We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

From 29th aug to 12th sept 2008 we had our first holiday in Italy.The Hotel Capri in Sorrento was fantastic!This is a family owned hotel with fantastic staff and rooms.Restaurant staff were Antonino,Aniello, Sylvia and night porter,Carlo were all friendly helpful and very warm and welcoming.Carlo helped when we weren't sure how to get somewhere and had a wealth of knowledge about his country.The restaurant staff were entertaining,friendly and helpful in every way and are extremely hardworking-we could not have asked for more.This hotel is 3 star,but gives 5 star service!!The rooms have full air conditioning and we booked a room with a small balcony overlooking the pool.Food was excellent and cooked to perfection, with plenty of choice including vegetarian options.The housekeeping staff were also very friendly and welcoming, changed beds and towels every two days, and the rooms were kept immaculately clean.
There were 2 nights we had a gala dinner,all the tables were put outside, around the pool and a singer was brought in to entertain us.The owners children were also very entertaining,singing and dancing to the music.This hotel was fantastic for us and the staff couldn't have made our stay any better!I left with tears in my eyes as i didnt want to come home it was such an enjoyable hotel,resort and country.Italian people are so friendly,welcoming and warm.Hotel was close to all amenities,shops,local buses,trains and hydrofoil-very central.I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Sorrento and will return one day hopefully in the not too distant future!!

  • Liked — location and excellent staff
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloriascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    188
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
89
325
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed at the Capri last week in August 2008 and generally most of the reports here on Trip Advisor are quite accurate.

Regarding the negative comments made, the Capri is very cheap holiday accommodation. Our trip was last minute. We booked Monday arrived Friday and the entire package holiday was cheaper than the cost of flight only to Naples with Aer Lingus. What I'm saying is you get what you pay for.

On the plus side, it is a nice quiet hotel superbly located, it is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly enough. The pool is small so it's not for swimming more dipping in. It's lovely a quiet pool though and the sunbeds are really good quality.

It appears to be mainly Irish/ English staying and the average age is maybe 40+. Well I'm 40 and most others look older than me <grin> If you are travelling with Sunway from Ireland, they have a fantastic rep in Sorrento. English lady called Jill who married an Italian and has been living there for years. There is no big sell on tours and she meets everyone for a walk around the town to get your bearings on Saturday mornings. Fair play to her.

One thing they don't really sell about the Hotel Capri ... free wi-fi in the lobby area. If you are bringing a laptop, be warned the in-room safe is very small and will only fit one of the new web-book type laptops with a 10" screen or smaller. My Acer Aspire One barely fit. Do remember though if your mobile phone has wi-fi (like the iPhone/N95) you can surf the 'net that way. http://m.rte.ie great for home news.

On comments about the air conditioning .. the only way to turn it off is open the window. Not so bad for rooms facing the pool which are quieter but not good for rooms facing the road. Be warned, all the triple and quad rooms face the road which is quite busy right up to 3am. Rooms facing the pool are only doubles.

Finally on food, haven't eaten here so I can't really comment ... but I will say this, reading the menu looked vile. Tried the breakfast the first morning and yeuk. However there are sooooo many places to eat out you have endless choice. Closest is right across the road "Da Franco" pizza which is always busy with great pizza'n'beer and was good, cheap and tasty! Nicest coffee and nicest staff in all of Sorrento by far was Bar del Carmine right on main square Tasso beside the church. Also tried TripAdvisor recommendation of Da Giginos and it was fantastic. Pity we left it to the last night to eat there! It was the best value and by far the nicest food.

Would I come to the Hotel Capri again? Not a chance ... but for a quick cheap week in the sun the Capri served it's purpose.

  • Liked — Clean and cheap!
  • Disliked — No control over the AirConditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dust2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

Clean hotel with simple good rooms. If possible you should try to book a room towards the poolarea as they have a balcony. Rooms on the otherside face the street and are noisy.
And then we have the food...which is edible but not very tasty. Breakfast is left out for 2½ hours which means that things that should be refridgerated becomes quite disgusting. Coffee is appaling by swedish standard and swedes drink a lot of coffee.
The best advice is to buy a sandwich/focciacia with mozzarella down the main street, which will keep you full a lot longer. As for the dinner there are lots of good restaurants in Sorrento which will serve you genuine italian food. It's quite expensive but it's worth it.

The staff is friendly and helpfull though with some exceptions. There is especially one guy with a very high pitch voice that could scare you. =)

  • Liked — The shower caps
  • Disliked — The hotel food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

If you are considering this hotel - think twice!
Food is really, really dreadful: breakfast consists of damp cereal, horrible concentrated fruit "juice" and stale bread. Oh, and a few slices of sweaty, tasteless cheese and fatty ham if you're lucky.
When we were served with "mashed potato" one night, my pal asked why it tasted like powdered mash. Waiter replied that: yes, it was powdered mash but "thats' what you eat in England"
Dinner Options: some sort of cheap pasta, a slab of tasteless turkey with salty sauce, and dry "cake" for dessert.... Mmmm, yummy!
The pool is v.small with limited sunbeds. 2 people in pool = packed
Very close to a busy main road in centre of Sorrento: constant noise from scooters & people until 3am every night.
Staff - rude, ignorant (especially the waiters)
Not a typical Italian hotel - run by a miserable family whose 1st priority is their own hospitality. Guests are insignificant and made to feel like a low priority.
Our toilet seat fell off on the 1st night, we asked for it be fixed - 3 times, then gave up.
This was my 7th visit to S.Italy - and definately the worst italian hotel I've ever stayed in. If you want a noisy,unfriendly hotel with dreadful food - stay at the Hotel Capri!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank lynnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

Stayed in Hotel Capri for one week in July and were a bit concerned having read some reviews. However we really enjoyed our week. It has a wonderful location - walking distance (5 minutes) to central Sorrento compared with others in hotels which provided a handful of shuttle buses a day. The hotel was very clean, chambermaids very friendly and the pool was small but adequate for cooling down after a hot day. Didn't eat any of the food as we like to wander around and find different restaurants. Italian food is so wonderful - why would we want to eat in the hotel every night??? Could only book as half board but seeing as it was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area we felt that was fine. Would recommend it as a clean 3* hotel in a great location. We would happily stay there again.

If you feel like a night in the local area there's a great pub the Banana Split just up the road and a small pizza restaurant "Master Hosts" beside it which serves the best pizza ever!!! The Italians were constantly getting take out from it - a very good sign.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishGalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

We got a late package deal and had to take a half-board option. We were very hesistant about this and our fears turned into reality when we arrived at the hotel and were told that the food was being served immediately. On the menu were the standard Italian selections and everything was reasonable until the main course came out. We were presented with a weird meat-like substance that was allegedly pork and accompanied with SMASH!? I didn't even know they still made that stuff! Hasten to add we left the food and avoided the dinner option from there on in. The rooms were clean and basic. Unfortunately the doors had to be banged close when leaving which caused problems early in the morning. Also we were given a roadside room which was very noisy early in the morning as well but we were already awake from the door banging so it wasn't a problem! The towels we were given were clean and changed daily but they were very old and rough.

The good side was the location right in the town centre. However I would ask for a pool-side room which I think they charge extra for. All in all a bargain hotel but avoid the food there and use the money to get the good room or a better hotel...

  • Liked — Location, price
  • Disliked — Food and noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

The Capri Hotel may not quite merit 3* status by Irish standards, but our experience was generally very good. The food is really good, particularly the fish and extensive salads, and the service is excellent from the hard-working, pleasant and humorous staff.

The pool is perhaps better described as a large pond! No chance of an Olympic lap..!

The hotel is family owned and it seems they live on site, but unfortunately, rarely interact with the guests and are quite autocratic - if not rude! - when speaking with the staff.

During our week 2 couples of our acquaintance were without water in their rooms for 4 days - no apology nor compensation were offered! They had to buy their own water for teeth brushing etc. - a complimentary bottle of wine and a few words of apology would have made a world of difference - especially in terms of PR!

The location is very good - short walk to buses, trains and main Piazza. However, it's a major heart-pounding trek to the tiny beach or to the pier..!

The hotel is very clean and the chambermaids are most meticulous, conscientious and helpful.

Kevin and Eileen, Limerick, Ireland.

  • Liked — The Staff - not the owner management, though! The food too.
  • Disliked — The attitude of the owners to the guests and to the staff, especially.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinandEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing