We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Classic Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I loved this hotel; I only gave it 4 ratings because the location was a bit far from the town of Sorrento. It was a classic European hotel in that it was very intimate; service was excellent; breakfast was wonderful every morning, and so much more. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sorrento and wanting an inexpensive, classic place to park your suitcase. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

From the hotel, we were able to take day trips to Capri, Vesuvius, Pompeii, buffalo farm, Amalfi Coast so we made very good use of the location. The train station to Pompeii was very much in walking distance.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a small balcony with a stunning view of Mt. Vesuvius.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind report. We are delighted that you have spent a pleasant stay at the Gardenia and that you want recommend our hotel to your family and friends,this is the best promotion you should do for us! Hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day,best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    233
    67
    26
    3
See reviews for
189
323
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights (August) and were impressed. The pool is lovely and there are many sunbeds available. It is a short walk from the train station, we managed it with suitcases etc. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was lovely, no complaints, it is open until 10.30 am. The wifi is only available in reception area, you cannot access it in the rooms or by the pool. Our room was very small (we didn't pay for a balcony) but we didn't need any more space for the time we were there. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the center of sorrento, although there are shops and restaurants along the way. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear guest,we are very happy to hear that, overall, you had a nice holiday at the Gardenia and that you have appreciated the staff and the services of the hotel.
Wireless is totally free from lobby area, where there are sofas and armchairs to be confortably seated while connected, and in the breakfast room.Wireless is available also from the room for few euros extracharge.Wireless is not available from the pool because we share it with the hotel next door and we have some trouble taking arrangement concerning a common wireless connection.
Room size depends of the category chosen.Standard rooms are smaller but of course all of our rooms have a large balcony with chairs to relax.Looking forward to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at the hotel Gardenia. This is our third visit to Sorrento (but the first with our two children). We found the all of the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean and in a very good state of decor. We had a quadruple family room, which had a good size balcony, however because it was facing on to the main road it was a little noisy in the evening, but not a problem for us (it did not keep our children awake). The breakfast was superb, much better than I had expected, and every bit as good as I have had in four star hotels in this area. The hotel does not offer evening meals, however there where a number of excellent restaurants in Sorrento which were recommended by the staff at the Gardenia.The center of Sorrento is a 10/15 minute walk from the hotel, and although the hotel is located on a very busy road, we often cut down the side roads on to a quieter route in to the town. The swimming pool (which is shared with the hotel next door) was very clean. We never had a problem getting a sun lounger even though our stay was during the height of the season. I would recommend this hotel, and I would stay here again if I was to visit the area again. Thank you for a lovely holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for a such kind review.We are glad that you had a great stay with your children at the Gardenia. We are very pleased that you have appreciated the room,the decor, our staff, and our breakfast which is a real cause of pride for us.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if your are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.
All the best to you four.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Had a wonderful stay here from 20th-30th July and cannot fault the hotel in any way. All the staff were lovely, very friendly with great suggestions for restaurants and day trips. The rooms were adequate size with larger than expected balconies. We had the connecting rooms which were actually totally seperate with a joint hallway out into the corridor which increased the space available to you, probably the best connecting rooms we have had to date. The whole hotel and pool area is exceptionally clean and well maintained. Breakfast was a real treat with everything you could want and more, including pancakes, delicious pastries, eggs, bacon and mushrooms as well as all the usual chesses, hams and breads etc. Yes the walk into town is a little hair-raising at first but (unless you have very young children/buggies with you) you soon get used to it and in the evenings (about 7.30) the road becomes pedestrionised about halfway into town, and if you get fed up with the walk the staff can recommend a coulpe of restaurants that have their own shuttle car service! Wouldnt hesitate to book the hotel again, thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool. On the 3rd and 4th floor you get a view of Vesuvious. The conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tarotwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review concerning your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you for your kind words about our staff and all our services.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Gardenia.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the new part of Sorrento, away from the chaotic old city centre. It is easily reachable from the train station (Circumvesuviana) - about 400m on the right - and presents itself as a very classy hotel.

Our room was smaller than I expected but still averagely sized for a double room. Bathroom and shower were also good. The only downside of the room maybe was the air conditioned, which kept on turning itself on even though we kept on turning it off and which always managed to turn the room into a icy cold place at night.

Breakfast is extremely good with freshly made coffee and cappuccino and a huge variety of home-made cakes and pastries to choose from. The buffet also offers savoury options, with plenty of cured meats, cheese and the nécessaire for a full English breakfast. Waiters are extremely friendly and willing to help, perfectly in line with the rest of the personnel working at the hotel. I probably found the owner a bit too pushy as he clearly wanted us to join one of the many (paid separately) excursions offered. To be perfectly honest, though, a half-day trip to Pompei is sold for €37 each (this includes a private bus to take you there and a guide, but does NOT include the entrance fee to the site), while a more DIY solution would end up costing about €15 each (this time, INCLUDING the entrance fee to the site).

Overall a good experience, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review and the nice things you said about us, it’s very important for us to know what you really think about our hotel, so we can always improve our services.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated our rooms,our breakfast and our staff.
We apologize if you felt pushed concerning guided tours,probably the owner tried to explain you the difference between tours with guides and tours made by your selves which are of course less expensive, but it's just a different service.Anyway our location, close to the train and bus station give opportunity to the guests to reach the main sites by themselves.
Reception provides train,bus and boat time tables of public transports as well as a list of guided tours for whom wants to visit sites like Pompei with a guide.
Hoping to welcome you again at the Gardenia.Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

this is ok hotel for shorter stay. we stayed 4 nights- its enough to explore the small city of Sorrento and visit Capri island and the Amalfi coast.

Rooms in the hotel are small but clean, the problem could be that most of the rooms are facing either the noisy street or simply the wall of the opposite house. Anyway, we didnt spend much time in the hotel room, we were traveling around. The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The pool is shared with the Central hotel which means there could be more people than you would appreciate.

Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was quite good, every day small changes. Coffe was ok.

Room Tip: if possible, dont pick room 107- its like sleeping on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adamroucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you very much for writing to us about your experience at the Hotel Gardenia. Your suggestions are very precious to us: they will help us, without doubt, to improve the quality of our services.
We offer three room types: superior or sea view rooms, comfort or side rooms, standard rooms which are slightly smaller and in some cases are situated on the front of the Hotel (street side). Pictures of each room type are shown on our website with a full description including the related differences among them and obviously, the rates vary accordingly.
Guest wishing to have a nice view, not on the street should book sea view room to be totally satisfied.
All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My self and my Husband stay at the hotel Gardenia from July the 01 to July the 08 and we were very pleased with everything. It's a family run Hotel that makes you feel like you are part of their family.
Magali,her father Sign.Gaetano and her uncle as the rest of the staff welcome us and made our stay very comfortable. Magali she is a delight, very friendly and always available and ready to help you with any question that you may have. We recommended to get a room facing the pool is definitely worthed the 20 extra euro, the room are comfortable,has everything that you will need: hair dryer, fridge,nice bed, television and a comfortable size balcony. We were very pleased with the location of our room located on the last floor and we had the best view, .I believe it was room # 309. Having said that, we definitely hope to return to the Hotel and to Sorrento and see more of the island. The Hotel is located 10/15 minute away by walking from the main piazza( Piazza Tasso) . Piazza Tasso forks into little tight roads filled with store's, cafe and restaurants, everything looks very characteristic and beautiful. Sorrento is well known for their limoncello and leather stores.The Hotel is also close to the station where you can easily purchase for few euros "a day bus pass" to go to Amalfi and Positano. Ask Magali or anyone at the front desk and they will direct you the best they can. We visited Positano, Amalfi and Ravello in one day but I will suggest to break it down and be able to spend more time in each one of the island. Positano is great for shopping and Amalfi and Ravello have breathtaking view. Also I will highly recommend the private Capri tour offered by the Hotel, totally worthed, The tour Guy is welcoming and included with the tour is a tasty lunch and drinks, then he even offered wine, coffee and limoncello,a great day to remember. My husband follow in love with a great restaurant/trattoria in Sorrento situated in front of the hotel called (IL ritrovo) great food and affordable prices . He loved the Pasta called (Shiliatelli alla Siciliana) as well as the spaghetti with vongole, very delicious dishes. Massimo the owner is very friendly, Gabriella the waitress gave us great service. Also compliments to Massimo brother a great chef. If you like to go for an apperitivo/ drink before dinner and be treated like a good friend go to Simona she owns a bistro on corso Italia called "Senyn Bistrot wine bar" very well decorated a nice and cool atmosphere. The hotel has a fantastic breakfast with home made cakes and many freshly baked pastries as well as eggs , bacon, nutella, toast, jams, cheese, cold cuts and great coffee. The service is very friendly and welcoming for your morning breakfast. The pool is clean, we love it. On corso Italia they drive really fast so be careful and walk on the sidewalk, lot's of scooters. In a nut shell we highly recommend this Hotel for service, location, comfort and price, they deserve many more awards. Ringrazio Magali e la sua famiglia e vi auguro tanto successo: Albina e Paolo

Room Tip: Higher floor, pool side room. Try not to book a room facing the main road, lot's of noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbinaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review regarding your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and expecially our staff.As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing