We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We had this hotel included in a groupon package (we will never do that again) and were very disappointed. The staff were surly. We paid the extra 2 Euro for wifi in the room. It never worked, and although we got our 2E back, the staff never seemed interested in helping us sort it out. We used the free wifi in the lobby, but it is a terrible connection and certainly inconvenient. The hotel also charges if you use the in-room fridge for your own food - something I have never seen at a hotel anywhere. They also charge 9 Euro each for breakfast (which I thought I saw on their website was included, but I guess not for Groupon folks). We were not going to give this unfriendly/unhelpful bunch any more money so we never ate breakfast there.

We also experienced an ant infestation. After we blocked their access to the room with wet toilet paper under the door jam, the housekeeping staff must have put down poison because we never saw the ants again.

The sink (room 308) is not vented/trapped properly and you get the smell of sewer everytime you turn on the tap. The shower leaked all over the floor one morning until we figured out that you had to run it at a drizzle. We cleaned up the water with the supplied towels and then housekeeping decided to limit us to 2 bath towels and never refreshed our hand towels. Oh, and the pillows are flatter than pancakes.

We felt trapped by the fact we had paid for this as a package or we would have left and demanded a refund. The hotel staff were so surly and uninterested in us that it seemed futile to ask them for help.

On our last day, I decided to try and "soften them up" so I went out of my way to be friendly - this seemed to work temporarily.

On the good side, the room was very clean overall. The bathroom was small. Location was fine.

Buyer beware with Groupon. We learned our lesson. We needed leverage with this place and didn't have any.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryMoCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write about your experience at our hotel. Your comments, especially the unflattering ones, are most welcome and they will give us the strive to improve ourselves in our daily duties.
Saying that we wish to clarify some situations that you mentioned in your comment.
We have been in the Hospitality Industry for over thirty years and to be honest we are not accustomed to deal with such upsetting reviews. Our Staff has always been our resilient highlight and we have always been very proud of all of them none excluded. Many other guests seem to have a different opinion according to other reviews.We have always felt that, although the Hotel Gardenia is classified three star, we have always offered a four star service.
Quite rightly, our full buffet breakfast is included in the room rate for those who book directly on our website or on the most popular portals. Very seldom and only during the winter season by agreement , in order to guarantee a most favourable rate, some travel companies do not include breakfast in their packages , and this was your case, so, for people not booking with breakfast, as in many hotel of the world, we offer it for a charge which is usually ( only for winter period ) 10,00 euro per person; but we also give a chance to have a little “light breakfast” ( only for winter period ) for 5,00 euro per person , which includes coffee or tea, fruit juice, croissant, and corn flakes.
As our hotel is enclosed by trees and gardens, it can happen, very infrequently, that the rooms are visited by ants coming from there. We understand that it’s very disagreeable, but we can guarantee, and as you said you agree with this, that the cleanliness is one of the best quality of Hotel Gardenia. Sometimes guests use to eat in the room and the ants are attracted by the food. To avoid this problem we regularly make insect disinfestations and the manager uses to check personally every day the cleanliness of the rooms. Probably your room escapes from that control, but as you said we quickly solved the problem but anyway we apologies for that inconvenient. Concerning the shower and the sink in your room, we did not find any record of complaint regarding your problems during your stay. It is useless to write negative comments now, when at the moment of your holiday you could have come to the reception with your issues and we would have done our best to accommodate you requests, we have never refused help to our guest and we always do all is possible to satisfy their needs.
We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Gardenia to show you that what is happened was just an unlucky incident and have the possibility to demonstrate you that The Gardenia is a really, lovely family hotel!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    239
    70
    26
    3
See reviews for
193
331
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Good place to stay if you're going to Sorrento. Rooms are nice and clean, great breakfast and a nice pool area with a good section for smaller kids.

Nothing spectacular or fancy (plastic chairs, a bit worn facilities etc) but for the rate very good value. Traffic can be pretty loud, but that goes for most of Sorrento.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We found the staff to be extremely cheerful, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and not too hot, unlike a few others we had experienced on our Italy trip. The breakfast room was beautifully clean and the food was bountiful. We particularly appreciated the help the staff was prepared to give when we needed access to extra technology at short notice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assunta_Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were a family of 15 travelling together. The staff looked after us like their own family. Helped us with all the sites to see, booked lovely restaurants and even organised a special lunch for us before we headed off to Pompei. Their breakfast selection is really nice too.
The rooms were comfortable with little balconies.
The hotel is on the main road. At times you do hear the traffic but Sorrento is always a busy place.
It's about a 10 minute walk to the main piaza.
Very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritad800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We didn't have a hotel booked in Sorrento so this was a good find. It is right on the main street in Sorrento and close enough to be able to walk to most things. The room was quite small , typical of Europe, but it had a good sized balcony. This place had one of the best continental breakfasts we had in Italy. The only drawback we found was that the hotel was so close to the main road and the traffic so heavy that the automobile fumes could get a bit too intense on the balcony.
One tip - if you want to go to Pompeii, take the train from Sorrento - quick and easy as the train stops right in front of the entrance to Pompeii.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfFundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronks
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I can't say enough about the staff! They were helpful and went out of their way to make you not only feel welcome but to help you find where to go around town. The rooms are not large but I loved the little balcony off the room. Everything was clean and the breakfast selection was really nice. Parking had a fee of 16 Euro but I think it is 20 Euro further in town. I would definitely stay there again on my next return to Sorrento. We had no trouble with the wifi in the lobby. Didn't bother to pay for the wifi in the room as we were not in it except to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdbreeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments will ensure we continue to give the best service to our guests.
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Overall, a decent location. Be wary American traveler. The rooms might be standard for Euro expectations,but in truth it was just big enough to walk around the queen size bed. A day after check in was told parking was 2 Euro a day for rental car. Got charged 16 Euro a day at check out. Not sure how that stacks up on other venues as this is my first trip here. When confronted, the Manager said "oh must have misunderstood", I said No you told me 2 Euro. Not the departing experience I was expecting. Bought the room through a package, feel as if I got screwed now - Thanks for the positive experience Tony! Buffett breakfast is same every day, little change.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcfire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Proprietario at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent visit at the Hotel Gardenia. I am Gaetano, the manager and I cannot express enough my deepest distraught to your e.mail. At this stage, I would like to analyse and clarify what you have written about your stay.

We are sorry about the misunderstanding with parking rates. The lady who have made your check- in, speaks an excellent English and it seems strange that she said 2 instead of 16…
Parking fee is 16.00 € per day as it’s clearly advertised on our website and on all the principal on line tour operators. You can also just read the other reviews posted on Trip Advisor to note that a guest has written only 2 weeks ago, a review in which he gives the parking rates!
Anyway, because we know that maybe some people don’t explore internet,to be as clearest as possible, we have a big screen in our lobby with all the main information concerning the hotel, including parking fees, furthermore, in the parking lot there is a large panel with the price list which shows the price of parking to a minimum of one hour, which is 2.00 € up to 1 day which is 16.00 €.
Also the tour operator with whom you have booked is clearly advertised that the parking is not included and about the rates.
I think that it's impossible to be clearer than that.

We offer three room types: superior or sea view rooms, comfort or side rooms, standard rooms which are slightly smaller and in some cases are situated on the front of the Hotel (street side). Pictures of each room type are shown on our website with a full description including the related differences among them and obviously, the rates vary accordingly.
The contract you have signed up with your tour operator, is an offer we doing for the winter…
Standard room minimum stay 4 nights sometime only room no breakfast, so you have booked for a standard double room that’s why you had a smaller room. We are very sorry that you are only claiming now about that because it’s too late to propose you to upgrade the room, if you told us at the day of arrival we could show you other types of rooms and you could change for a minimum difference of price.

Regarding breakfast, please kindly note that, in order to keep our rates competitive, during the winter months we serve continental breakfast and not american buffet breakfast, that’s why there is less choice than usual but there’s anyway a big variety of fresh made pastries and . This is clearly advertised on our website.

We are always at our guest leastening and disposal, It’s enough to ask information to the reception, to note that we always try to solve every little problem, to make our guest holiday unforgettable, and to let feal our warm Family atmosphere, so we are a little upset to read your review knowing how hard we work every day for our guest satisfaction.

Best regards
Gaetano Mauro - Owner/director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#44 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing