We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel il Faro
Nearby Hotels
Grand Hotel Capodimonte(Sorrento)
US$492
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$475
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$567
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$458
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Royal(Sorrento)
US$549
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$914
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$723
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$414
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$505
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$491
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$514
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori(Sorrento)
US$1,000
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
115
154
108
63
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
115
154
108
63
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant attached to the hotelthe cliffferry portthe hotel staffbreakfast stafffifth floortown centrebudget hotelthe busevening mealyogurtpiazza tassosun terracemac and cheesesmall balconygelatomount vesuvius
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for our honeymoon, we had the sea view room & it was great to wake up to every morning! I would stay here again, the only thing that bothered us was that you can hear everything through the walls! ! When we stayed there were groups of school kids staying here as well..... very loud & no one was keeping them in line so we had to ask them multiple times to be quieter! Breakfast was good but not much of a variety.
Friendly staff that were eager to help us with our first time in Italy! ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindyLMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I spent this week on a school trip in Sorrento. There were 50 of us including teachers staying in the hotel and although it was comfortable and in a perfect location, the staff were often rude and rooms were poorly cleaned. It was luck as to how nice your room was but some had lovely balconies overlooking Vesuvius and the harbour. If you are looking for a cheap hotel and not wanting to spend much then this is a good hotel to choose. Also there are 130 steps up to the main part of sorrento which can get tiring.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImogenHalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_18151, Direttore at Hotel il Faro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Madam

We are more mind for your words, our hotel have a great location and also more peolpe said to us many thanks for your help & kindness( you can see the review our guest written).
In any case we hope to have another chance for show you the best of our Hotel.

Best regards
Pasquale Persico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great view from the balcon: shining sea, Mount Vezuvius at horizont! If you once wake up in Hotel il Faro, you will never forget... smell of the south!!! The best cappuccino in the morning and pleasant personnel is the good start of the day! You will never forget Sorrento! Il Faro will help you to feel like you're at home!!! Next time my choice will be again il Faro!!!

P.S. Il Faro has especially good staff in reception service!!! ;-)

Room Tip: Take the room with the sea view!!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

After taking a school group here I was appalled by the quality of the accommodation and the rude owners. Under no circumstances would I return to this dreadful hotel. The smell of raw sewage outside really added to the atmosphere, as did the large Italian lady cutting her nails in reception. The rude owners do the Italian people a real disservice and when they counted the number of potatoes given to each student at dinner (4 pieces only) it was more than I could bare.

Please look at one of the many beautiful hotels around Sorrento rather than this dump!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobRes_18151, Direttore at Hotel il Faro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Dear Sir or Madam

We are more mind for your words, concerning th food we are sure be we servea ggod quality & quantity, that's why we have a lot of grp come in our Hotel. For the smell it'snt our fault, in Sorrento in the period you was here, Sorrento city have a big problem.
In any case we hope you can give us another chance for show you, our hotel it's a good place for spend your holidays.


Best Regards
Pasquale Persico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed for a few nights in April. Cute hotel not unlike most that you find in Europe, and in particular Italy. If you have the money, definitely upgrade to the balcony room....sitting out there with a glass of wine with those views is fantastic. The restaurant does not look appealing (too bright and "modern" for the feel of Sorrento), but the food is very good. Loved taking the boat from Naples and walking 3 minutes to the hotel right in front of the sea port. Of course that means when sight seeing in Sorrento you get to climb the 150 steps to get there, but we loved every beautiful step.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view. It costs more but worth it if you're going to spend any time in your room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews