We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belair(Sorrento)
US$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento(Sorrento)
US$345
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Riviera(Sorrento)
US$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$480
US$451
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$270
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento(Sorrento)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$316
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bellevue Syrene(Sorrento)
US$1,066
US$893
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cesare Augusto(Sorrento)
US$228
US$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
410
263
76
26
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
263
76
26
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walkbusy roadtrain stationcakesper dayneighbouring hotelthe hotel staffamalfi coasthomemade lemonadebreakfast was excellentstar hotelfriendly hotelsmall hoteltown centrestayed here for nightsrooms were very cleanroof terrace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
275 - 280 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

we stayed for 5 nights in late april/early may. sorrento was experiencing an unusual heat wave for that time of year. the air conditioning system was not ready to be used ( i understand that in italy hotel air conditioning is often not scheduled to start until mid-may). the hotel staff was very kind about this and let us use a fan that they had for the office. unfortunately that fan stopped working -- they went out and bought another for our use. they had the air conditioning serviced and running after a few days despite that fact that it was not scheduled to be on for another week or more. they were also accomodated our need for ice for the room. europeans do not use ice in their water as much as americans do, but they understood this and supplied us with ice as needed. the breakfast buffet was significantly better than we expected. they actually have a chef who bakes an impressive selection of pastries daily. she also made a different egg dish each day. the breakfast staff was friendly and helpful. we had a room with a small balcony in the back ---i'd recommend it for the view and lack of street noise. the hotel is about a 10 minute stroll to the town center. personally, i felt it was a good trade-off (ie, a short walk to avoid the congestion and noise of the town center). i would stay here if we returned to sorrento. the hotel staff is helpful and the facility is clean and pleasant. sorrento is an easy base for day trips to capri, pompei, the amalfi coast, etc.

Room Tip: the rear rooms have balconies with views of the water
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank forbenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad that you had a great stay at the Gardenia. We are very pleased that you have appreciated our services,in particular our staff and our buffet breakfast which are a real cause of pride for us. Thank you as well for your comprehention concerning the exeptional hit wave, in fact as you said the air conditioning was not working yet as the rules that regulate the Energy Saving Act issued by the Italian Government enforce that air conditioning can operate only from 15th May until 15th October (cool) and we have to respect that law.We are very happy that you have anyway appreciated our humble help in imparting you a fan.We always try to give our best to make our guest as happier as possible.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My family and I stayed at Hotel Gardenia for 3 nights in May 2013. We had a wonderful experience here. The rooms were clean and comfortable; the staff was very friendly and welcoming, helping us with maps, directions, and cars; and the food at the breakfasts and happy hours....yes, happy hours!, was delicious! I would definitely return here when in Sorrento and have already recommended it to friends who will be travelling in the fall. Michele was very friendly and accomodating. He went out of his way to help my mother-in-law with a phone issue. Marie-Helene also helped us with local information and gave us good tips. We left feeling like we were leaving our family. It was sad to go. You can't go wrong staying here. Book it now!

Room Tip: It is on a main street, so a room facing the street might be noisy. We stayed in the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debrarosati4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The owners' hospitality in this small, Sorrento hotel makes it an enchantingly wonderful place to stay. We had our best night's sleep in Italy here, as well as some of the best food. The hotel offers a happy "hour" (really, two) where you are treated to wonderful (and free) "appetizers." Drinks are very reasonably priced. The main areas are beautifully decorated, the rooms impeccably clean--average to smaller size, but very nice. Breakfast is generous, wide-ranging, and sported the best pastries we had on our trip (and we had some great ones!). At happy hour, in addition to delectable appetizers, you can get terrific personal advice from the owners about local attractions, transportation, and restaurants. When we arrived, the hotel promptly informed us of a possible train strike, and we quickly worked out an alternate plan, just in case. (We didn't end up needing it, though). This was also the best value hotel we stayed in during our trip in Italy, very fairly priced; we felt well cared for, safe, and comfortable. We would not hesitate to return. It is easily reached on foot from the train, although it is a good 15-minute walk. Buses and taxis are available. We found Sorrento a great location from which to reach Pompeii and Capri, but do spend some time locally, too. It's a wonderful, small town in Italy.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms higher up do have views of the water and/or Vesuvius. We didn't, but we did have a nice, small balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review regarding your holidays at the Hotel Gardenia.
We constantly thrive to ensure that our highest standards are always kept,so we are really happy that you have appreciated all our services,especially our "Happy Hour" that as you said is a nice way for the owners and all staff to meet the guest and establish a warm friendly contact.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Gardenia for 7 nights in May 2013. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the hotel owner who gave us some really good tips, a map of Sorrento and if we needed anything to just ask. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we had a bottle of bubbly in our room which was a lovely touch. He recommended an excellent restaurant, reasonably priced and food was delicious. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the location was perfect for us, just a short walk to the town centre to the shops and bars. We used the pool a few times which was clean and always someone around if you wanted a drink or snack. The hotel staff were really friendly and very attentive giving us advice on where to go and how to get there! The breakfast was perfect, great variety and the cakes were amazing! We would definitely recommend to anyone and would love to go back another time. We loved Sorrento and the people and loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a nice view and are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIMSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and especially our staff. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We were also very happy to have contributed on making special your 25th wedding anniversary
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Gardenia October 2012 for 4 night. The rooms were very comfortable, a little small. The staff were excellent , very helpful and friendly. The staff assisted us to book a few tours and great places to dine. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tazrobbo447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you so much for such an appreciative review concerning your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you for your kind words about all our services.
We are sorry that you found the room a bit small, next time for you and other future travellers who want to stay at the Gardenia, we suggest to book our Comfort rooms which are a bigger size than the Standard room that you have booked. Hoping to welcome you again at the Gardenia.
Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews