We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly Hotel”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #51 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Got back from Hotel Capri on Monday 19th May. Booked through Thomsons. Very nice hotel, very clean, breakfast choices very good, yoghurt, fruit, pastries, rolls/bread, sausages, scrambled eggs and boiled eggs (which could have been a bit hotter!) Good swimming pool and sitting out area. Central location made it handy for shops and restuarants. Only downfall was the room allocated! Whilst the room was incredibly comfortable the room overlooked the one way system! The room was hot and stuffy due to no air con and we either had to suffocate with the window closed or have sleepless nights with windows open to get some air! After a couple of nights did manage to change rooms to a back side room which was excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly. Make sure you book a room at the back and maybe June when the air con is switched on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 69Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

thanks for you comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

On Monday we returned from a week at the Hotel Capri and we were really glad we chose it for many reasons. The location is excellent, just a short walk from the train and bus station and from the main square. The décor is modern and very attractive, the staff were welcoming and very helpful. We had a bedroom on the 2nd floor at the back and this had a small balcony which overlooked the pool and garden and also had views of the area. This was kept spotlessly clean, as was the whole hotel. Bedroom are quite small but as people are likely to be out of them most of the day, this was not a problem. The bed was comfortable and there were spare pillows and duvets should the existing bedding not be sufficient. Towels in the bathroom are changed daily and shower gell and shower caps are supplied. Breakfast is very good : fresh fruit, yoghurt, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, a range of breads and pastries, cheese, cold meat, fruit juice, tea, coffee. The situation of the hotel means it is very easy to walk down to the bus and train station to get to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum by train or along the stunningly beautiful Amalfi coast by bus. The ferry port is only about 15- 20 mins walk away. Sorrento is full of good restaurants, little shops and lovely walks and all are easily accessible from the hotel. The staff at reception are very happy to suggest restaurants or to give directions to wherever guests may want to go to. The Tuesday market ( opposite direction to the main square ) is worth a visit, not so much for what is on sale but for being part of something popular with local people. A map from reception ensured we found it easily. We loved Sorrento and will definitely be back and will definitely book to stay at the Hotel Capri on our next visit.

Room Tip: Room on the 2nd floor at the back are quiet and have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

thank you for you comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

my wife and myself where in Sorrento for our son's wedding. from are arrival the staff made us very welcome and without doubt are the hotels greatest asset.
the hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, the décor modern and pleasant to the eye.
its central location was one of the prime reasons for our selection and this proved invaluable to our enjoyment.
would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: our room was located in the front of hotel and could be quite noisy, particularly when Napoli win. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jim871113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

thanks for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a holiday my husband and I took accompanied by our 2 x sons who are in their twenties and we all had a wonderful time...............if in our own different ways!!

This Beautiful hotel with subtle designs and decoration is kept immaculately clean by a highly dedicated housekeeping staff.
The pool area is picturesque, intimate and again kept very clean and tidy. It is surrounded by lemon trees.
Location is perfect. Close enough to the main square where you will find all the shops and restaurants.
Breakfast was excellent. So much choice, and the staff make every breakfast a relaxed and enjoyable experience.

Speaking of the staff..........
Whatever they are being paid it just isn't enough! They really made our holiday perfection.
Toni, Laura, Carmen and Veronica particularly were helpful, welcoming, professional and so very friendly. Laura particularly was a joy. They all work so hard and are lovely people. Nothing is too much trouble.
Toni was a character behind the bar. We miss him.
My family and I cannot speak highly enough of them



Sorrento itself is beautiful and the surrounding area has many interesting sights worth seeing. We combined some lovely relaxation with some Thomson excursions. They were excellent value.

We found some great restaurants, the best being "Café Latino". Give it a go and you won't be disappointed.

We will be returning next year. I can't recommend Hotel Capri enough.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room over the beautiful pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

thank you for you comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel and resort for my 50th Birthday, and I can safely say that it was a most excellent choice (even if I do say so myself!).

Firstly, full credit to the wonderfully helpful and friendly staff, they really did make us feel so welcome, from the minute we arrived right up to departure.

The location was perfect for us, merely five minutes (or less) from the main strip that leads you into the myriad of streets, side-streets, shops and restaurants where you'll want to spend a lot of your time - and money! Look out for the street our Thompson rep names 'leather and lemons' (you'll soon see why, nothing naughty!), it's amazing!

There is some traffic noise - you know how the Italians like riding their scooters! - but it didn't bother us much as we were out and about most of the time.

We also found that we had ready access to Naples, Pompeii, Capri, the open-top bus tour and much more, all via the very handy bus/rail station (two minutes walk!), or nearby ferry point.

The hotel interiors are really lovely, very light and cool with classy, understated decor - you'd almost think you were in the lobby of the Beverly Hills Hilton (we stayed there in 2007).

Rooms are very clean (serviced each day) and the beds are comfortable (not always the case on holiday, is it?) - the bathroom was really all you could ask for (full-size bath and shower, good lighting, towels changed daily). Our sole gripe - and a very minor one at that - was that the centrally-controlled air-con wasn't on yet (well, it is early season).

The breakfast suited us fine; good selection of continental foods, an ample range of drinks, freshly baked breads, and some hot items every day for those craving the bacon/scrambled eggs/sausages thingy.

Pool area is clean, modern and, important to us, fairly quiet - a good place to sit and read or take a cheeky nap after a busy afternoon out.

Special mention to the lovely lady on reception who gave us a fantastic restaurant recommendation for the night of my 50th Birthday - absolutely the best dining event of the week, at 'Donna Sofia's' (a real find, a literal shrine to Sofia Lauren, with brilliant seafood creations and stellar service) .

We'll be going back to Sorrento as soon as we can - and we'll certainly be using this hotel again.

Well done to all the staff at the Hotel Capri!

Mr and Mrs Gibson.

Room Tip: Maybe opt for a room with a view of the pool, less traffic noise, if that bothers you?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dracgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

thanks for your comment and see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This Hotel is absolutely amazing, Staff are nice, friendly and helpful, you can even have some banter with them, Food was pretty decent, rooms detailed and bright, not massive but it's meant for 2 people. Will definitely go back here, recommend to all! Not far from everything you need, i.e. the square.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

I'm happy that you had a great holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Finding where to start is the only downside to my stay at Hotel Capri.

Ill start with the Staff, Veronica, Laura, Carmen, Teresa, Carlo and Tonino. Every single staff member really went out of their way to make our stay wonderful, friendly, extremely informative, patient with our poor Italian, eager to help us learn a few phrases, on hand to recommend amazing restaurants and even booking them in advance for us. Extremely well dressed all the time, not a hair or shirt out of place which really matched the ethos of the hotel which to me is just perfect.

The hotel is exactly as the images show, they are very up to date images showing the beautiful lobby and communal areas, the beautiful gardens, small but very adequate pool, the balcony room upgrade is a must as it overlooks the lovely gardens and the Lemon groves next door. The rooms on the balcony side are small but perfectly formed with a lovely hot shower and plenty of wardrobe space. The full length mirrors and the huge mirror above the dressing table were perfect for getting ready in the evenings and we had the benefit of the balcony doors and a second window (room 109) so lots of natural light.

Breakfast is brilliant with a huge variety, hot eggs, bacon and sausages (obviously not as it is in England but none the less a lovely hot breakfast). Cold meats, cheeses, 6/7 different fruits, yoghurts, 5/6 different breads, cereals, coffee and tea along with the standard sweeter options like croissants and brioche. Served in a beautiful annexe with floor to ceiling windows overlooking the pool.

Its right at one end of Corso Italia with plenty cafes, bars and restaurants just a short walk away, 5 minute walk to Piazza Tasso, 15 minutes to Marina Piccolo and around 25 minutes to Marina Grande. Just a few minutes from the Circumvesuviana where you can pick up the Naples train to take you to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Ercolano.

Don't bother with expensive excursions do some research on the Campania Artecard and do it yourself, you see so much more of what Sorrento and its nearby towns are about and save yourself fortunes. The transport links are extremely easy to follow, just take the purple line to all your chosen points of interest - and Veronica will be more than happy to help you!

Worth every penny and more, spotlessly clean and the friendliest place I have ever stayed.

Cannot wait to visit again, hopefully in the next few months!

Thanks for a wonderful wonderful stay Rachel & Mike x

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are a must, perfect for sitting out before dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

thanks for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#68 of 100 in Sorrento
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Sorrento
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £82 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing