We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for boats to Ischia, Capri and Positano”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel il Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel il Faro
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location for boats to Ischia, Capri and Positano”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This wasn't my first choice hotel, but due to unforseen problems in Massa Lubrense, I ended up staying here for 4 nights and enjoyed my time here. The hotel staff and adjoining restaurant staff are friendly and make you welcome. The rooms are clean, but quite basic, however, the view from my room which overlooked the bay was very picturesque. There are a few restaurants in the vicinity and again, the waiting staff are very helpful and friendly. Each time I had a meal I had a complimentary starter of either a bruschetta or tomato/herb type pizza bread, so in the end, I never ordered a starter as it would have been too filling. At the end of a meal I was also always served a Lemoncello, which are quite delicious.

It was a very good location - just a very short walk to catch the boat for Ischia, Capri, Positano etc and when I went to Pompeii, I bought my bus and train ticket at the local gift/tabacco shop, just a few yards away and it couldn't have been easier. Also, I recommend bus and train travel as this really is the cheapest form of travel. I had a hire car, but after a few near misses, (Italian drivers really are the worst I've ever come across - especially girls on mopeds!!) I ended up leaving my car in a nearby garage and travelled by boat, bus or train as this really was the quickest and safest!

I did enjoy my stay here and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Probably level 4 harbour view rooms are the best as they appeared to have the larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynwbsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    123
    92
    51
    62
See reviews for
58
160
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Place is very clean and breakfast is good. the main drawback is that it is located at the bottom of the town, that means you either have to climb up to the town center or take the bus. For us we did not mind the walk at all. The ocean-view room has a good view of the harbor and the Mt. Vesuvius. It is not very quiet, but nor are most hotels in the center of the town. One complaint is the paid WiFi services, which has very weak signal unless you are in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cxcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nepean, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This place is a dump and I'd advise anyone to find another place to stay in Sorrento. We booked it last minute in Rome which was our first mistake and stayed 3 nights, Sep 6, 7, 8, 2011. The first room we were in was room 309; first clue it was bad was it wasn't even listed on the elevator information. The room was right next to the main road going between Marina Piccola and the town. When I asked about chaning rooms because of the noise, we were told traffic stopped after the 19:00 Capri ferries and there were no otehr rooms. The noise finally ceased about 23:59. The a/c ddin't work properly and asking the front desk about it was useless..the reply was it was on. The shower stall doors were digustingly full of mildew and the bedsheets had holes in them...my wife inssits there were bedbugs too. On our last day there we finally got moved to a room on the 5th floor. A bit better room, but the balcony was next to what seemed like a dry vent so their was lint all over the louvered doors...the deck furniture was filthy to sit on and even after cleaning it I sat on the chair with a towel under me. Breakfast was rolls, some processed ham and some other mystery meat, yogurt and some fresh fruit...coffee was made in a vending type machine. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. It's not worth the walk!

Room Tip: Folthy rooms, poor service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank terrymac1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sorrento hotels

Chico, CA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

First, a warning: this little hotel is at the bottom of the narrow, winding road that leads from the Piazza Tasso down to the water level, so virtually anything you want to do in Sorrento (except taking a ferry to Ischia or Capri) requires that you make your way back up the steep hill to town. You can take taxis or a bus, but it's easier to walk if you're in shape. Don't walk unless you're fit!

It's an old hotel, with nice if slightly disengaged people running it. The name means "The Lighthouse," but it's so far back in the corner of the bay that a boat would have to be 50 yards up on the shore before it saw a light. Breakfast was minimal. Coffee was fresh. We ate dinner there one night and it was, er, "edible." I was disappointed that most of the menu was filled with pasta despite the abundance of fresh seafood in town. The rooms are small, as you'd expect with such an old hotel. The place felt to me like a lot of old, small Italian hotels-- as though it were some aging dowager trying to look young by wearing modern clothes. If you want to visit the islands the ticket windows and the ferry terminal are just across a small piazza from the hotel, so it's very convenient for that. I might stay there again if Hotel Savoia were closed or full, but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with disabilities or for the elderly unless they plan to take taxis every time they go up or down the hill.

Room Tip: Who knows? It's a crapshoot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soggiorno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We had a nice time in this lovely little hotel. The rooms were simple but clean and tidy, which was all we required. The beds were all mainly compfy, and the food was of a reasonable standard. The Hotel was in an alright location, with te exception of the number of stairs into the town. Room Keeping was of a high standard, apart from a large plastic bag being left in the room. For a trip of schoolgirls, this hotel was ideal and I would very much like to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dream_boat_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Great management, great service, neat location. Also, very cool gelato guy right outside the hotel. We felt like they were glad we picked their hotel and it seemed to be a family run place. Highly recommended! Great food!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

A very pleasant outlook and being handy to the harbour did not compensate for the mouldy bathroom and rock hard bed! A fairly disappointmenting experience!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#54 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
1.0 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carlton International Hotel
Carlton International Hotel
#58 of 100 in Sorrento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel il Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Faro

Property: Hotel il Faro
Address: Marina Piccola, 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel il Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Faro Sorrento
Il Faro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing