning my husband took "something" from hot server, but wasn't sure "What" it was.... tried to identify it on eating...... but still wasn't sure, as it was like a tiny roll , but greyish looking in centre when cut, so asked, and was told " omelette omelette omelette" .... by waiter who looked at him as if to say, Are you stupid........ but I sure never seen an omelette like it before, and hopefully never again!

Evening meal believe it or not was actually worse ! EVERY night, we had SALAD ! ... fine , I love salad........... but THIS salad, was dried up hard lettuce leaves, Beef tomatoes chopped up roughly, and grated carrot......... end off .!!! It was the same nightly, and the left overs were on the breakfast table the next morning......(lovely !! eh) If there was any other vegetable on your plate it was possibly cabbage, boiled to a pulp. One night we chose Baked Potato, (thought it sounded safe) but were convinced they had mistaken our order, as what arrived, no more resembled a potato that "the man on the moon", but on questioning the waiter if this was a "baked potato" he sharply replied "yes, yes....baked potato!".....I still haven't worked out what it was........ but couldn't eat it.

Banquet night sounds like a treat, but it was everyone crammed into bar area, no choice, to accommodate a private party using the dining room and pool area...... which was closed to guests in the hotel.

The 2nd banquet night was a menu of Sea-food from beginning to end, with no choice. When we declined, and said we would just eat out he said we could have an alternative......... OMELETTE........... wonderful. We did hear other guests saying they didn't like sea-food, and was there no alternative for vegetarians, and he said they could adjust menu for them........... they apparently got the same menu, with the shrimps or whatever, just left out of the dish - hilarious .

The deserts however were interesting. They started off being choice of 3....... but if you weren't first down for dinner, you may not have had any choice, you were just offered what was left. Even desert was caramelle pudding, and a chocolate moose from a packet, not even served with fruit or cream. For a country famed for its ice-cream, we never once seen it on the menu..

We went on holiday to Sorrento, as we had been told it was beautiful, and yes, the scenery is amazing, and we loved the town and atmosphere at night, plus the shops are great. It's just a pity that the Hotel Capri, with such amazing possibilities, lets its guests down with such poor quality food. May return to Sorrento ........... but certainly NOT to Hotel Capri !

Room Tip: I reckon you would be best to request a pool view room, as these are at the back of the hotel, away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossomAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We had been saving to go on our first holiday as a couple for a while and booked the Hotel Capri, we were even more excited when we heard the hotel had become a 4 star and had under gone a refurb.
Unfortunately, it just wasn't what we expected and the 3 star hotel in Rome we stayed in prior to the capri was so much more welcoming, quieter and just over all more pleasant. In hindsight, we wonder if the extra star was to gain more money from the sorrento tax that was introduced for staying in sorrento overnight.

Food/drink: Very poor all round, cannelloni that contained no pasta instead it was a crepe! cheap dried pasta used in pasta dishes, its italy and a 4 star hotel why not fresh pasta? coffee from a machine (isn't italy known for coffee???), orange/ fruit juice also from a machine that tasted diluted or powdered even though there are tons or orange trees growing in the area and an orange grove next door! We had bruschetta one evening that have been prepared so far in advance the bread had the texture of trifle sponges. Also there are only 37 rooms so in my opinion there is no reason why food cannot be prepared to order rather than in advance, it seemed an attitude of doing things on the cheap existed possibly from higher above the kitchen and dining room staff

Rooms: Expect to hear every door close, every noise in the hallways etc We could hear people talking and singing in the shower through the bathroom ceiling! Room was also extremely small and we had to ask the reception to activate the air con as it didn't work at first even though they knew we were coming and had obviously checked in yet didn't activate it then. Dated and tired rooms, not to the same standard as the entrance and ground floor (quick lick of paint is the only refurb in the rooms and the finishing of that is poor).

Service: As a hotel your guests come first particularly when they have CHOSEN to stay with you out of all the other hotels in Sorrento and paid a reasonable sum sometimes up to a year in advance. On one evening the dinner (gala dinner) was crammed into the bar area and the dining room and pool was out of bounds from 4pm to accommodate a private party that continued until midnight (which could be heard through the closed bedroom windows). I find this extremely poor considering I paid to use ALL the advertised facilities for the entire stay and expected them to be available to me, not to come secondary to a party that were not staying at the hotel. In my opinion, If a hotel hosts a private party it should not affect the guests or running of the hotel.

Good points: the only saving grace were the waiters, Nello and Tonnio, they are a real asset to the hotel and work extremely hard. They are polite, comical and welcoming. Another positive is that it is in a great position less than 2mins from the car park where excursions depart, less than 2mins from the train station/ bus station and close to the town.

I guess the ground floor refurb is a plus also, but it lacks something and gave us the feeling of being in a cross between a show house and a library at times (felt like we had to be quiet, no ambience, no soul etc)

Room Tip: over looking the pool, i would imagine the road side would be noisy. But my best tip would be to loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed at hotel Capri in Sept 2011 ,read mixed reviews beforehand, so was very pleasantly surprised
.Excellent central accommodation, just beside bus n train stations, very comfortable, clean room, good food served by pleasant helpful staff, chef is very nice and we had a night of really special fanfare, with gorgeous food and entertained by children of hotel,
little garden to back of hotel is very peaceful for relaxing, swimming pool small but ample.
quite busy road goes past hotel, but if windows are closed the noise from the front is not bad,
Suggest if you are very light sleeper ask for back room overlooking the pool area.
Local bus does the famous peninsula cliff tour route and for around 10 euro you can travel all day on it getting on and off at different stops, get off at beautiful Positano...lit up at night is so beautiful, go as far as the bus takes you as there is so much to see, Train goes to Pompei for a few euro also, but be prepared to stand as it gets very busy, would recommend doing own tour of ruins as some tour guides only show little as I found out when I paid 15 euro..my sisters went their own way and seen much more. if you don't mind waiting n a little crowded at times do your own travel cheap otherwise take advantage of tours available. Hydro foil also goes to Isle of Capri around 28 euro leaving a short distance from hotel each morning, lift and bus on Capri only a few euro to go further, truly beautiful experience, hope to visit Sorrento again n would be very happy to stay in same hotel.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking poolside will get less traffic noise, but there is good double glazing for rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGal37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

stayed in the hotel capri from june 4th to 13th. really liked this hotel. staff were very friendly and always said ciao!!. hotel is lovely and clean and rooms were serviced everyday which was great. stayed in twin room on main road side. didnt find this a problem at all. it was nice to look out the balcony at the world going by.
the air con was very loud towards the end of our stay,but to be honest we never brought it to the staff's attention so i cant really complain about that!
pool was also very nice and the sunloungers were the most comfortable i have ever used on holidays. the only one thing that annoyed us a bit,was that you couldnt even bring your own bottle of water down to pool. you had to buy it from bar. that would be the only criticism about the pool area. other than that was always kept clean and tidy.
hotel is very centrally located ,only few minutes walk into main square which is extremely convenient. staff were very helpful in helping us with excursions and information.
overall i really liked this hotel and would not hestitate to stay there again if i ever return,. sorrento and the surrounding area is such a magical place,i think everyone should get to see if if they can!
thank you theresa and staff for lovely stay.
amy and ashley from galway ireland!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We recently spent four days at The Capri, via Citalia and found it a great base to explore the area.

Prior to leaving we were little concerned by recent reviews and were not sure what to expect. However, from our initial arrival we were very impressed. We were travelling with an elderly parent and had pre-requested quiet rooms, close to each other. In fact we ended up with one room above the other (so close from that respect) and at the back, overlooking the pool and we were very happy. Added to which the rooms were ready when we arrived at 11am which was a real bonus. We have stayed in city-centre hotels in much of southern Europe and The Capri compares well with many in terms of room size, bathroom and busy roads!

We booked The Capri on availability, so hadn't really factored in the half-board aspect as the price was the same as our initial choice, which had been bed & breakfast only, so decided the option of eating in was just an added bonus. We did in fact eat in two nights out of four and had a nice meal each time. There was a choice of both first and second courses and the wine list was certainly not overpriced. The only reason we ate out for the other two nights was that the hotel dining room, nice that it was, did not offer the "traditional Sorrento dining experience" we were looking for and the atmosphere in the restaurants in town was such fun. Breakfast was fine. Reasonable choice and never seemed busy. We used the bar each evening for a night-cap and found it very reasonably priced.

All-in-all we were very happy with The Capri. It was very clean, the communal areas are all very chic following last winter's refurbishment, the bedrooms and bathrooms are fine and it's an excellent choice for a city centre hotel. If you wanted to keep an eye on your expenditure then taking the half-board deal and eating in each evening would not, in our opinion, be in any way unacceptable.

We would compliment the staff who are very cheerful and polite and extremely helpful when needed. The three-day wifi deal at €15 was an awful lot cheaper than lots of other parts of the world so no complaints there either and there is a free-to-use Mac in the reception area which was nearly always "vacant".

We loved Sorrento and can't wait to return and explore some more. When we do, and assuming we've not won the lottery and are able to stay in one of the many stunning 5* hotels in town, we would again choose The Capri.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitby1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
millom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's half board holiday at this pleasant hotel. We found the staff helpful and friendly, they work very hard to ensure a comfortable stay. We had a room facing the road but didnt find the traffic noise a problem as there was effective double glazing and decent air conditioning. Our room was serviced daily and was very clean. There was a lovely garden above the pool area with comfortable furniture and the scent of jasmine was gorgeous. We enjoyed the meals, a good variety with pasta, fish and meat choices every day and one evening a gala dinner of 5 courses. The buffet breakfast had lots of options for all tastes and we were well looked after by the courteous dining room staff. The location of the hotel was ideal.....5 minutes walk from the main square and amenities and just round the corner from the raiway station. All in all good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelagh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#8 of 100 in Sorrento
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing