We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time around”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived on Monday weather fine, we checked in room was a twin ( only the 4th time slept on my own in 30 years ) we had a room on the side 1st floor, the big surprise was a bottle of red wine two glasses & a note saying ( the manager & staff wishing you a happy anniversary ) this was very unexpected but well enjoyed, thank you from both of us.
That night we had weather never seen in sorrento before ice the size of golf balls yes you read correctly, some cars had bonnets dented even the staff were amazed at the bizarre weather.
Tuesday rain but again the staff were ready to help, we booked several trips plus a theatre night all great & our thanks go to the manageress for her help.
Above all our stay was a shakie start but as we used the hotel as a base this was not a problem ( referring to other reviews ) all off the features we found fine, we used the pool most days, this is our second time we have stayed at this hotel & will most certainly use the Hotel Gardenia again.
Once again a big thank you too all the staff & manageress for there welcome hospitality.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool are quieter but a bit more money, wifi is €2.00 for the stay, pool towels €3.0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review regarding your 2nd great stay at the Hotel Gardenia.
We are happy that you have spent a pleasant holiday despite the capricious weather and the incredible thunderstorm occurred during your stay.
Luckily the bad weather never lasts long in Sorrento and you are still able to enjoy the landscapes and wonderful excursions offered by our region.
Thank you for your kind words about all our services and our staff, it was a real pleasure for us to help you in organizing your trips and we are delighted that you enjoyed our little surprise for your wedding anniversary and had so contributed in making special your celebration.
Thank you once more for your thoughtfulness, we are already looking forward to welcoming you for a third holiday in Sorrento.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    240
    71
    26
    3
See reviews for
196
336
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time here. Hotel and staff were great. Room was excellent.

Customer service fabulous and rooms were clean as.

Breakfast was excellent!! Very important when travelling with kids.

Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for such an overwhelming review regarding your stay with your family at the Hotel Gardenia.
The Hotel Gardenia is a family-run hotel, which is why we care so much about the well-being of families and younger guests staying with us.
We take this opportunity to remind that at the Hotel Gardenia there is a special pool for the exclusive use of children as well as a small games room where they will find a selection of toys, educational games and drawing materials to keep them entertained.
The breakfast room provides a microwave oven that mums and dads can use to heat up milk or baby food, and comfortable high chairs are always available. Our lunchtime bar food menu offers a wide range of tasty yet nutritious dishes to please both adults and children.
Last but not least, we can supply a baby buggy suitable for infants up to 4 years of age to take the hassle out of excursions and sight-seeing trips.
Baby-sitter service is also available on request for children up 2 years.
Thank you again to take your time and write about your experience at the Hotel Gardenia.
We hope to welcome you again in the future if you come back for another holiday in Sorrento.
All the best to you four.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel just off the main area in Sorrento. Good choice breakfast, nice pool. Clean.

We had a problem with our shower and they sent someone straightaway to fix it. When it couldn't be done, we asked to be moved to another room and were found one straightaway.

If you like fluffy towels and pillows larger than wafer biscuits, perhaps this hotel isn't for you though!

Good parking (though it's €16 per night) and good wifi signal (at €2 per night). Ten minute walk into town.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SazS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family spent 2 nights in this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. It includes free breakfast which was delicious. It also has a pool that looked very nice, as we didn't have a chance to use it. The parking was not included in price but was secure. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because we received a room on the 3rd floor but at the front of the hotel and it was very noisy. You could hear the cars on the busy road it was on and there are dogs next door that liked to bark constantly. If you stay here, I would recommend a room away from the street and the dogs, otherwise bring some earplugs:-). The hotel itself was very nice though and reasonably priced for the area as it was in walking distance to the main square.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Gardenia, although it has been short.
We are very pleased that you have appreciated our private parking, our homemade american buffet breakfast and the cleanliness of the rooms.
We are deeply sorry for our next door neighbour’s barking dog. We have taken the necessary steps to solve this problem and a considerable improvement has been achieved since.
We will be pleased to welcome you again at the Gardenia if you are planning to come back to Sorrento in the future...better if for a longer stay so you will have the time to enjoy our pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel tries to get every last penny out of you. Any possible service comes at a cost. Towel? 3 euros. Internet? 2 euros. Electricity? Very little plugs in the room to charge devices and you need your key card in a special slot to have the lights on. Water? Drain in shower is slow so the tub begins the overflow onto the floor after 10-15 minutes. Refrigeration? Minibar is only for what they are selling (VERBATIM: IF YOU HAVE ANYTHING IN THE MINIFRIDGE OTHER THAN OUR PRODUCTS WE WILL TAKE IT OUT AND CHARGE YOU 3 EURO) This hotel is like a giant vending machine.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdklsadf .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are very disappointed to read your unsatisfactory comments and saying the truth, we are also very surprised as we are certainly not accustomed to this kind of comment, even reading the other reviews you will notice that the vast majority opf our guest is fully satisfied with the Hotel Gardenia. To respond to your comment, let me use the comment of another customer that reading your criticism is freely felt compelled to clarify some points and to write this: “The hotel do charge €3 for a BEACH TOWEL, but that is for the entire stay or they will exchange after a couple of days and only charge you the once. If you use the plug CORRECTLY in the shower then it does not flood the bathroom, you have to unscrew it slightly. The majority of hotel rooms require you insert the card key for the light and power to be used. However unlike other hotel rooms the AIR-CON stays on at the Gardenia so you always come back to a beautifully cool room. The WI-FI is FREE if used in the hotel lobby, the €2 charge is if you want to use it in your room and that charge is for your entire stay. We used the minibar fridge for a bottle of water, without removing any of the contents (it was large enough) and were never charged for it. I presume you would only be charged if you removed everything”.
Well, we don’t think that is necessary to say anything else. We are just sorry that our Hotel did not meet your expectations, but we think that you were looking for something different ,maybe a Hotel 5 stars with 5 stars services but note that the price is not exactly the same… keep that in mind for your next trip to Italy!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My family (2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 13) spent 3 pleasant nights at this cute hotel in Sorrento. The rooms are small but clean and well appointed. We had a double bed for the adults and bunk beds for the children. The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. The terrace and swimming pool was fantastic and we really enjoyed it. Although there was no free wifi in the room there was an excellent connection in the lobby and it was free. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful and had some wonderful restaurant recommendations. Finally, the best part of our stay was the outstanding breakfast buffet which had an incredible selection of both sweet and salty, hot and cold choices and everything was fresh and homemade. The omelets and salads were divine ( with vegetables from the hotels garden). The only negative was the distance from the train station and center of town- about a 10 to 15 minute walk on a slight hill.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind report and to share your experience with your children at the Gardenia with the Trip Advisor community. We are delighted that your family have spent a pleasant stay at the Gardenia and that you have so much appreciated our services, in particular our American buffet breakfast full of fresh and delicious pastries made by our chef Enza (we will refer to her your compliments, she will be delighted!), Sorrento’s mozzarella, fresh fruits, grilled vegetables, eggs, cereals and yogurts.
Hoping to welcome you back at the Gardenia one day, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we stayed in this small friendly family run hotel for 3 days, although the facilities are moderate the staff are exceptionally good It was my birthday while I was there and it was made unforgettable by the generosity of a being given a surprise cake and prosecco! I had one of my nicest celebrations ever.
the breakfasts were out of this world, the chef produces the most wonderful fresh cakes every morning.
The management go out of their way to make you feel special, Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GardeniaMagali, Responsabile reception at Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guests,
On behalf of myself and all the Gardenia’s staff, I want to thank you for your kindness and for your beautiful words. They make us feel gratified with our work!
We are very glad that you have so much appreciated all the services offered by our hotel like our buffet breakfast, your room and we are very satisfied that we have contributed in making your holiday and your birthday special. We hope to welcome you again a day at Gardenia.
Arrivederci.
Magali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
Art Hotel Gran Paradiso
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
1,064 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing