We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place for the discerning traveller!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #44 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place for the discerning traveller!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A wonderful friendly and helpful staff to help make your holiday a great one. It is a small hotel with understated chic decor. Everywhere is clean and well maintained. Although central, the hotel is quiet and you can sleep easily! The station is only a few minutes walk.
At breakfast, you get the best cup of coffee!
We were made so welcome and greatly added to our holiday. I would book again

Room Tip: choose pool facing rooms with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
thanks for comment and I'll wait you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    185
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
88
322
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday in Sorrento, staying at Hotel Capri, a town centre hotel booked with Thomson's a week before travelling. The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was adequate.
We were allocated Room 121 a first floor room best described as a 'broom cupboard'. The dimensions being a little more than the size of the double bed. The room had a single, inbuilt wardrobe at the foot of the bed, with two small drawers and a safe in the base. These were the only drawers in the room. There was no fridge (not that there would be any space for one). The double glazed window unit was damaged which was a blessing, as it looked onto a shed roof and untidy area used for dumping garden equipment etc. Not really the view we had in mind for our Sorrento holiday.
The bathroom was adequate but looked very tired.
Before unpacking we went to the reception to ask about being relocated, we were told this wasn't possible until the next morning (Sat), when the main receptionist came on duty - as she allocated the rooms. The next morning we said we were unhappy with our room, we were told that room 121 was a 'standard room' and also that we booked late. The attitude seemed to be 'what do you expect if you book late'. We were, however relocated on Monday, when another 'standard room' became available, strange that this 'standard room' was far superior in all aspects.
We later learned, another couple had complained about room 121 and they also had been moved to another room.
The day we were leaving we were given a key to the Curtesy Room, guess what, room 121, why were we not surprised!

Room Tip: Make sure you are not given the courtesy room 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4Amigos2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Google Translation
La ringrazioper il suo commento ma volevo dirle che la stanza 121 non è uno stanzino e se la camera è stata utilizzata come courtesy room è perchè era l'unica camera che sarebbe arrivata di sera, altrimenti non avremmo potuto mettere a diposizione, per i clienti che avevano il pick up di pomeriggio, una camera per rinfrescarsi prima della parteza. Mi dispiace per l'inconveniente e mi auguro di porterla annoverare ancora un avoltra tra i nostri ospiti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a very central location within in 300 meter walk into sorrento. A small hotel with a smart and comfortable bar/ lounge area.The pool area is clean but rather compact. The grassed terrace needed attendance but once we told the staff the the maintenance workers were deployed. Breakfast was fine - continental/ and sort of English (scrambled, boiled eggs , warmed ham that passes for bacon and warmed frankfurter sausages. There seemed to be limited cooking facilities/no chef on site. Limited rooms facing the pool with balcony other than that- no balcony and on a busy road which we had unfortunately. Rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. The best asset the Capri has to offer is its very friendly and welcoming staff of which there are only a few! Breakfast waiter/waitress were very efficient, pool bar staff were very friendly and chatty, cleaners are hard working. But by far the best asset the Capri had to offer is VERONICA!! Probably one of the youngest but most welcoming receptionists I have ever encountered. She responds to her guests with a warmth of professionalism, maturity and unique humour! !
I think this young lady is destined for a bright future in the hospitality industry- an asset to any business.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiemiles66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
thank you so much and I hope see you again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited Sorrento in May of this year and stayed at Hotel Capri. It was literally a few minutes from the centre of Sorrento which was great. The hotel only serves breakfast, and doesn't offer dinner, which is a real shame because the dining room is lovely and could quite easily cope with dinner. The food was very good and the service the same. There was a waiter who was on every day we were there who had an extremely high pitched voice and was a little bit OCD - there were dishes and dishes of cakes, rolls etc and whenever anybody took anything from the dishes he would whisk them away and replace what had been removed. However,he was a lovely man and we couldn't fault the service.

All of the staff were helpful and went out of their way to help where they could. I dropped and broke my foundation bottle and the receptionist advised me where to go to replace it and how much it should cost. She was spot on.

Our room was very comfortable. Our only complaint would be that the air con wasn't on - because we went in May, this is still the cold season for the Italians, even though the temperature was between 27 and 30 most days. We found it very hot but they were walking round in jackets, scarves and hats!

We had a Thompson guide available in our hotel most evenings and booked some of our trips through him. The walk about round Sorrento on the first morning is a must. You get your bearings and are taken to some lovely restaurants and places you probably wouldn't visit otherwise. We decided to book to go on a mini busy trip round the Amalfi Coast which was beautiful and although a bit expensive, very worthwhile. Being in the mini bus was much better than being high up in a full size coach - it's very hairy driving along the mountain roads and didn't seem so bad in the mini bus.

We took a guided tour to Capri and also to Vesuvius. We had heard so much about Capri and were quite disappointed when we got there. It is so commercialised and May isn't the busy season, so would hate to be there later in the year. It really is very pretty, but very expensive. Our guide did take us to a lovely restaurant for lunch though and got us a special deal.

The trip to Vesuvius was amazing. Went on a mini bus to the bottom of the volcano and then transferred to an ex army vehicle which was huge and had no suspension - all part of the experience. It takes you so far up and then it's on foot. Very high, very hot and very worth it!

We were walking above the clouds a lot of the time, which suited me as I'm not good with heights, but when we got to the summit it was as clear as a bell around the crater. Included in this trip was lunch at a vineyard. Four or five courses with wine at every course. You can't really describe what the volcano is like, you have to go.

We decided to do Pompeii and Herculaneium on our own. The train service is very good and cheap, so we had no worries about getting there. Interesting to, as buskers get on and off so there's entertainment.

I preferred Pompeii, my partner liked Herculaneium. Both have their merits. One word of advice though - if you do decide to visit either of them, go on a cool day! There's a lot of walking and in the heat it can be uncomfortable. Again, it's hard to describe what it's like seeing these two places and trying to imagine what it was like to live there. Well worth a visit.

When we went out to dinner on Friday night we thought it was busy in the town. It was full of families, children, parents, grandparents. Then we discovered on Friday and Saturday nights they shut the main roads in the town and this is family time. They all come out and have great fun, without the worry of traffic. It was an amazing thing to see and maybe other countries should follow suit.

Lots to do in Sorrento, lovely places to eat and very friendly people. We didn't find it too expensive to eat out and found that most places give big portions.

Would definitely go back and would stay at hotel Capri.

Room Tip: if you are at the back of the hotel the church bells ring every morning at 7 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
thans for your experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

First ever trip to Italy - wife really keen to visit Sorrento, so that settled things! Excellent flight followed by unexpectedly long coach transfer - down to unexpected roadworks - certainly no-one's fault. From the outside, on the busy Corso Italia road, the hotel is not much to look at, but moving inside is similar to entering Dr Who's Tardis. Immaculately clean and comfortable reception area, with charming smiling reception staff, with a perfect command of English. Room perfectly adequate, if a little short on shelf-space, equipped with mini-bar at going rate prices, replenished every day and pleasant if small balcony overlooking a pleasant if small pool area. Room cleaned every day by smiling room staff. Pool open from nine until six, with poolside bar effciently staffed at all times. Extremely extensive breakfast menu - too hot for full English, but an overwhelming variety of fruits, charcuterie, cereals and, of all things, cakes!! Did nothing for the waistline, but tasted succelent. Here, as everywhere else, cheerful and efficient service. Hotel excellently situated, probably a five minute at most stroll to the Plazza Tasso in the town square, where one can benefit from a plethora of bars and restaurants, street markets, street performers etc. Small grouse concerned the selfishness of certain hotel guests (British I fear), regarding reserving of the limited number of poolside sunbeds and then disappearing for several hours - hardly the fault of the hotel, but moral high ground has been surrendered here. All in all a perfect week's getaway, with pick-up points for the many local excursions conveniently close. Would not recommend the place if you like beach holidays, but if you like to sit at a table in a bar or cafe and watch the world go by in happy surroundings, this is certainly a place to consider seriously. We will certainly be returning, probably next year.

Room Tip: All rooms pleasant. Room 218, the suite, which one of the maids allowed us to snoop at one morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duc161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
thanks for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and wear
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Capri in a garden view room during July and found it to be an ideal location just a 5 minute stroll to the Piazza Tasso and all the amenities. Room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The entire staff were brilliant, friendly , helpful and charming and made our 2 week stay a very pleasant one, full marks on that score. Breakfast room was well run by Tony and quite a decent selection. Wifi access was free and worked very well in lounge area.The hotel is non smoking which suits us but unfortunately the pool area was often a smoke hazard zone as were the balconies which made sitting outside sometimes uncomfortable. Pity it was not non smoking throughout, hopefully soon it might be. Apart from that small gripe a very good and well run, friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a garden view with balcony it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnDoeTyneandwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
thank you for experience on tripadvisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We loved this hotel and would recommend it to our friends and family. It is very well appointed, a short walk from the centre (10-15 mins depending on your pace) and literally minutes from the train station, and the stop where we caught the bus for the Amalfi coast.
You get the warmest of welcomes from each and every member of staff who are naturally cheerful and extremely helpful. There are only 39 rooms but the reception and bar area (probably the dining room as well) give the impression of a larger hotel, the decor is very well chosen and the hotel looks lovely. The whole of the hotel, including the rooms are kept very clean.
We were delighted with the breakfast and thought the hotel catered extremely well for all tastes
The pool area is very nice, not huge (but you are in a city), unfortunately the seemingly age-old problem of people reserving sun beds with towels is still apparent - definitely a bit naughty, especially if you are unsure as to whether you will be using it all day! (some sun beds had towels on them from before 9am and we never did see anyone come to claim them up until 4pm!) It's a difficult one, we've been to hotels (in Dubrovnik) where there is a lifeguard employed (no need for one at the Capri) but his sideline was removing towels from sun beds after one hour. It wasn't a problem during our first week but sadly it was during the second week. You just have to hope people play fair. On the plus side, the hotel do supply towels for use around the pool so you can save on your luggage allowance.
We did 3 trips - Capri (on the hydrofoil from the port at 70 euros for the 2 of us) then you can get transport from the port at Capri up to the top (where the posh shops are) or walk. We walked. It was a long steep walk so make your decision based on that! If you get a little travel sick you may want to take your usual remedy before getting on the hydrofoil (crew were handing out sick bags…)
Pompeii - easy peasy from the Hotel Capri as the train station is a stone's throw away and stops at Pompeii (return tickets were very reasonable - under ten euros for the 2 of us, probably around 6 or 7)
Amalfi coast bus ride - again easy peasy as we caught the Sita bus just opposite the train station (again think about motion sickness as it's very twisty) - under 7 euros for the 2 of us for tickets valid for 24 hours so you can get on/off etc at Positano, Amalfi etc

We had a marvellous stay and would highly recommend the hotel, the staff and all their efforts to ensure you have a great time - wonderful :)

Room Tip: We had a room at the front and were happy to have made the decision not to pay the extra for the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martine97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teresa l, Responsabile reception at Hotel Capri, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
thanks for your comment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#51 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Conca Park Hotel
Conca Park Hotel
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing