We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it's 3* rating, great location, value, service & good food too!”
Review of Hotel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Capri
Ranked #48 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than it's 3* rating, great location, value, service & good food too!”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We went to Hotel Capri on a last minute discounted holiday but a little apprehensive going to a small 3* hotel. However, we were delighted with the hotel. It's a small family run operation. The rooms appear to have ben renovated in recent years and are comfortable, although somewhat small. On the plus side there was aircon & we were lucky to also have a small balcony overlooking the swimming pool & adjoining lemongrove. Location is excellent at only 5 mins stroll to the town centre with plenty shops, restaurants etc. Hotel has bright dining room. We went half board. Breakfast basic enough 'continental' but better than many we've experienced in Italy. Dinner typical Italian, plenty of past & fish dishes & good choices. The dining room is staffed by two relatively senior waiters who provide excellent & friendly service. Again not uncommon in Italy, they required dinner to be ordered at breakfast time!. No residents bar, so not a hotel for 'sitting in' or socialising. Pool small but nice, with drinks/food service. Highlight of our week was a surprise 'gala poolside dinner' for all guests, great atmosphere & music provided too!. In short, go there unless you really want a posh hotel!.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMaxDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    205
    57
    36
    13
See reviews for
94
350
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool.u.k
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Our stay at the capri ,was pleasant ,breakfast was ok , rooms were fine ,and the towels were hard ,but overlooking that , the staff were friendly ,and the hotel was in the best place possible ,close to the shops ,which was the main part of our getaway ,
we ate out most nights ,to see and feel more of the sorrento life ,and had a fab time ,would use this hotel again , good trip had by myself and my mum ,

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackieforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Stayed here the last week of May. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast provided, 'though dinner could be either very bad or very good. Great location, close to the bus/rail station and the pick up point for the tour buses. On May 26, I asked for the air conditioning to be turned on, only to be informed that they do not turn it on until June 1st. I would have thought that the temperature and not the date, should be the deciding factor, not so. Another thing to be aware of, is that the room safe is not fixed to anything. One could just simply pick it up and take it away. Overall a pleasant, clean, basic hotel in the centre of Sorrento.Very good value and a good base from which to explore Campania.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcusDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We enjoyed our stay in very comfortable, clean surroundings. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the pool and it was very pleasant and quiet during the night. The food was good on the whole. We did not like the cold vegetables but of course we were in Italy, not the UK. The waiters were very obliging and offered to put them in the microwave. We found that the hotel was in a very convenient location, being very close to the coach park, the railway and shops.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LankySeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter Devon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Hotel Capri stayed here for one week Good service small pool.Busy area please watch out for traffic and the sun v hot cover up The hotel was cosy we felt at home.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caron028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin. ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

we have stayed here several times over the past few years . it is a very well run small and truly italian hotel. clean comfortable charming and real value for money.all the staff are good but the two waiters ~signor angelli and tonino are exceptional. if you like genuine italian food this is the hotel for you.the gala night around the pool is great fun. i notice that some british reviewers ~although not all~seem to expect english food etc. but take their holidays in italy instead of staying in the british isles.how very strange.i advise people considering the hotel capri to view the movie avanti starring jack lemon and juliet mills in order to gain a flavour of beautiful italian hotel life. go and enjoy the craic ~viva italia.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank draculaisfromdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Look no further than Hotel Capri for your stay in Sorrento, not just for the obvious reasons of price and location but for the other secret charms of this hotel modestly not advertised.
The tiled air conditioned rooms are cleaned to an exceptionally high standard... clean fresh towels replaced every day along with ample supplies of toiletries.
Do request a room with a balcony. This overlooks a small but equipped pool where sun loungers are plentiful. On exploration, this pool also boasts a mini Jacuzzi! A nice surprise:)
Beyond the pool is an elevated charming garden with tables surrounded by lime trees... perfect for an evening drink brought to you by courteous waiting staff with gentle music in the background.
A varied breakfast that caters for all tastes truly exceeded our expectations...Scrumptious!
The friendly, helpful non – intrusive staff added to the pleasure of staying at Hotel Capri.
Our only wish is we could stay another day..An Enchanting Hotel...Faultless.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppinsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#55 of 100 in Sorrento
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capri

Property: Hotel Capri
Address: Corso Italia 212 | Neapolitan Riviera, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Capri 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Capri Sorrento
Capri Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing