We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

we stayed in this small friendly family run hotel for 3 days, although the facilities are moderate the staff are exceptionally good It was my birthday while I was there and it was made unforgettable by the generosity of a being given a surprise cake and prosecco! I had one of my nicest celebrations ever.
the breakfasts were out of this world, the chef produces the most wonderful fresh cakes every morning.
The management go out of their way to make you feel special, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guests,
On behalf of myself and all the Gardenia’s staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We are very glad that you have so much appreciated all the services offered by our hotel like our buffet breakfast, your room and we are very satisfied that we have contributed in making your holiday and your birthday special. We hope to welcome you again a day at Gardenia.
Arrivederci.
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    233
    67
    26
    3
See reviews for
189
323
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just back from a week in beautiful Sorrento .... wonderful place , stayed in the Hotel Gardenia. Hotel was spotless, room was small but not cramped, my hubby found the shower was small for his height (6 foot) but again it was spotless. Room was cleaned daily and fresh towels every day. Breakfast was wonderful and such a vast array of choice. Pool area was lovely, never a problem with sun beds they even had a shade attached to the that you could pull down over your head was great for reading, there is a terrace set away from pool with loads of beds as well as the ones at the actual pool. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I would not recommend this hotel to people with young children for the reason of the path way into the town is narrow and on a busy road, but as an adult or older child its no problem, its about a 15 min walk into the town centre.Town itself is lovely, loads of great places to eat and lovely touristy shops, also loads of designer shops too.
I would most definitely recommend Ristorante Sorrento ....Via P.R. Giuliani it is absolutely gorgeous, food amazing, staff just so friendly and reasonable prices too. Exmaple ... shared starter, 2 mains, 2 desserts, 1/2 bottle house red (very good house wine) a beer and large bottle still water and 2 coffees was under €60. DO NOT PASS BY.
Warning so as you are aware ... Trip to Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius booked via reception, around €100 for 2 people, but when you get on the bus you are then told there are extra charges, entrance to site in Pompeii €11 each, lunch in place away from anywhere else so no choice but to eat there €13 each (was lovely food and aircon was a welcome relief from the heat) and then charge to walk to top of Mount Vesuvius €10 each (WELL worth it tho). I would recommend the trip but just to be aware of the extra charges and also if you intend doing it wear closed in shoes/trainers with socks it will save your feet a lot.
A trip to the town of Positano is also a must very much a picture post card town.
All in all I would recommend hotel Gardenia and Sorrento.

Room Tip: Pool view .... as they are also looking over the bay, not front of hotel as they are over the main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind report. We are delighted that you have spent a pleasant stay at the Gardenia and that you have appreciated our friendly staff,the cleanliness of the room,our rich american buffet breakfast and our swimming pool with is solarium.
We are also happy to read that you have appreciated so much our beautiful city of Sorrento,its shops and monuments and its reastaurants of course!Naples region is famous all over the word for the quality and the variety of the food!
We are sorry for the inconvenient you had with the Pompei and Vesuvio tour, being surprised in founding extra charges for the entances but we can guarantee you that it's clearly specified in the excursions programm that we give to all our guests.
Hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here for five nights in the second week of June; the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.

Our room was very nice and always kept immaculately clean and re-stocked, air con and shower worked fine and the bed was very comfortable. Some reviews have mentioned noise pollution if facing the street (the hotel is on the main street), we cannot comment on this as we had a room on the first floor facing the pool but we did not find noise an issue. Although the first floor does not give you a sea view as it is too low we found the balcony a lovely place to sit and plan our evening (in the shade until about 4pm) or a nice place to unwind late at night.

We used the pool and bathing area a few days during our stay. Very nice area, none of the “rush to get towels on the loungers” you can have in some bigger hotels, and the pool has a nice area at one end where there was often a few toddlers and parents splashing about so very family friendly.

Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of food and of course amazing coffee, and we tried lunch in the hotel on the one day we didn’t venture out early, served on the terrace on the first floor and that was also very enjoyable. The hotel does not serve evening meals but the town centre is packed full of restaurants and there is surely something for everyone’s taste. If you are eating out the staff recommend a few restaurants rather than you taking pot luck, we tried one in Via dell' Accademia in the centre of Sorrento and ended up dining there three nights out of five.

We really have nothing negative to say about the hotel, the staff were wonderful and we thought it was exceptional value for money and we would definitely stay there again if we return to Sorrento and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe_and_Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for such an appreciative review about your experience at our hotel in June, we are very grateful to you.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated the quality of our services and especially our staff. As you know and said, the Gardenia is a family run hotel, and we all work hard to make our guest as happiest as possible and to let them feel as part of the family, so when a guest like you tell us that we did a good job, we are very proud!
Thank you to recommend our hotel to your family and friends, this is the best promotion you should do for us! Hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights, and were happy with our stay. The hotel is clean and tidy, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was good with a decent range of foods on offer. The pool was lovely and the sun loungers had fold-down head shades which was handy for reading!

We had a room at the side of the building, and although it was a little noisy with the balcony doors open, with them shut we didn't really notice the noise of the busy road outside. Lots of barking dogs from time to time though...weird.

The shower was really good, very powerful and the room and bathroom was cleaned daily to a very good standard. Bed was a bit hard though, and I like a firm bed, but this was hurting my hips!

Only thing was that we had notified the hotel beforehand that we were staying for our honeymoon and also both of our birthdays (same day!) which would have been proven when we handed in our passports. Although they replied to say they would make sure our stay was special, there was no upgrade nor any surprises in store for us when we arrived or on our birthday :( It would have been a nice touch. I think the rooms at the back of the building were a bit bigger as well and had a nice view overlooking the pool, so it would have been nice to have had one of these during our special stay, but nevermind.

All in all, it's really not bad at all for a 3 star hotel, but they could have made our stay a bit more special.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpoonoM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset,UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Sadly we were only here for 2 nights, but our experience was fabulous. Clean room, comfy bed, outstanding staff and a great breakfast would have been enough but they also have a good sized pool and roof terrace, so we managed to grab a few hours sunning ourselves by the pool with a drink form the pool bar.
We asked the lovely French receptionist to recommend a restaurant which we could visit to celebrate our father's 80th birthday and really came up trumps; picked up from our hotel, then picked parents up, delivered to restaurant (Vela Bianca; more on them on another review), totally over the top (but entirely appropriate) treatment by the Maitre d' and all other staff. Great food and what's more we were not ripped off.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have a better view, but noise is not an issue in any of the rooms (even from the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorset_UK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest,
On behalf of Marie-Helene (the french lady which is also the owner's, Gaetano, wife), and all the Gardenia’s staff, we want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We are very glad that you have so much appreciated all the services offered by our hotel like our buffet breakfast, your room and we are very satisfied that we have contributed in making your holiday and your father's 80th birthday special. We are very happy that you have also so much appreciated La Vela Bianca, the restaurant located on the Marina Piccola that we have suggested to you for this special occasion.We are pleased to recommend restaurants where we know that offer services of quality, genuine and delicious italian food and, as at the Gardenia, a staff that always smile and do the best to guarantee the best to the guests.
We hope to welcome you again a day at Gardenia, hopefully for a longer stay! Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Although we had only booked a basic room we were very pleased when we arrived to be upgraded to their best room. This sort of thing never usually happens to us so it was a lovely surprise. The room was very clean, was on the 3rd floor at the back and over looked the pool. It was very quiet and the only thing i would have preferred would be to have a kettle in the room.
The breakfast was amazing and there certainly was something to suit everyone. All the staff were helpful and very cheerful. In the hotel details in your room it gave the names of all the staff and their jobs which i thought was a very nice touch.
The pool was lovely and it was great to have a swim and cool down after a days excursion. We had planned to arrive by ferry but unfortunately they weren't running so we caught the bus from Amalfi to Sorrento. If you arrive by ferry it would be too far to walk to the hotel with luggage. It is a 10 minute walk from the station and although we managed it quite easily the paths are not ideal for wheeling suit cases.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated all our services like our swimming pool, our buffet breakfast which is prepared freshly every morning by our chef Enza, our friendly staff and all the little details that sometimes make the difference!
We are happy that you have appreciated the free upgrade from standard room to superior sea view room that we have done for you,when is possible and our best rooms are available we like to surprise our guests!
Our mission is to ensure our guests obtain the best service from our hotel, leaving as friends, hopefully to return in the future, reading your kind comments we know we are going in the right way!
Hoping to welcome you back again in the future, arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport-on-Tay
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is 20 minutes walk into the centre of Sorrento on a very busy road but if you get a room at the rear you should have no noise problems as the double glazing is very efficient and you have the bonus of a balcony with a view over the pool and the Bay of Naples towards Vesuvias. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the large breakfast room offered a good variety of food.

They don't always do evening meals but the occasionally do a 3 course meal for only 15 euros. As my wife and I are veggie and the mains were never vegetarian we didn't get a chance to test the quality.

Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed and very clean. The pool area was also clean with plenty of space to lie down and relax after a busy day sight seeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Gardenia's guest,
Thank you for such a kind review concerning your recent holidays in our hotel. We are glad that you had a great stay and we are very pleased that you have appreciated our services and in particular the cleanliness,the confort and the soudproofing of the rooms,we did big works in 2007 to obtain this results and are happy that our guests see it. We can insure you and other future guests that also the rooms facing the street are very quiet and and confortable.
As you said sometimes we serve evening meals,meanwhile we propose everyday from 15 of may until 15 of october a service of Snack bar for lunch time.We offer a large selection of freshly home made dishes, from pizzas to pasta, salads and desserts that we serve on our gardenbar and from this year also on our panoramic terrace.
Every night from 6.00 pm we have also our special Gardenia Happy Hour, a typical "italian aperitivo" with bruschettas and other food specialities that we offer to our guests that have only to pay for the drinks.
The quality of our products is always very high like the breakfast, enriched with the sympathy of our friendly staff that works hard to give to our guests the best service and make them feel like home.
Thank you again for your kind words .
We will be more than happy to welcome you again if you are planning to come back in Sorrento in the next future.
All the best to you all.
Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#37 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#40 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorrento City
Hotel Sorrento City
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing