We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited in the winter; dreaming of returning in the summer”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Visited in the winter; dreaming of returning in the summer”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel reminded me of what it must have been like to take the Grand Tour back in the day. The room were traditionally decorated; our room was very large, spotlessly clean, bright and well appointed. Everything was like brand new and there was plenty of space for two. Our room overlooked the front patio complete with Juliet balcony.

The location was easy walking distance from the train/bus station. Service was professional and friendly at all times. Breakfast buffet was one of the most lavish I have encountered. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Due to our visit being in the winter the pool was not open, but the garden and pool area was very private and pretty with the oranges just about ready to pick. The deep gorge in front of the hotel and all of the history associated with the hotel added to the magic.

Only negatives: WiFi is only in public areas and there was a power failure during our visit that we learned is common in Sorrento - recommend requesting a room on a low floor as emergency power does not include the elevators.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buytherules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,892
    338
    43
    10
    2
See reviews for
529
1,242
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

As we're coming toward the end of our 26 day stay in Italy, we spent 4 glorious nights here. Room and bath were fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and lovely. Yes, so many cakes and cookies to choose from, many with chocolate, my favorite! The service is outstanding! It is a bit on the high end, but very worth it. Such a beautiful hotel. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We've stayed at the Antiche Mura twice and have been impressed by the service, the staff and the hotel itself on both occasions. The pool is a wonderful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Sorrento in June - you wouldn't believe it was right in the city centre, it's so (generally) tranquil. Local knowledge and tips for things to see came thick and fast from bar staff and were welcomed. Superb hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Staff could not be more helpful. Always happy to answer questions, book resturants etc. Our pick-up on the last morning was early so they gave us a packed breakfast.
We were lucky enough to have room 500 on the top floor wtih our own terrace. Defineately the best room in the hotel! The swimming pool in the lemon grove is lovely.
Handy position just off the Piazzo Tasso, short walk to local supermarket and train station and all the rambling lanes of Sorrento.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed for three days at the end of our three week trip to Italy. What a lovely, peaceful hotel - and the pool was a perfect oasis. Our three kids, 16,14, and 10, thoroughly enjoyed it. Within short walking distance to the train station, shops and restaurants - they close down the main street at night so it is a pedestrian zone with a few street performers. We loved it here so much that we never got around to doing any daytrips to Capri or Amalfi. We just did Pompeii and then relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJRJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We just finished our stay at the hotel and were very pleased with the overall service and accommodations. This is our first visit to Sorrento and i relied on trip advisor as our guide. I have to say the hotels attention to detail, service and willingness to help made our stay enjoyable. While due to leave on Friday, we were informed the rail workers were going on a 24 hour strike, the hotel was quick to offer assistance and managed to allow our stay for an extra night which was not an easy task. I would highly recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

This moderate sized hotel is in an old building close to the centre of Sorrento but next to a forested gorge. There is a moderate sized swimming pool in an orchard of lemon trees providing fragrant shade. There is no sea or volcano view but the location is convenient for restaurants and shopping.

The rooms were a good size, clean and the service was discrete and very friendly.

Sorrento is on a cliff so there is a ten minute walk from the hotel down about 150 steps to the port where there are boats to Capri and down the coast.

The bus station (for getting to the airport or down the Amalfi coast) and the train station (to get to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculeneum is about 800m away.

Room Tip: We go deluxe rooms which were a good price bought on line six months in advance .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asclepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#6 of 100 in Sorrento
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
Grand Hotel Capodimonte
#27 of 100 in Sorrento
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing