We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Place for a longer stay”
Review of Rota Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rota Suites
Ranked #58 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed 16 nights at Rota Suites and made a wonderful decision.
After looking into vacation rentals and finding that almost none of them were non-smoking, we felt fortunate to have found this super clean, contemporary, all -suites hotel.
Having space to move about and the ability to prepare a light meal from time to time worked out perfectly for a stay that long. And of course, having a frig. for wine and the wonderful fresh produce at the local open-air markets...as well as any restaurant leftovers to keep and re-heat, made a great difference.
The staff is fabulous...Thank you Raffaella!!
The rooms are very clean, spacious and efficient.

But be prepared to walk to get anywhere, nearly 15 min. to the main square Piazza Tasso.
While there is some view of the sea, to access it and have use of a pool, one would use their sister hotel The Riviera, another bit of a walk, but worth the effort.
No free internet and traffic noise (just city life I guess), would be the only slight negatives.
I would eagerly recommend Rota Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sedona_Az_Jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

This review is largely geared toward families travelling with young children. We were travelling with a 10 month old and a 3.5 year old so there were particular things we were looking for when choosing a place to stay in Sorrento.

The kitchen suited us perfectly. It had a small fridge with freezer, stove top, sink and microwave. It was all that we really needed to make baby food for our daughter and store milk for our son. We also made breakfast for all of us each morning.
There are a number of small convenient stores which sell some groceries just up the street (just at the crossroad), and a larger grocery store further up the hill (Pollo, less than 10 mins away) or one closer into Tasso Sqaure (Standa, 15 mins away) . I read in a review that the smaller convenient stores had cheaper items but I would disagree. Produce is much cheaper in the grocery stores since it's charged by weight versus per item.

Our room had a separate bedroom with a crib. The living area also had a fold out bed. We found the room very quiet (we faced a garden) and the shades were automated such that it could be pitch-black for our kids. There was also a flat screen TV in the main area if we wanted to watch TV.

Housekeeping was done twice while we were there (we stayed 10 nights), which suited us fine. They provided a broom and mop if we wanted to do additional cleaning. However, we did have to advise the front desk to have the chambermaid take our garbage since sometimes she forgot to check the garbage on a daily basis. They have a washer and dryer which you can use, computer with internet and parking, all for extra cost.

The location was perfect for us. It was about a 10-15 min walk to the centre of the city and was away from all the hussle and bustle. The train station was very close and the marina was just at the centre city (but down 100+ steps which is a bit of a challenge with strollers). We were also very close to a public park for the kids to play at. The park was open before and after lunch and our kids had fun. The park is less than 10 mins away; as you walk out the hotel, turn right and go around the community centre.

And last but not least, the staff was incredible. Thank you Rafaella and Fabio for all of your help and advice on what to see and do while in Sorrento. They greeted our kids each time we came into the reception area and made them feel so welcome. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Canadiantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The apartment was very spacious and comfortably furnished & the fittings looked quite new. Everything in Sorrento was within walking distance - train station, restaurants, harbour, shops - so the location was convenient but the downside to this was some road noise. There was a tiny kitchen with two-ring hob & fridge, but it was fine to do breakfast & sandwiches etc. The staff were pleasant, especially Lucio.

We booked the Rota Suites as it seemed good value, but Sorrento is very expensive for eating out so potentially a five-star hotel on half-board would have not cost more overall!

We had a good view of the coast from the front of the building (it is on a small but quite busy road), but at the side the view was of a big area cleared as if a building project was about to start, with diggers etc poised for action, and the rear view seemed to be of a car park.

We were told we had the benefit of using the nearby Riviera hotel but it seemed a bit "stuffy" when we went to have a look around so with our children running around we could not relax! Also, the pool was not heated and the beach/sea access was closed, so not really a benefit for us.

Overall, we had a great holiday & it was a good base for sightseeing for a family - we hate staying in cramped hotel rooms and like to be able to make tea & have a fridge for the kids' milk etc. However, it was not perfect in that (a) the apartment could have been cleaner, particularly the kitchen, (b) the road noise was a bit irritating, (c) the hotel pool was unheated & beach access closed, (d) the check-out was 10am & there was no leeway with this.

Room Tip: Good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TattyNatalie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We were very impressed with the Rota Suites. We loved the freedom of being able to live in an apartment in Sorrento for two weeks like the locals. The accomodation was exceptional. Very modern and clean. We had a large bedroom, dining room/lounge with a dining table and chairs, bathroom, dressing area and extremely well stocked kitchen area all cleverly hidden away by cupboards. In addition to this we had two balconies. The area was central , only a few minutes walk to Corso Italia and Piazza Tasso, railway station and the marina and lots of great restaurants. The reception staff were friendly and really helpful. We highly recommend Rota Suites.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WTJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We loved these apartments. We went with our 2 girls 11 and 15. From the moment we arrived at the apartments in the taxi, we were impressed! Tasteful, modern design from the reception area all the way through to the apartments. We were very lucky to get a view of the sea and Mount Vesuvius which is just awe inspiring. The Vespas take a bit of ignoring when you are sitting on your balcony! It does die down at night I'm glad to say. Good air con in apartment tho we kept it off at night as too cold and windows shut as mozquitos get in so a bit stuffy by morning! TAKE MOZZIE SPRAY! The staff on the desk spoke good English and were always helpful. A nice selection of information books in the reception area to use at our leisure. Not too far a walk with swimming stuff, lilos etc. to the pool and bathing platforms at the Hotel Riviera. Though expensive for food and drinks there. We had brought a cool bag with us from England so made our own picnic and took it with us each day. Worked well with cold drinks to keep it cool! Don't pack towels. They are provided in the apartment, pool, and bathing platform. Save space in your case! We went to Pompeii and found it easy enough by train. The staff will give you directions - not far from apartment. Tickets E11 each and straight route to Pompeii. Train staff spoke English. My advise is definately take a picnic to Pompeii AND sunhat or even better umbrella/parasol for shade as you walk around. Especially for children as not much shade and unbearably hot. A walk down to the marina is very pleasant in the evening to eat. The walk back up wasn't as bad as it looked! A ferry over to Naples for the day is a nice way to go but quite pricey. We didn't take a picnic as it was easier not to and ate at MacDonalds as it was the cheapest way in a city! Restaurants a plenty in Sorrento - all with pretty much the same menu offering pizza and pasta! Not cheap. We ate in a couple of nights cooking simple meals in the tiny kitchenette. A bit tricky but we managed. The nearest and cheapest supermarket is 5 mins walk around the corner and keep going straight ahead across busy road and up the hill slightly and its there on the right. I think its called Strada. We got lilos for kids in supermarket for 2.50 each and left them there. Less in case! The holiday was lovely. Great choice of restaurants, souvenir shops, location, places of interest, views and weather. Thoroughly recommend. We need to return as much more to see - didnt see Amalfi coast or go up Vesuvius yet!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank culturevulture201008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Stayed for 4 nights with husband and two friends. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here.
Very clean and well appointed. Everything you need really. Good location. Dont use the closest small supermarket in side street closest to apartment. Very inflated prices. We discovered a small fruit and vegetable shop at top of the street and turn left. (Green canopy) Doesn't speak English but has everything you need for breakfast and lunch. Milk,free range eggs, fruit etc fresh bread each morning. Much better value than supermarket. Highly recommend Rota Suites. Only negative we discovered on departure you could use nearby hotel pool. Didn't see notice on board on stairs. Pity!
Hired a car visited Amalfi, Ravello Positano Capri. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed here with our 4 year year old for a week in July. Rafaella gave us a very warm welcome and made a fuss of our son whenever she saw him. The apartment was spacious, modern and very clean. We had a huge balcony. Having read all of the earlier reviews, it was pleasing to see that the management has taken it all on-board and made changes where appropriate (for example, brooms and cleaning equipment are provided along with a stack of towels). The hilight for us had to be the use of the pool and bathing platforms at the Hotel Riviera. It really made our trip and felt very exclusive. The staff were very friendly and we were there most days of our stay. We ate out in the many restaurants of Sorrento and were not disappointed, which was why we went for a self catering option. The supermarket was a short walk away and there was a lot of choice - the carrier bags are really strong and will get your groceries back to the apartment in one piece! All in all, we had a great trip and will certanly be back again, probably when it is not so hot, so we can go exploring further afield. We did go to Capri on the ferry during the daytime and would love to go back in the evening and stay over in a boutique hotel, when it is cooler and quieter - fab shopping though! If you love good food and an upmarket atmosphere, you should visit Sorrento and stay in the Rota suites.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoobie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#50 of 100 in Sorrento
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
3,286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#9 of 100 in Sorrento
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Oriana Relais
Villa Oriana Relais
#2 of 100 in Sorrento
1,020 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel del Mare
Hotel del Mare
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#12 of 100 in Sorrento
1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rota Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rota Suites

Address: Via Bernardino Rota 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range: £153 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rota Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rota Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rota Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Rota Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing