We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for a week with a friend, what a lovely hotel, beautiful decor inside. Excellent location 5 mins from the bus and train station and main square. The pool area is nice although there could be a shortage of sun loungers when it's really busy, the upper area of the garden really needs some TLC as it appears neglected which is shame. The rooms are not large but clean and tidy and if possible get one overlooking the pool, I stayed in room 108 - very noisy at times and had to keep the windows open as the air con was not working properly - take some ear plugs to be on the safe side. The fridge in the room didn't work properly but it was never a real problem.
The bathroom could do with a refurb but there was always plenty of hot water and lots of towels.
Good choice for breakfast and you could eat as much or little as you wanted, slightly disappointed the coffee was out of an instant machine rather than fresh ground coffee.
The staff on reception were lovely, so helpful and genuinely friendly it was a pleasure to speak to them.
If I was returning to Sorrento this would be one of the first hotels I would look at to stay in.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workshard333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned from an excellent 7 night stay. The brilliant location of the hotel made our stay in Sorrento extremely enjoyable. It is very central, close to all the shops and bars. The bus and train station is just around the corner and provides access to all of the wonderful sightseeing trips. The hotel is clean and friendly. All of the staff were helpful, approachable and friendly especially veronica who helped us a lot with directions and whose English is very good

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had an 11 night stay here for our honeymoon. It is a brilliant location, the centre of Sorrento is very easily walkable from here with the train and bus stop being just round the corner. All the staff are very helpful and could not do enough for us. The breakfast is continental and although we read some negative reviews about the breakfast, we could not fault it.... there was a selection of cerial, verious pastries and cakes, fresh fruit and meats, yoguart, toast and even scrambled egg, bacon and sausage admittably not like you would get in England but I would not expect that when abroad

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the pool are quieter but smaller... we had a room facing the road, but did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foalks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon for the first week in september. When we arrived we were greeted by friendly receptionist's. our room was ready within 30 minutes (we got an early flight). The room was clean and we had a balcony overlooking the pool. Veronica at the reception was very helpful throughout the stay and made us feel very relaxed. The only downside is the bathrooms need a slight improvement, our shower leaked because the shower curtain wasn't great. There was also two shower heads which both seemed to have water come out of them. The breakfast was really good and catered for wheat/gluten free diet. The upper part above the pool where there are extra sun beds could do with some tlc as these looked a little broken. The air conditioning is controlled from reception but our panel in the room always said 26c and a few buttons missing. The location was fantastic, a two minute walk from the train station and about 5 minutes to the main square. I would recommended the mini cruise on the San Valentino for €28, this took us to Capri for a swim, positano and amalfi a brilliant day out. The food on board is cheap and smelt lovely. I would also recommend Artis Domus for food and Kontatto Cafe. Both have outside space and are very relaxed. This was a brilliant holiday and would defiantly consider this hotel for a holiday again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a balcony at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tweetbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in early September and must agree with all the positive comments about the hotel. On arrival we were met with a smile from the three girls who run the
reception and found them very helpful all throughout the stay , offering suggestions on travel or
restaurant choices.
We stayed in room 109 which overlooked the pool and being on a corner seemed to have more room than the others. The room was spotlessly cleaned every day and it was a joy to sit on the balcony on afternoon/early evenings.
As stated in other reviews the location is great , 2 mins from train station and 5 from central square .
I would definitely not put anyone off staying here but with this being a review I should tell you
of anything we didn't find completely to our satisfaction. The fridge is a fridge in name only . it didn't
chill anything and not all rooms have them . Also the bathroom looks a bit dated compared with the rest of the room/hotel . It had no bath and pressure in shower was not great .
These negatives did not put us off though and I would easily stay here again if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Balcony with a pool view makes the whole experience more enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superwomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in late August and this was our third time in Sorrento but our first at the Capri. We booked this as a "last minute" holiday only a few weeks before we went and thought the hotel was good value for what we paid.
We had upgraded to a garden/ pool view room with balcony and so glad we did as we got a glimpse of the room facing the main road and although nothing wrong with them we both certainly enjoyed our time sitting on the balcony in the early evening before we headed out for dinner.

The rooms as other reviews mention are a bit on the small side as we had two big cases and struggled to find space to store them without getting them in the way. The rooms are clean and the beds were comfortable but the fridge was not great as it took over 24 hours to chill anything.

The bathroom we had is possibly where we think let's the hotel down as the shower was pretty old and very small especially as we didn't have a bath. I am not sure if it was just our bathroom but judging by the clean modern decor throughout the rest of the hotel, they hopefully are looking to modernise the bathrooms which would make a big difference. The pressure out of the shower head was very poor but to be fair this is sometimes still the case for fancy hotels with all the latest fixtures and fittings. The air con in the rooms seems to be centrally controlled from reception and is pretty noisy but a must for high season.

The girls on reception were really nice and helpful and always willing to give advice if asked. Antonio who appears to work 18 hour days is pleasant but a little overbearing at breakfast at times. The breakfast is typical continental affair, in agreement with other comments the hot cooked selection is not great. The sausages are grey in colour and tasteless and the bacon is more like boiled ham. The rest of the breakfast is fine but if you are looking for a nice cooked English type, you will be disappointed.

The pool area is small with a selection of beds and deck chairs but was ample for us. There would only be a problem if everyone at the hotel decided to stay at the pool as there wouldn't be enough to go round. The garden area has some beds but to be fair they have seen better days.

The biggest positive has to be the location as it is literally 3-4 minute walk to the main square and the centre and very handy for popping out for lunch and dinner. The days we spent at the pool, we went across the road to Franco's which serves amazing pizzas, focaccia etc and very reasonable prices.

In summary, the hotel is clean, modern (except bathrooms) and has lovely staff with a great location but a few little improvements would make a big difference to the overall package. If I had paid over £200 per person more ( which was advertised in the months prior to my late booking) I would have felt a bit short changed.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a pool/garden view with balcony...it will be money well spent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmaster1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thanks and we hope see you again in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at hotel Capri for a week at the end of August and I was not disappointed. The hotel was central to the old town square which is just a short walk away and the beautiful Marina Grande was a pleasant twenty minute walk. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate and I would advise requesting a room with a pool view and balcony on the second floor. Pizzeria da Franco across the road from the hotel is a must!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMCLimerick_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your comment and we are happy that you had a great holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#70 of 100 in Sorrento
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,374 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Helios
Boutique Hotel Helios
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £126 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing