We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and great location”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Value for money and great location”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in late August and this was our third time in Sorrento but our first at the Capri. We booked this as a "last minute" holiday only a few weeks before we went and thought the hotel was good value for what we paid.
We had upgraded to a garden/ pool view room with balcony and so glad we did as we got a glimpse of the room facing the main road and although nothing wrong with them we both certainly enjoyed our time sitting on the balcony in the early evening before we headed out for dinner.

The rooms as other reviews mention are a bit on the small side as we had two big cases and struggled to find space to store them without getting them in the way. The rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable but the fridge was not great as it took over 24 hours to chill anything.

The bathroom we had is possibly where we think let's the hotel down as the shower was pretty old and very small especially as we didn't have a bath. I am not sure if it was just our bathroom but judging by the clean modern decor throughout the rest of the hotel, they hopefully are looking to modernise the bathrooms which would make a big difference. The pressure out of the shower head was very poor but to be fair this is sometimes still the case for fancy hotels with all the latest fixtures and fittings. The air con in the rooms seems to be centrally controlled from reception and is pretty noisy but a must for high season.

The girls on reception were really nice and helpful and always willing to give advice if asked. Antonio who appears to work 18 hour days is pleasant but a little overbearing at breakfast at times. The breakfast is typical continental affair, in agreement with other comments the hot cooked selection is not great. The sausages are grey in colour and tasteless and the bacon is more like boiled ham. The rest of the breakfast is fine but if you are looking for a nice cooked English type, you will be disappointed.

The pool area is small with a selection of beds and deck chairs but was ample for us. There would only be a problem if everyone at the hotel decided to stay at the pool as there wouldn't be enough to go round. The garden area has some beds but to be fair they have seen better days.

The biggest positive has to be the location as it is literally 3-4 minute walk to the main square and the centre and very handy for popping out for lunch and dinner. The days we spent at the pool, we went across the road to Franco's which serves amazing pizzas, focaccia etc and very reasonable prices.

In summary, the hotel is clean, modern (except bathrooms) and has lovely staff with a great location but a few little improvements would make a big difference to the overall package. If I had paid over £200 per person more ( which was advertised in the months prior to my late booking) I would have felt a bit short changed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool/garden view with balcony...it will be money well spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmaster1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thanks and we hope see you again in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    201
    52
    36
    12
See reviews for
90
341
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limerick, ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at hotel Capri for a week at the end of August and I was not disappointed. The hotel was central to the old town square which is just a short walk away and the beautiful Marina Grande was a pleasant twenty minute walk. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate and I would advise requesting a room with a pool view and balcony on the second floor. Pizzeria da Franco across the road from the hotel is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMCLimerick_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your comment and we are happy that you had a great holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A friendly clean welcoming hotel close to all the amenities of Piazza Tasso and a short stroll to the harbour. Teresa and Veronica on reception were always ready to help no matter what the query. A lovely touch from the hotel was a bottle of bubbly left in our room as we had booked this for our honeymoond . we had aroom over looking the pool and gardens the room was a little smaller than the travel agents photos but was very comfortable and clean, this room however didnt have a fridge as mentioned in other rooms. breakfast was excellent and plenty for every taste including a wide variety of foods and milks for varying dietry requirements.
the pool area was very nice although there was only 19 sunbeds and some deck chairs to cater for 39 rooms and the 5 sunbeds on the garden part were badly in need of repair. aside from this i would recommend this hotel and if i ever return to Sorrento i wouldnt hesitate to stay there again .

Room Tip: choose a room on pool/garden side as they have balconys and the road is qiute noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
many thanks for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Stayed in the Hotel Capri for one week in August 2013. The hotel is kept to a good standard and very clean. The two girls on reception are the most friendly we have met and found Veronica very helpful and knowledgeable, and always had a big smile for the guests.

I would say the breakfast selection was quite typical of hotels in Italy, the fruit and bread/rolls being good, but the quality of the cooked breakfast, eggs, sausage etc was not so good, the sausage was a strange colour and didn't taste too good either.

We had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool, with a nice comfy bed, and although there is a small fridge in the room, it doesn't chill very well.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for it's location, cleanliness and the polite friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
thanks for your comment. we are happy that you had a good holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Capri, Sorrento in mid June 2013. We had booked a week but, unfortunately, only stayed four nights due to illness. The hotel is very centrally located being no more than a five minute stroll to Piazza Tasso and less to the station. The hotel is very clean and although the room we had was not huge it was spotless and had all that we needed. There was a good selection at breakfast. We did not use the small pool but it looked nice and well maintained. We did read a few not so good reviews of the hotel before our stay but we could not agree as we found everything to our satisfaction and the staff were pleasant and helpful, particularly when we needed to call a doctor. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you can. Unfortunately, we were unable to get one and we did miss bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aldohappytourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
thank you very much for your comment and we hope see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from 9.8.13to16.8.13. It is very clean with comfortable beds. Plenty of choice at breakfast with both sweet and savory dishes available. The pool area is quite small as is the pool itself. The location is fantastic as you are within walking distance of all shops bars restaurants the main square and train station. The marina can be reached either by stairs or lift. My main comment would be about the staff in this hotel. They are all extremely polite and friendly, but a special mention has to go to the girls on reception who are always willing to help and can give any information required and always with a smile. They are among the nicest receptionists we have ever encountered.
If you are going to sorrento this hotel is worth checking out.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel with a small but perfectly good balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelfairy830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
many thanks for the comment. we are happy that you had a great holiday...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent a week at the Capri and could not fault it. The location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk from the bus/train station, opposite the best pizza place in town and fie minutes walk from the main square. The reception area and bar are kept immaculately clean and the rooms are a great size. Veronica on reception is fantastic, a real credit to the hotel and all staff are so friendly. If you want to be in a great location for travelling around the Capri is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
thank you for the comment. It's most important for us...See yoy again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing