We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, eco-friendly, modern hotel with outstanding service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stylish, eco-friendly, modern hotel with outstanding service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

I had the opportunity this August to train down the Almafi Coast from Rome, Italy and decided to check my various hotel reward programs to see which ones might be useful in obtaining a room. To my surprise, Choice Hotels International listed the Hotel Gardenia Sorrento and I booked a reward stay for one night. After just a 10 minute, relaxing walk from the train station, I see the hotel and it looks quite inviting and relaxing. The front desk did not have record of my reward stay reservation and indeed noted the hotel just affiliated with Choice Hotels quite recently. After a check with the owner/manager, they accomodated my room and I was very pleased with the arrangement. The rooms are very clean, modern and functional. The hotel staff outstanding. The pool and view were so inviting and the breakfast was top notch. I am already making plans to return and stay a week or longer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    233
    67
    26
    3
See reviews for
189
322
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

This hotel is situated about 10-15 min walk from the main centre of Sorrento which is fine as long as you don't mind a walk. It is a small hotel with only about 10 rooms on each floor meaning the staff get to know you very quickly. They are all really friendly and extremely helpful. There is no free internet but this is a hotel for being on holiday, forget about the internet! The pool is a modest size and shared with the hotel next door but is never overcrowded and there are plenty of sun loungers. Traffic is noisy at night if you want to sit on the balcony of your room but inside with the door closed there is no problem. Each room is air conditioned which is a must have in the height of summer here. The beds are too short if you are above 6 foot tall. Breakfast is very good, yoghurt, cereal, bread, CAKE etc but a little lacking if you like a full english.

Overall a superb hotel that I would go back to if visiting Sorrento again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjornage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

July 2010, went on a 5 week trip through Italy. One of our stops was in Sorrento. We stayed at Hotel Gardenia. It was awsome! I am a meeting coordinator by profession and I was truly empressed. It is the perfect hotel for a family holiday. It is walking distance from everything in Sorrento and surrounding area(truly walking distance). And if your traveling by car they also have a very safe parking lot in the back of the hotel and we left our car there all week because we were able to walk everywhere. Even walked to the train station 5 minutes away and took the train to Pompea, and another day took the bus to Positano & Amalfi. The owners and hotel staff were nicer than staying with family. My kids felt safe and very welcomed throughout the hotel. The pool area was big clean and great for kids. The breakfasts which were included were excellent. My husband is a chef and he was very impresed at the quality and quantity of food that was available. We were always greeted with a goodmornng a smile and an expresso or cappuccino. The staff was awsome at organizing our tours of Capri and Anacapri, and also organizing our evening dinners were the restaurant would come and pick us up at the hotel and bring us back at the end of the night. All complimentary. It is a 27 room hotel, nice big rooms all with balconies, sparkeling clean, nice big bathrooms. There was 4 of us in 1 room and we were very comfortable. Our room and balcony faced the road, and the room was completly sound proof. The air conditioning worked very well, and after going on hot long tours during the day, we could not wait to get back to the hotel. It was like being at home. If you have kids or teenagers and are planning a family holiday in Sorrento, don't stay at any other hotel, this place is perfect. The only thing it lacked was an ocean veiw but when your in Sorrento who needs a view at night when your surrounded by it during the day. I will recomend this hotel to all my family and friends, we will go back for sure. And just stay in Sorrento at the Hotel Gardenia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123toni123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

What can I say nothing was to much trouble, the hotel was clean and well maintained the pool superb and plently of sunbeds at what ever time you choose to go to the pool - this is a family run hotel and cant you tell - the complete focus is on the guests and ensuring that you have a superb holiday. The hotel is approx 10 mins walk from the main square which was ideal as we had a slow walk on an evening and watched the hussle and bussle of local life. The hotel staff reccommended places ot eat and were more than happy to sort everything out for you. Rooms very clean with everything you need and a very good choice at breakfast.....I have travelled the world and never felt the need to REALLY recommend any where before - try it and you will go back

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeLee1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed in Hotel Gardenia for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Hotel is absolutely spotlessly clean, bedrooms are very fashionably furnished and spacious. Our shower room was on the small side for the 3 of us but served it's purpose - shower very powerful. Our room looked onto the main road which when the patio door was open was noisy but once shut couldn't hear a thing. My mum and other daughter shared a double room overlooking the pool which was lovely and we had our pre dinner drinks sitting there.

Breakfast was plentiful, fresh fruit a must and couldn't get over the amount of cakes being served. One thought was that the restaurant should provide half board - going by the breakfast and snack standards, then they would make a fortune from evening meals. The walk was about 15 minutes to the main shopping area but not as bad as some advisors informed.

Overall, we would most definitely stay here again - thanks to all who made over stay so special.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lesley103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

After a hideous train trip from Napoli, Hotel Gardenia was an oasis. The staff are gorgeous and will bend over backwards to help you - such a rare find. Rooms are crisp and clean and enticing. Pool is a welcome sight in summer. Bathroom great. Breakfast was exceptional. Short walk to town and restaurants are plentiful and good quality. Recommend the mini cruise to Amalfi, suggested by staff. The town is lit up beautifully at night. I wish I had spent more time here and less time in Rome.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanthao186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

As the previous reviewers have said, the hotel is wonderful, and the staff are even better. Hotel is spotless, the breakfast was good, the pool area was clean and there is a huge area (away from the pool area) where you can lay down and one of their numerous sun beds and chill!
The rooms and balcony are a good size. I honestly cannot fault this hotel. If I return to Sorrento, I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nubs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
Hotel Rivoli Sorrento
#38 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tasso Suites
Tasso Suites
#39 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#35 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.6 mi away
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
Il Nido Hotel Sorrento
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast

Property: Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast
Address: Corso Italia 258, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast is a smart 3-star hotel located in the heart of the beautiful town of Sorrento. The hotel is situated in Corso Italia, Sorrento's main street, only 500 metres from the old town. Our hotel has 22 rooms and was completely renovated* in 2007 using soundproofing and eco-friendly materials in line with our commitment to safeguarding the local landscape and environment. With its new functional layout, elegant interior and exterior finishes, the hotel in Sorrento is a typical example of modern Mediterranean architecture. Our wonderful panoramic terrace complete with deckchairs and pergola is the ideal place to relax and enjoy the stunning views of the Bay of Naples. The hotel has also been awarded the EcoWorldHotel quality trademark and is ISO 14001 certified. Guests can rest assured that they are staying in a hotel with a reduced environmental impact. We offer our guests a friendly yet refined atmosphere with a tastefully furnished interior and decorated in soft colour schemes. The hotel has a swimming pool, private car park (on charge), fitness center, garden with piano bar during the summer season, indoor bar, and TV lounge, nearby tennis court, free internt wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Hotel Gardenia Sorrento Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing