We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location and 1st class facilities”
Review of Rota Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rota Suites
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and 1st class facilities”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed here with our 4 year year old for a week in July. Rafaella gave us a very warm welcome and made a fuss of our son whenever she saw him. The apartment was spacious, modern and very clean. We had a huge balcony. Having read all of the earlier reviews, it was pleasing to see that the management has taken it all on-board and made changes where appropriate (for example, brooms and cleaning equipment are provided along with a stack of towels). The hilight for us had to be the use of the pool and bathing platforms at the Hotel Riviera. It really made our trip and felt very exclusive. The staff were very friendly and we were there most days of our stay. We ate out in the many restaurants of Sorrento and were not disappointed, which was why we went for a self catering option. The supermarket was a short walk away and there was a lot of choice - the carrier bags are really strong and will get your groceries back to the apartment in one piece! All in all, we had a great trip and will certanly be back again, probably when it is not so hot, so we can go exploring further afield. We did go to Capri on the ferry during the daytime and would love to go back in the evening and stay over in a boutique hotel, when it is cooler and quieter - fab shopping though! If you love good food and an upmarket atmosphere, you should visit Sorrento and stay in the Rota suites.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    57
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
101
79
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

The Rota Suites Apartments were situated in in a very good location with just a short stroll to all amenities (shops, restaurants, bars, train station, ports etc). They had all necessary equipment required and more, the best thing was having air conditioning 24/7 even when out during the day. The apartment are cleaned once a week and staff let you know which day that will be so you are not inconvenienced. The staff were extremely kind and helpful. We were able to use the swimming pool and bathing platform of the sister hotel just along the road which was fantastic and towels were provided. This was very useful as beaches are non-existent in Sorrento (apart from free one which gets very busy and is very small), otherwise they have bathing platforms which are very expensive, you have to pay around 6 Euros just to walk onto them. In Sorrento we found that the food quality was not so good and drinks expensive. However a restaurant we found extremely nice was "Sir Joe" on the main street near to Piazza Tasso, food very good and value for money (try the steak and chocolate proffitoroles). A very good bar/snack bar particular for drinks to try is on the street behind Davide's ice-cream parlour. It is well worth making a trip to the island of Capri, take the funicular to the top where the views are amazing and you can see how the rich and famous live.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melcro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Had a wonderful time with our family of 5 At Rota Suites. Everything is within walking distance. The hotel is very modern, clean and well equipped. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were large and our family was very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulli47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We spent a week at the Rota Suites in early June. We had a two bedroom - 2 bathroom apartment. Just the right size for the five women in our group! Light, bright airy apartments just like Guiseppe and the rest of his indispensable staff. All the conveniences you could want Wifi, laundry facilities, microwave, TVs, balconies.
The location of the apartment was a great base for our various outings – not in the thick of things, but just a few steps away from the places you wanted to be – restaurants, bars, stores, the main square or the train station. We never used the bus service as everything was easily within a 10 minute walk from the apartment.
The only issue we had was in trying to decipher the Byzantine chart they had for the recycling of garbage in the apartment. None of us could figure out the logic in the five sorts they wanted us to make of the garbage for collection. You could get a headache trying to figure it out!
Rota Suites -- the right choice for us! Thanks Guiseppe!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOLAnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The Rota Suites are in an ideal location to explore Sorrento and the surronding area. We stayed in a one bed apartment which included a double sofa bed in the lounge area. On arrival our accomodation was immaculate; however, they are only cleaned once during a week long stay we felt that every other day would have been better. Also towels are only changed once a week - we would have preferred at least two changes. The small kitchen area is very well well equipped - we ate breakfast in each day and also managed to make a couple of simple pasta meals on a couple of evenings. Everything is more expensive this year - eating and drinking in the Sorrento bars and restaurants is VERY expensive so the apartments were ideal for us. At the end of our week we found the best ever restaurant in the nearby Sant Agnello which was only a 10/15 minute walk - The Moonlight. The food was simply wonderful and the prices much more reasonable than in Sorrento. During our stay we had the use of the pool at the nearby Hotel Grand Riveriera which looked out over the bay of Naples and was just heaven. The hotel facilities are top rate and the staff are amazing - especially Nello the pool attendant who looks after everyone so well. During our stay we visited Pompei and also did the Amalfi Drive. For Pompei we took the train rather than an organised trip - you can walk to the train station from the apartment and buy a ticket for 21 Euro which includes the train fare, entrance to the site and also an English speaking guide - well worth it. For the Amalfi Drive we opted for an organised bus trip which cost about 30 Euro. Our guide was excellent and we visited Positano, Amalfi & Ravello with a surprise stop on the way to a place called Scala, where we ate lunch. A word of warning - at Scala you are herded off the bus into a restaurant for a three course lunch with wine but no-one mentioned the cost to us! However, the food was brilliant and the cost was only 13 Euro a head which was great value. All that said - we had a wonderful time in Sorrento and we would certainly return to the Rota Suites again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckienewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2010

These are centrally located modern, clean apartments. Some apartments face on to a busy street, although noise is not a problem at night I would suggest requesting a room on the other side. There is maid service twice a week although you have the option to pay 20 Euros per day to have it clean more frequently.

We had a slight problem with ants on the second day but the staff dealt with it and left us the spray in case we needed it again, which we didn't.

The 'kitchen' is hidden behind cupboards and has everything from cutlery, plates, glasses, cups to a microwave and oven hob (which you need to boil the kettle) and a fridge/freezer. We only ate breakfast here (cereals, fruit, toast, croissants etc) so I cannot comment on the actual cooking. One of the reasons we sometimes choose to stay here is, when there is an odd number in the group, it saves one person from paying high supplements for a single room in a hotel. It's not because we want to cook our meals!

The apartments are spacious and have plenty of storage. One bed apartments have a main bedroom, bathroom and a metal action sofabed in the spacious living area. There is a laundry room downstairs past reception with a washer and dryer and an iron and ironing board which you can use at any time. There is a computer in reception also, internet is charged at 3 euros per 30 minutes and 5 euros for 1 hour, it is really slow though! There is a safe which is free to use as it is one where you choose a PIN number.

Piazza Tasso is a 5-10 minute walk, going along the Via Correale is nicer and quieter than heading up to the Corso Italia, although of course it depends where you are going to.

I definitely recommend the Rota Suites, I cannot think of a negative at all, I will be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

The two bedroom apartment we stayed in for 7 nights was exactly what we were looking for in a base for the Sorrento area. The rooms were all clean and modern, with security shutters on all the windows. The kitchen facilities were great for breakfast and lunch and we managed to cook pasta for dinner on the small stove top. There is an excellent washer and drier to be used for the apartment guests for a small cost and a large supermarket (by Italian standards) close to the apartments.
Raffaella was very welcoming on our arrival and was a great help throughout the week. The only negative about the apartment was the noise from the private residences above. Throughout the night they would screech chairs, stomp in high heels and create a lot of noise. It was hard to get to sleep some nights but you get used to it.
I would easily recommend this to a friend and would use it again if I stayed back in Sorrento.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy_and_lauraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
Hotel Palazzo Guardati
#52 of 100 in Sorrento
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#56 of 100 in Sorrento
644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antiche Mura Hotel
Antiche Mura Hotel
#10 of 100 in Sorrento
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
1.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
Hotel Residence Le Terrazze
#45 of 100 in Sorrento
469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rota Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rota Suites

Property: Rota Suites
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 25, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
#43 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rota Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Rota Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rota Hotel Sorrento
Sorrento Rota Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing