We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 3rd great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our 3rd great stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

After reading Frommer's Travel Guide, my wife and I first stayed at Hotel Gardenia in 1998. We just returned two weeks ago from our 3rd great stay. Gaetano Mauro and his family and staff were great once again. We spent 6 nights and would have liked to stay for 365 ! We will return in May 2012. Grazie, Gaetano . Mike & Patricia Frieri. Dallas, Texas

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeFrieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    234
    69
    26
    3
See reviews for
191
328
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Very nice rooms - we had two interconnecting rooms which worked very well with the children. The rooms were at the back and so were quiet (well away from the road), clean and well furnished and equipped, and one had good views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius. The beds were also comfortable and the bathrooms very good - new and well equipped.

The hotel is a bit of a walk from the centre of Sorrento along a quite busy and noisy road. However, once you get organised the bus is a possibility and you can also walk along a quieter back street to the centre, although this is a longer walk. However, we felt it was worth being further out of Sorrento in order to get more spacious rooms at this price and the peace and quiet of being out of the centre.

Our main disappointment with the Gardenia was with the service. Previous reviews on Trip Advisor had suggested that the staff and family who run the hotel are very friendly and extremely helpful. Sadly, they did not live up to this rating. They were very helpful when we were making the booking from the UK, particularly with fixing up excursions. And when we first arrived they were also very friendly. However, during our trip there was nothing special about the level of service provided and more friendliness and information would have been helpful. For example, they were unforthcoming with information about the bus into Sorrento - a bus timetable and perhaps the sale of bus tickets would have been helpful. But they really failed us badly with the arrangements for our taxi back to Naples airport at the end of our holiday. This arrived half an hour later than it was supposed to and led to a lot of stress from our point of view. When we complained about the late arrival of the taxi the hotel was very unhelpful, made one or two feeble phonecalls to the taxi company and insisted it was nothing to do with them. This was not satisfactory. They choose which taxi company to use for their guests and they should take responsibility when things go wrong and make a full-blooded effort to get things put right when things go wrong. It was a disappointing incident which strongly coloured are feelings about the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisE48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 23 May 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday. We are pleased to hear that your accommodation was to your satisfaction and that you found your room clean and nicely furnished. However, we are very sorry for the misunderstanding regarding your transfer. We have already spoken to the taxi service and advised them that if there were any other problems like what happened with you we would no longer be using their services. We will take into consideration your suggestioins regarding the bus timetable as well as other useful information you mentioned for guests. We hope to welcome you back at the Gardenia sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful and 100% friendly to Americans. The experience started with helping us park our cars, a drink at the bar and the best advise regarding where to eat and shop in town. The owners go out of their way to keep guests excited about the area. Very sweet and all at a wonderful price!

Room Tip: Have a drink at the bar before you head into town
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenFitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

BEST: We stayed from March 16 to March 20. The best aspect of the hotel was the staff who were always helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was nice but small. Breakfast was the typical continental type. We were able to get coffee at the cafe and bring it to our room in the morning which was quite nice (and it was very good). The beds were comfortable. WORST: Ask for a room in the back of the building. The street is extremely busy all night long and very noisy. Our room was in the front of the building so no one was able to sleep well. The pillows are flat which resulted in some neck pain.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmuffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We are 7 women of a "certain age" who went for 4 nights to celebrate the 60th birthday of one of us. We chose the hotel with the help of Trip Advisor and we certainly made the right choice. The proprietors and staff can't do enough to help. They were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. They gave us advice about excursions but weren't in any way "pushy" about us having to use their excursions. Pretty central - about 15 minute walk from Piazza Tasso. We had a ball.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

If it is possible that a hotel can add to the absolute joy of a trip, the Hotel Gardenia did just that. It is owned and operated by the entire Mauro family. Gaetano and his wife, Marie Helena , along with their beautiful daughters and nephew run the business and are available 24 hours each day. They are always so positive, greet you all day long with a warm and positive welcome, and will assist you with whatever you need to enjoy the area - whether it is looking up driving directions, suggesting some things that you might enjoy, offering you a cup of cappuccino at 11pm, interpreting and translating (in one of many languages), or anything else that might make your trip perfect! I was completely impressed with their exuberant nature - always so very happy to see you in a most positive and genuine nature. The hotel itself was centrally located on the main street in Sorrento, and was impeccably clean, beautifully maintained (beautiful marble floors, counters, etc) with every possible amenity. The rooms were perfect with beautiful balconies and modern bathrooms - all extremely clean. The hotel was in a central location, so it was possible to walk to many of the areas of interest (the historical center of Sorrento, many restaurants, the ferry to take to Capri or other islands) - if you have a car, the hotel offers parking - otherwise, the Mauro family can arrange for you to be picked up at the hotel for scenic tours of the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, etc.
Honestly, there was no end to how the Mauro family would assist in your enjoyment of your stay. I had gone to this area to acquire some long awaited official documents of my immigrant grandparents from the late 1800's (outside of Caserta - a more than 2 hour drive through the very large cities of Naples and Caserta). I was not sure of the actual location of the office of vital records, but was determined to get them on this trip as I had been in search of them for many years. Gaetano made phone calls for me trying to pinpoint where these documents were housed. He eventually found the place, went to the internet, printed out directions, and spoke with me about how to successfully make the trip and gather the documents. When he pinpointed the corrected place over the telephone (a lifelong dream of mine), I burst into tears of joy after finally getting the "right place". I have attached a picture of Gaetano crying right along with me as he was still talking on the phone trying to get me the right addresses, etc! He was so happy to be helping me with something that was obviously so important to me - that HE burst into tears! How many hotel owners do you know that would go to that extent to assist you?

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girasole121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I highly recommend Hotel Gardenia in Sorrento. We just returned from an awesome visit to the Italian Riviera. We used Sorrento as a base and did a few day trips to Pompei, Capri, and the drove along the coast to Positano and Amalfi.
The staff at Hotel Gardenia were extremely friendly and helpful. They arranged all our trips which made it very convenient for us to relay and just show up at the designated time. The location is awesome – not too near the city center and yet an easy stroll to all the main attractions. As with the other hotels in the area, the traffic can be noisy, but just close the bathroom door and the noise will disappear.
The breakfast is great as well with a good assortment. The host at the restaurant is very welcoming and pleasant.
The hotel represents true Italian hospitality.
The owner and his wife are present at the hotel most of the time. The lady made dinner reservations us at this awesome Italian restaurant (Le Fillipe) that is was situated away from the touristy zone. The restaurant has free taxi service for pickup and drop off from the hotel.
In the summer, the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
2,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,021 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing