We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every minute of it.”
Review of Hotel il Faro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel il Faro
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
cape coral ,florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every minute of it.”
Reviewed 14 September 2007

We arrived without reservations and were fortunate to be welcomed by Cav. Luigi Gargiulo Capitano L.C. and got a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the Seaport. We were served a continental breakfast everyday yogurt, coffee, fruit or juice, sweet roll, Ham and cheese with-elegant service including delicious hot chocolate. We frequently dined at the Hotel Restaurant VELA BIANCA and enjoyed the fare as well as the service. On our last day we realized there was a Sundeck on the top of our hotel. There we discovered the laundry was discreetly dried in the sun as well; let's hear it for saving the envionment .We could learn a thing or two. The proprietor was very industrious and a warm friendly host. The employees could not do enough to make you more comfortable. Carting lugggage serving meals,bringing wine,desserts complimentary cordials.
wonderful old world hotel.

  • Liked — The friendliness and desire to accomodate us as guests,
  • Disliked — no complaint.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shopteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    131
    97
    53
    65
See reviews for
66
172
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

This hotel has it's good points and bad points - overall, it wasn't a bad experience but could have been improved. I guess it's important to keep things in perspective considering the price was reasonable enough for high season in Sorrento!

Pro's:
* Great breakfast service, with a varierty of foods and friendly waitress.
* Our room had a window facing the sea for fresh breezes & water views which was pleasant
* Very close to the Marina for ferries to Capri etc.
* Clean Rooms and common areas.

Cons:
* Very small rooms & beds. The tiniest bathroom and shower I have ever seen. I am a petite woman and had trouble showering, so forget staying here if you are large or tall. It's like showering in a telephone booth.
* A bit of a hike from the piazza/main area of town. Not a problem for us to walk up the neverending steps but would definitely pose a problem for those not so mobile or with kids.
* The sun terrace really needs to be improved. It could be a great area to chill out and relax but the old, worn sun beds are falling apart & the whole area is quite decrepit

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

functional and clean room, but very small. we were happy to get a room with view. When we checked in around 8pm, the staff was not completely helpful as we were asking if the hotel could provide us a local map and bus/ferry schedule. But the next morning, the front desk staff was extremely helpful, answered all the questions we had and provide everything we requested. Perhaps it really depends on who you are speaking to ( the one who may speak English better)...

Overall we are happy with the hotel, as we did not spend much time there, (returning late in the night and leaving early) but one thing we are happy to write here is that their breakfast staff were extremely attentative and helful. the choice of breakfast is quite good.

also if you request, they will give you a view room. that is a plus.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank lovecapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2007

Perfect 7 night stay at the Il Faro hotel.

The owners were lovely, the staff were wonderful and would return without a second thought.

The room was slightly on the small side and had no view, but this was ok for us, it was clean and adequate. The pizzeria that is sort of attached is also run by the family, the food at the hotel and the pizzaria is marvellous. A bit of a trek to the main roads of Sorrento, its take the really steep steps up or walk the steep winding road, of course you could always wait for the bus or call a cab which takes all of two minutes to get you up the hill.

We really enjoyed our stay, the views, the people and the food.

  • Liked — The staff, and that it was very clean.
  • Disliked — The view.
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2007

My husband and I really enjoyed this hotel. It is located near the harbour where you can catch the ferry to Capri. It's a steep walk up the hill/stairs to the main square, but it is not a far distance. We walked to the Circumvesuviana almost everyday (~ half mile). The rooms are simple and the bathroom was small, but very clean. We enjoyed the Euro-style breakfast. The staff was very nice and helpful.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank SNKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Visited this hotel in Nov 2006. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a terrible train trip from Naples to Sorrento and the staff helped us with hiring a driver to take us back on our return to Naples. Strongly advise not taking the local train from Naples. We had a horrible experience with pick pocketers etc. Hotel Il Faro was in a great spot on the Harbour. Bit of a hike up the hill to hub of Sorrento but buses leave on the hour at the front of the Hotel. Be sure to purchase your ticket from the nearby shop first. A little noisy in the mornings with everyone catching ferries across to Capri but nothing too drastic. All in all, the hotel was in a great position with wonderful views. Would stay there again.

  • Liked — The views over the Harbour
  • Disliked — Room was a little dirty
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuscan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2007

Our hotel was booked in Capri but because of bad weather all ferries had been cancelled from Sorrento to Capri for the day so we had no choice but to stay at Il Faro. The hotel is facing directly the Ferry Building which turned out to be convenient.

It is a bit of a walk up the stairs or up the hill to the town center where the shops and the restaurants are.

The hotel staff were very nice, very polite. I've noticed though that they gave us a rate of 90 euros a night because we spoke Italian. The next couple that came through the door, they were also stranded because of the ferry, got charged 120 a night. They were Americans and spoke no Italian.

The room was small, with a small tv, the bathroom was all right, not the cleanest.

Breakfast was OK, the staff was nice and we even had some non-pastry things for breakfast which was good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobaltblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Britannia
Hotel Britannia
#49 of 100 in Sorrento
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
736 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
Hotel Spicy Sorrento
#77 of 100 in Sorrento
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel il Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel il Faro

Property: Hotel il Faro
Address: Via Marina Piccola, 5, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel il Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel il Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Faro Sorrento
Il Faro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing