We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Stayed at this hotel in July 2009 for 5 nights as we were in Sorrento for a family wedding.

Hotel was not hard to find, we got a coach from Naples airport which dropped us off at the train station and it was only a 10-15 minute walk.

Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout. The hotel is very nice, modern. We had a sea view room with balcony which was great, not massive, but in no way small. Balcony overlooked the pool, and then some lemon trees and the sea, and a great view of Mount Vesuvius. Well air conditioned which was nice in the very hot weather. Breakfast was fine, hot food as well as cold, nice choice. It was a 10-15 minute walk into central Sorrento which was perfect for us.

Pool was great and never that busy, they even let a few of our family members (who weren't staying at the hotel) use the pool for free. Pool side snack bar was a little overpriced.

Particular good point - a staff member (I think his name was Michel) was ever so helpful and friendly, very good service - really made our experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    233
    67
    26
    3
See reviews for
189
322
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel so we could get easily to Pompeii and Herculaneum. The hotel is about 500m from the train station where you get the Circumvesuviana train to Pompeii (about 30-40 mins). The hotel is very clean and comfortable, though the room was tiny and the bathroom even smaller. It had a lovely pool area where you could get drinks and snacks. The staff were among the most helpful we came across our whole time in Italy. Breakfast were very nice, with fresh pastries, rolls, cakes and tarts and bacon and eggs (fried and scrambled), coffee was made to order. We would say there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Small but unique, everbody very freindly from managment to staff nothing to much trouble,
it just goes to prove that good things come in small packages!
The place that we found to eat was about 7-8 minutes down the road & is called Master Hosts the food & service was excellent & very reasonably priced all in all a very good week!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turnpike18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel May 9-14 or 2010 as part of a package. Can't say exactly what we paid per night, but we were pleased at the friendly and attentive staff, the absolute cleanliness, marble floors, and balcony view of the bay. Breakfast was included in our package, and featured eggs (cooked to order on request), bacon, a selection of cheeses, meats, pastries, cerals, granola, milk yogurt, fruit, juices, and coffee as you like it. Reading the other reviews, I must say I'm puzzled at some of the complaints: we found it to be excellent. For the record, the snacks and mini-bar prices were quite reasonable.

We had a rental car, and parking at 16 euro per day was a pinch, but compared to alternatives, not bad. Very conveniently located on the Corso Italia to reach the marina, the Amalfi Drive, and so on. Easy connection to Capri.

The hotel is near to several restaurants, and complimentary transfer is available from several local restaurants upon request (Da Filippo and Vela Bianca in particular!)

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and would heartily recommend this hotel to the budget minded traveler.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_Ader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Cove, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Gardenia the week between Palm Sunday and Easter. The breakfast was always the same-cold cereal, cold cuts for the Europeans, nothing hot offered. Once the food ran out it was not replenished, so if you got there late, you missed out. The hotel guide book in the lobby and in the room states the parking is 11 Euro but they charge you 16 euro when you check out. (We demanded a refund and got it). They also charge for the chips and nuts in the room (all stale) and even though we only opened the chips, they charged us for nuts anyway. They would not budge on that one.

The room is clean, although quite small. Not much storage to put your things. We were there for 6 nights and had to live out of a suitcase as there was not enough space to put our clothing, One night the guests above us starting moving their beds around at 2 AM and it continued for several hours. When we went to the fron desk one of the staff was sleeping on the couch and said "What would you like me to do?" We asked him to call the room and tell them to stop making the noise but he didn't. We continued to listen to the scraping of furniture being moved for the next 2 hours!

Sorrento was not what we expected. The drivers are crazy, no traffic lights and signage is poor. We spend 4 hours getting lost trying to find Pompeii and finally returned to the hotel and napped. Returning to the Naples airport was horrible-there was not one sign on the autostrada telling you where to get off for the airport. We chanced it and rode around the city of Naples asking people for directions but no one spoke English. After 45 minutes we found someone who was able to direct us.

WE have been to Northern Italy (Lake Garda) 3 times and it was wonderful. You can keep southern Italy-it is horrible and we will never return to that area again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starstruck_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, IL
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel through a travel agent deal and really don't know what we paid per night, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent, including eggs. It was close to the downtown area and a couple of nights, we bought great food at the grocery store down the street and had our own picnic on the roof. Parking was $16 euro a day and breakfast was not included in our deal, so it was an extra $10 euro each per day. Internet worked fairly good and was $8 euro for three hours. A great place!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moodymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

We spent 6 nights in March 2010 at the Gardenia Hotel in Sorrento. The hotel is a great value. There are no frills but there is cleanliness, outstanding service by the owners Gaetano Mauro, his wife and daughter who along with one or two other relatives run this hotel and it is within 10-15 minute walk to downtown Sorrento. It's not the Ritz but it is a warm and inviting hotel with a small bar and a sense of family when you take a few moments to get to know the owners. Free parking and free Internet would be a good addition and breakfasts could be improved. Nonetheless it suited the needs of our party of 3 couples perfectly.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#41 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#36 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing