We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our trip was too short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sadly we were only here for 2 nights, but our experience was fabulous. Clean room, comfy bed, outstanding staff and a great breakfast would have been enough but they also have a good sized pool and roof terrace, so we managed to grab a few hours sunning ourselves by the pool with a drink form the pool bar.
We asked the lovely French receptionist to recommend a restaurant which we could visit to celebrate our father's 80th birthday and really came up trumps; picked up from our hotel, then picked parents up, delivered to restaurant (Vela Bianca; more on them on another review), totally over the top (but entirely appropriate) treatment by the Maitre d' and all other staff. Great food and what's more we were not ripped off.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have a better view, but noise is not an issue in any of the rooms (even from the busy...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorset_UK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest,
On behalf of Marie-Helene (the french lady which is also the owner's, Gaetano, wife), and all the Gardenia’s staff, we want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We are very glad that you have so much appreciated all the services offered by our hotel like our buffet breakfast, your room and we are very satisfied that we have contributed in making your holiday and your father's 80th birthday special. We are very happy that you have also so much appreciated La Vela Bianca, the restaurant located on the Marina Piccola that we have suggested to you for this special occasion.We are pleased to recommend restaurants where we know that offer services of quality, genuine and delicious italian food and, as at the Gardenia, a staff that always smile and do the best to guarantee the best to the guests.
We hope to welcome you again a day at Gardenia, hopefully for a longer stay! Arrivederci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although we had only booked a basic room we were very pleased when we arrived to be upgraded to their best room. This sort of thing never usually happens to us so it was a lovely surprise. The room was very clean, was on the 3rd floor at the back and over looked the pool. It was very quiet and the only thing i would have preferred would be to have a kettle in the room.
The breakfast was amazing and there certainly was something to suit everyone. All the staff were helpful and very cheerful. In the hotel details in your room it gave the names of all the staff and their jobs which i thought was a very nice touch.
The pool was lovely and it was great to have a swim and cool down after a days excursion. We had planned to arrive by ferry but unfortunately they weren't running so we caught the bus from Amalfi to Sorrento. If you arrive by ferry it would be too far to walk to the hotel with luggage. It is a 10 minute walk from the station and although we managed it quite easily the paths are not ideal for wheeling suit cases.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated all our services like our swimming pool, our buffet breakfast which is prepared freshly every morning by our chef Enza, our friendly staff and all the little details that sometimes make the difference!
We are happy that you have appreciated the free upgrade from standard room to superior sea view room that we have done for you,when is possible and our best rooms are available we like to surprise our guests!
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments we know we are going in the right way!
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is 20 minutes walk into the centre of Sorrento on a very busy road but if you get a room at the rear you should have no noise problems as the double glazing is very efficient and you have the bonus of a balcony with a view over the pool and the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvias. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the large breakfast room offered a good variety of food.

They don't always do evening meals but the occasionally do a 3 course meal for only 15 euros. As my wife and I are veggie and the mains were never vegetarian we didn't get a chance to test the quality.

Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and very clean. The pool area was also clean with plenty of space to lie down and relax after a busy day sight seeing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Gardenia's guest,
Thank you for such a kind review concerning your recent holidays in our hotel. We are glad that you had a great stay and we are very pleased that you have appreciated our services and in particular the cleanliness,the confort and the soudproofing of the rooms,we did big works in 2007 to obtain this results and are happy that our guests see it. We can insure you and other future guests that also the rooms facing the street are very quiet and and confortable.
As you said sometimes we serve evening meals,meanwhile we propose everyday from 15 of may until 15 of october a service of Snack bar for lunch time.We offer a large selection of freshly home made dishes, from pizzas to pasta, salads and desserts that we serve on our gardenbar and from this year also on our panoramic terrace.
Every night from 6.00 pm we have also our special Gardenia Happy Hour, a typical "italian aperitivo" with bruschettas and other food specialities that we offer to our guests that have only to pay for the drinks.
The quality of our products is always very high like the breakfast, enriched with the sympathy of our friendly staff that works hard to give to our guests the best service and make them feel like home.
Thank you again for your kind words .
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.
All the best to you all.
Ciao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Gardenia for 4 wonderful days from May 11, 2014- May 15, 2014. I can't say enough about the customer service. From the time we walked in the door until we left we felt so welcome. We had a great view and we were centrally located to everything. The rooms were very clean and a lovely breakfast was served every morning. The train station was a short walk away as well as many fine restaurants. One restaurant we really enjoyed was right across the street from the hotel. The food and service were great and it was reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A very friendly hotel with the most helpful staff you could ever wish to meet. The rooms are a good size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of foods. The road at the front of the hotel is busy and noisy, ask for a room overlooking the pool.

The hotel is only about 10 minutes walk from the bus and train station and another couple of minutes walk takes you to the centre of Sorrento.

If you intend visiting Pompeii, highly recommended, don't take a tour, get the train, less than five euros, and entry to the ruins is eleven euros or free for EU pensioners as long as you have identity which shows your age.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great hotel in the heart of Sorrento. We loved this hotel. The staff was very helpful and attentive. They helped us navigate tour options, and although this is not a listed service, one of the staff gave us a ride to the port when we were running late and in danger of missing our Ferry to Capri!

Highly recommend staying here, and we hope to return

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Nice people running this place, and great breakfast. First room was very small, but they were kind enough to change it once some of the guests left. The chocolate croissants at breakfast are amazing. The location is good and there is parking if you are driving (16 euro a day).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you so much for such an appreciative review concerning your experience at our hotel recently, we are very grateful to you for your kind words about all our services.
We will report your compliments to our pastry chef Enza about her home made chocolate croissants, she will be very happy...expecially because she starts to prepare them every morning at 6.00!
We are sorry that you found the first room a bit small, next time for you and other future travellers who want to stay at the Gardenia, we suggest to book our Comfort rooms which are a bigger size than the Standard room that you have booked. Hoping to welcome you again at the Gardenia.
Arrivederci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
766 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,398 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel La Solara Sorrento
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#46 of 100 in Sorrento
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range: £61 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Choice Hotels, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing