We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to base !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Return to base !!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a comfort hotel but family run .... And it shows !

The staff are all very polite and helpful , and they all speak good English.

A great hotel, as long as you don't get a room overlooking the main road ( noisy ) , they share a pool with the hotel next door but places / sun loungers are always available, there is a pool bar too.
Clean at all times here , b&b type arrangement but always enough breakfast for all. A great place to use as a base whilst visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a8420626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind report and to share your experience at the Gardenia with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that you have spent a pleasant stay at the Gardenia ! Hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day, best wishes.
Arrivederci a presto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    240
    71
    26
    3
See reviews for
196
336
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed for a little over a week in a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the main road.This is a lovely family run hotel and the staff can not do enough to ensure that your stay is enjoyable.I would agree with the many positive comments made by other reviewers and personally have no negative comments to make. I will certainly be recommending this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful part of Italy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IstanbulPrincipessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We spent one week in this hotel and very much enjoyed our stay in a room on the third floor overlooking the pool and beyond, a spectacular view of the Bay of Naples. In spite of its location on a busy thoroughfare into town, we did not hear traffic noise inside the hotel. Our room, with decent sized bathroom, was comfortable, extremely clean and for the first time ever in a hotel in any part of the world, we had a huge supply of coat hangers!! Bravo!! The wardrobe was a good size, plenty of drawers and even a cupboard to keep our footwear. No extra charge for using the safe. This is a hotel with an exceptionally friendly atmosphere with exceptionally helpful staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. Excellent breakfast with a good choice of hot and cold foods. The only negative is that it is perhaps a little too far from the centre of town for folk not up for walking and while it is only 15 minutes on foot, some of the pavements are narrow and it is a busy road.

Room Tip: Pool side for the views. Road side could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review about your recent stay at the Hotel Gardenia.
We constantly thrive to ensure that our highest standards are always kept and we are very happy that you have appreciated the homely atmosphere, our comfortable newly refurbished superior room which has as you said a wonderful view overlooking the sea and the Vesuvius, our various buffet breakfast and all our services.
Concerning the distance from the centre,as you said it's only 10-15 minutes walking far but because the pavements are narrows it could be difficult to walk for the first 200 metres,unfortunately we can't do a lot for this problem, a part complain with the city, but thanks god the pedestrian area with larger pavements and quieter streets begins afer only 5 minutes walk!
Thank you again for you review,hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

we stayed for 5 nights in late april/early may. sorrento was experiencing an unusual heat wave for that time of year. the air conditioning system was not ready to be used ( i understand that in italy hotel air conditioning is often not scheduled to start until mid-may). the hotel staff was very kind about this and let us use a fan that they had for the office. unfortunately that fan stopped working -- they went out and bought another for our use. they had the air conditioning serviced and running after a few days despite that fact that it was not scheduled to be on for another week or more. they were also accomodated our need for ice for the room. europeans do not use ice in their water as much as americans do, but they understood this and supplied us with ice as needed. the breakfast buffet was significantly better than we expected. they actually have a chef who bakes an impressive selection of pastries daily. she also made a different egg dish each day. the breakfast staff was friendly and helpful. we had a room with a small balcony in the back ---i'd recommend it for the view and lack of street noise. the hotel is about a 10 minute stroll to the town center. personally, i felt it was a good trade-off (ie, a short walk to avoid the congestion and noise of the town center). i would stay here if we returned to sorrento. the hotel staff is helpful and the facility is clean and pleasant. sorrento is an easy base for day trips to capri, pompei, the amalfi coast, etc.

Room Tip: the rear rooms have balconies with views of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank forbenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad that you had a great stay at the Gardenia. We are very pleased that you have appreciated our services,in particular our staff and our buffet breakfast which are a real cause of pride for us. Thank you as well for your comprehention concerning the exeptional hit wave, in fact as you said the air conditioning was not working yet as the rules that regulate the Energy Saving Act issued by the Italian Government enforce that air conditioning can operate only from 15th May until 15th October (cool) and we have to respect that law.We are very happy that you have anyway appreciated our humble help in imparting you a fan.We always try to give our best to make our guest as happier as possible.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

My family and I stayed at Hotel Gardenia for 3 nights in May 2013. We had a wonderful experience here. The rooms were clean and comfortable; the staff was very friendly and welcoming, helping us with maps, directions, and cars; and the food at the breakfasts and happy hours....yes, happy hours!, was delicious! I would definitely return here when in Sorrento and have already recommended it to friends who will be travelling in the fall. Michele was very friendly and accomodating. He went out of his way to help my mother-in-law with a phone issue. Marie-Helene also helped us with local information and gave us good tips. We left feeling like we were leaving our family. It was sad to go. You can't go wrong staying here. Book it now!

Room Tip: It is on a main street, so a room facing the street might be noisy. We stayed in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debrarosati4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The owners' hospitality in this small, Sorrento hotel makes it an enchantingly wonderful place to stay. We had our best night's sleep in Italy here, as well as some of the best food. The hotel offers a happy "hour" (really, two) where you are treated to wonderful (and free) "appetizers." Drinks are very reasonably priced. The main areas are beautifully decorated, the rooms impeccably clean--average to smaller size, but very nice. Breakfast is generous, wide-ranging, and sported the best pastries we had on our trip (and we had some great ones!). At happy hour, in addition to delectable appetizers, you can get terrific personal advice from the owners about local attractions, transportation, and restaurants. When we arrived, the hotel promptly informed us of a possible train strike, and we quickly worked out an alternate plan, just in case. (We didn't end up needing it, though). This was also the best value hotel we stayed in during our trip in Italy, very fairly priced; we felt well cared for, safe, and comfortable. We would not hesitate to return. It is easily reached on foot from the train, although it is a good 15-minute walk. Buses and taxis are available. We found Sorrento a great location from which to reach Pompeii and Capri, but do spend some time locally, too. It's a wonderful, small town in Italy.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms higher up do have views of the water and/or Vesuvius. We didn't, but we did h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryland54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review regarding your holidays at the Hotel Gardenia.
We constantly thrive to ensure that our highest standards are always kept,so we are really happy that you have appreciated all our services,especially our "Happy Hour" that as you said is a nice way for the owners and all staff to meet the guest and establish a warm friendly contact.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Gardenia for 7 nights in May 2013. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the hotel owner who gave us some really good tips, a map of Sorrento and if we needed anything to just ask. It was our 25th wedding anniversary and we had a bottle of bubbly in our room which was a lovely touch. He recommended an excellent restaurant, reasonably priced and food was delicious. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the location was perfect for us, just a short walk to the town centre to the shops and bars. We used the pool a few times which was clean and always someone around if you wanted a drink or snack. The hotel staff were really friendly and very attentive giving us advice on where to go and how to get there! The breakfast was perfect, great variety and the cakes were amazing! We would definitely recommend to anyone and would love to go back another time. We loved Sorrento and the people and loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a nice view and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIMSMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and especially our staff. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
We were also very happy to have contributed on making special your 25th wedding anniversary
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,064 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Choice Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing