We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't listen to the bad reviews!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #46 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the bad reviews!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

After booking the Hotel Capri and reading the reviews I was quite worried about what I would find. All I kept reading about was awful food, rude staff, noisy rooms etc. But I can honestly say I was pleasantly surprised.
The staff were lovely, the two waiters in the restaurant were always polite to us and very friendly. The food was anything but terrible, I did not have one meal that I didn't enjoy, and I am a very picky eater. There is something on the menu that would suit any taste. We ate in the hotel restaurant almost every night, and I can't really complain about anything. The breakfast is simple, toast, croissants, cereals etc but it's just enough in my opinion. Don't expect anything like a big fry up, the italians do not eat this the way we do at home.
The rooms were fine, slightly noisy if you are facing the road but nothing that would keep you awake at night. The room was spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. The only fault I would have with the rooms is that there was no air conditioning, this is only in operation from june until september. Also the safe deposit box was not attatched to anything in the room.
The pool area was perfect, I had read that many people thought it was too small, and alright, you wouldn't exactly be doing laps in it but it's great for a quick swim. While I was there it was fairly quiet so most of the time we had the pool to ourselves anyways. It is also spotlessly clean as is the whole pool area.
The hotel is situated right in the centre of the town so it is perfect for going out, there's no need to take a bus or taxi anywhere. Buses for day trips arrive just down the street a few yards so it's perfect.
All I can say is don't take notice of the bad reviews, I have stayed in plenty of horrendous hotels myself but I can assure you that this is definitely not one of them.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strawberry_etoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    188
    51
    36
    10
See reviews for
89
325
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

Arrived on a Saturday and stayed in a front facing room for the first night. Without asking we were moved to a back room over looking the pool for the rest of our holiday which was a lot better. The hotel is clean and the staff very helpful and friendly always offering advise on where to go when and what to do. Aniello (waiter in restaurant) was fab in helping us decide what we were going to do each day. The food is fine. You need to go not expecting cooked breakfast and steak every day as you would expect in England. They offer typical Italian food and a basic local breakfast - ham, cheese, bread, yogurt. Dinners consisted of mainly fish with a pasta / soup first course, which was always enjoyable. Sorrento itself is very busy, a bit too busy, but still very enjoyable. There is a pizza place just over the road from the hotel which is excellent at lunch time. Be warned about Capri - it cost us a small fortune. There are slower boats that go across the water that cost considerably less that the more regular fast ones. There is a boat trip from the port at Capri to see the 'Blue Grotto', what we didn't know what that you had to pay for the boat to take you there and then pay again for another rowing boat to take you into the Grotto - it was good, but not worth the money that we paid. It's also worth noting that you have to get out of the first boat, into a rowing boat in the middle of the sea!! Excellent shopping but make sure that you go up to the main town on the cable cars.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbell01_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2008

We stayed at the capri in the first 2 weeks of August as many people have pointed out the food is a thing to miss especialy the vegetable salad course in the evening , we had a room facing the road but had to leave the doors ajar as to turn off the air conditioning during the night, we could have either had it turned on or off during our stay by the reception but not when we wanted.
Our main problem with this hotel was water, our room was on the second floor and in the evening a lot of the guests wanted to shower before the evening meal, this caused our floor on numerous occasions to be left without water therefore no shower,toilet or basin.
We also had an army of ants in the room, the area at the back of the hotel was daily treated for ants but not the front of the hotel where these ants were crawling up and down the building.
The location of the hotel is good as it is near to the railway station and coaches for organised trips.
The staff were polite and helpful
We had 2 gala dinners that were served over a 2.5 hour period the main thing here was to sell drinks, the entertainment was a lady playing and singing the same things on both gala dinner nights.
Another thing to avoid is the saftey deposit box in the rooms ours was not fixed to anything and could be carried out with its contents, we were told that all rooms were the same.
This hotel is fine if you want a cheap base to stay while out enjoying the sights and delights of Sorrento.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food and Lack of Water
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaracatLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

From 29th aug to 12th sept 2008 we had our first holiday in Italy.The Hotel Capri in Sorrento was fantastic!This is a family owned hotel with fantastic staff and rooms.Restaurant staff were Antonino,Aniello, Sylvia and night porter,Carlo were all friendly helpful and very warm and welcoming.Carlo helped when we weren't sure how to get somewhere and had a wealth of knowledge about his country.The restaurant staff were entertaining,friendly and helpful in every way and are extremely hardworking-we could not have asked for more.This hotel is 3 star,but gives 5 star service!!The rooms have full air conditioning and we booked a room with a small balcony overlooking the pool.Food was excellent and cooked to perfection, with plenty of choice including vegetarian options.The housekeeping staff were also very friendly and welcoming, changed beds and towels every two days, and the rooms were kept immaculately clean.
There were 2 nights we had a gala dinner,all the tables were put outside, around the pool and a singer was brought in to entertain us.The owners children were also very entertaining,singing and dancing to the music.This hotel was fantastic for us and the staff couldn't have made our stay any better!I left with tears in my eyes as i didnt want to come home it was such an enjoyable hotel,resort and country.Italian people are so friendly,welcoming and warm.Hotel was close to all amenities,shops,local buses,trains and hydrofoil-very central.I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Sorrento and will return one day hopefully in the not too distant future!!

  • Liked — location and excellent staff
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gloriascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed at the Capri last week in August 2008 and generally most of the reports here on Trip Advisor are quite accurate.

Regarding the negative comments made, the Capri is very cheap holiday accommodation. Our trip was last minute. We booked Monday arrived Friday and the entire package holiday was cheaper than the cost of flight only to Naples with Aer Lingus. What I'm saying is you get what you pay for.

On the plus side, it is a nice quiet hotel superbly located, it is spotlessly clean and the staff are friendly enough. The pool is small so it's not for swimming more dipping in. It's lovely a quiet pool though and the sunbeds are really good quality.

It appears to be mainly Irish/ English staying and the average age is maybe 40+. Well I'm 40 and most others look older than me <grin> If you are travelling with Sunway from Ireland, they have a fantastic rep in Sorrento. English lady called Jill who married an Italian and has been living there for years. There is no big sell on tours and she meets everyone for a walk around the town to get your bearings on Saturday mornings. Fair play to her.

One thing they don't really sell about the Hotel Capri ... free wi-fi in the lobby area. If you are bringing a laptop, be warned the in-room safe is very small and will only fit one of the new web-book type laptops with a 10" screen or smaller. My Acer Aspire One barely fit. Do remember though if your mobile phone has wi-fi (like the iPhone/N95) you can surf the 'net that way. http://m.rte.ie great for home news.

On comments about the air conditioning .. the only way to turn it off is open the window. Not so bad for rooms facing the pool which are quieter but not good for rooms facing the road. Be warned, all the triple and quad rooms face the road which is quite busy right up to 3am. Rooms facing the pool are only doubles.

Finally on food, haven't eaten here so I can't really comment ... but I will say this, reading the menu looked vile. Tried the breakfast the first morning and yeuk. However there are sooooo many places to eat out you have endless choice. Closest is right across the road "Da Franco" pizza which is always busy with great pizza'n'beer and was good, cheap and tasty! Nicest coffee and nicest staff in all of Sorrento by far was Bar del Carmine right on main square Tasso beside the church. Also tried TripAdvisor recommendation of Da Giginos and it was fantastic. Pity we left it to the last night to eat there! It was the best value and by far the nicest food.

Would I come to the Hotel Capri again? Not a chance ... but for a quick cheap week in the sun the Capri served it's purpose.

  • Liked — Clean and cheap!
  • Disliked — No control over the AirConditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dust2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

Clean hotel with simple good rooms. If possible you should try to book a room towards the poolarea as they have a balcony. Rooms on the otherside face the street and are noisy.
And then we have the food...which is edible but not very tasty. Breakfast is left out for 2½ hours which means that things that should be refridgerated becomes quite disgusting. Coffee is appaling by swedish standard and swedes drink a lot of coffee.
The best advice is to buy a sandwich/focciacia with mozzarella down the main street, which will keep you full a lot longer. As for the dinner there are lots of good restaurants in Sorrento which will serve you genuine italian food. It's quite expensive but it's worth it.

The staff is friendly and helpfull though with some exceptions. There is especially one guy with a very high pitch voice that could scare you. =)

  • Liked — The shower caps
  • Disliked — The hotel food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2008

If you are considering this hotel - think twice!
Food is really, really dreadful: breakfast consists of damp cereal, horrible concentrated fruit "juice" and stale bread. Oh, and a few slices of sweaty, tasteless cheese and fatty ham if you're lucky.
When we were served with "mashed potato" one night, my pal asked why it tasted like powdered mash. Waiter replied that: yes, it was powdered mash but "thats' what you eat in England"
Dinner Options: some sort of cheap pasta, a slab of tasteless turkey with salty sauce, and dry "cake" for dessert.... Mmmm, yummy!
The pool is v.small with limited sunbeds. 2 people in pool = packed
Very close to a busy main road in centre of Sorrento: constant noise from scooters & people until 3am every night.
Staff - rude, ignorant (especially the waiters)
Not a typical Italian hotel - run by a miserable family whose 1st priority is their own hospitality. Guests are insignificant and made to feel like a low priority.
Our toilet seat fell off on the 1st night, we asked for it be fixed - 3 times, then gave up.
This was my 7th visit to S.Italy - and definately the worst italian hotel I've ever stayed in. If you want a noisy,unfriendly hotel with dreadful food - stay at the Hotel Capri!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank lynnymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#28 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,846 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing