We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total class”
Review of Antiche Mura Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antiche Mura Hotel
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Sorrento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
west australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“total class”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 delightful days.
Aside of being very close to the train and bus and ferries for day touring, it's only a five minute walk to the old town market area as well as some great restaurants. Our room was spotless and well equipped. The pool is a lovely thought to come home to, after a day out in the Sorrento / Amalfi sun There was nothing we needed that wasn't provided, and done so very well.
I think though that the biggest rave for this hotel was the excellent staff. Aside of always being friendly, cheerful and happy to offer a solution to any problem, we thank them sincerely for going totally out of their way with sorting out a booking issue (our fault totally!) with absolute professionalism and not even a bit the fuss we would have expected from most hotels
We have traveled extensively and this hotel is the very best we have experienced to date in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    340
    44
    10
    2
See reviews for
542
1,250
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Our first visit to Sorrento, the Antiche Mura was perfect, ideally located, helpful staff, clean and well appointed rooms, wonderful garden and pool and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cotwolddonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The staff service was great. The room was well appointed and well maintained. The hotel is idealy situated close to the main piazza. Breakfast was ideal for all travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A beautiful hotel just off the main piazza and overlooking a lovely lush valley. The hotel is very clean and has a very nice garden and pool area surrounded by lemon and lime trees that provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. A special mention to Mario who looks after the pool and outdoor bar area, he is very helpful and always happily singing as he goes about his work. He was very informative and speaks very good English and takes a genuine interest in his guests. The reception staff are equally helpful and do their best to accommodate any requests. Francesco the hotel shuttle driver was also fantastic and gave us a great welcome at the airport and spent the hour long trip to the hotel pointing out all the points of interest along the way, this makes you feel very relaxed form the outset.
The region is very pretty and we did trips to Pompeii which was fascinating, the spectacular island of Capri with its stunning views from the top of the chairlift up Mt Solaro at Ana Capri, as well as a boat trip and walk around the steep town of Positano.
People watching from the outside bar and restaurant in the main square in the evening was entertaining and we found some lovely restaurants as well.
My only suggestions to the hotel and these are really minor are to improve their coffee which wasn’t great, buy a new Jacuzzi bath in the suite as it needed repairing twice whilst we were there and try and get a your wireless access a bit quicker.
My only other negative observation would be to be careful when buying boat trip tickets as they try and get you onto the longer mini cruises which take all day as opposed to the slightly more expensive but direct services offered by the fast boats or hydrofoils. Also there is a lot of pressure to sign up to guided tours at Pompeii, Vesuvius and Capri. Unless you feel a huge desire to walk around in vast groups without being able to hear then it’s very easy to buy maps and work your own way around the sights at your leisure.
We will definitely be back to both Sorrento and the Antiche Mura.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The Antiche Mura Hotel in Sorrento was one of the best hotels we stayed in while travelling through Europe. The staff were very friendly and go out of their way to be of assistance. The hotel is beautifully decorated and is more like a 5 star hotel. Situated just 1 min walk from the centre of Sorrento. The rooms are spacious, clean and bathrooms are also quite large. Plenty of wardrobe space in the room and a nice little balcony. There is a basket of fruit in your room on arrival. The breakfast room is lovely with great views and fresh food with plenty of variety served each morning. Our stay here was really enjoyable and we would definitely stay here again. We loved Sorrento and especially the Antiche Mura.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_friends_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The hotel reminded me of what it must have been like to take the Grand Tour back in the day. The room were traditionally decorated; our room was very large, spotlessly clean, bright and well appointed. Everything was like brand new and there was plenty of space for two. Our room overlooked the front patio complete with Juliet balcony.

The location was easy walking distance from the train/bus station. Service was professional and friendly at all times. Breakfast buffet was one of the most lavish I have encountered. Everything was fresh and delicious.

Due to our visit being in the winter the pool was not open, but the garden and pool area was very private and pretty with the oranges just about ready to pick. The deep gorge in front of the hotel and all of the history associated with the hotel added to the magic.

Only negatives: WiFi is only in public areas and there was a power failure during our visit that we learned is common in Sorrento - recommend requesting a room on a low floor as emergency power does not include the elevators.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buytherules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

As we're coming toward the end of our 26 day stay in Italy, we spent 4 glorious nights here. Room and bath were fantastic. Breakfast was delicious and lovely. Yes, so many cakes and cookies to choose from, many with chocolate, my favorite! The service is outstanding! It is a bit on the high end, but very worth it. Such a beautiful hotel. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sorrento hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Favorita
Grand Hotel La Favorita
#7 of 100 in Sorrento
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior Vittoria
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
Grand Hotel Ambasciatori
#11 of 100 in Sorrento
1,533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel De La Ville Sorrento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiche Mura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiche Mura Hotel

Property: Antiche Mura Hotel
Address: Via Fuorimura 7 | Piazza Tasso, 80067, Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sorrento
#1 Business Hotel in Sorrento
#2 Green Hotel in Sorrento
#4 Family Hotel in Sorrento
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiche Mura Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antiche Mura Hotel has a wonderful position in the heart of Sorrento, in the main square Piazza Tasso. It is an ideal base for exploring Sorrento and its beautiful surroundings like Capri, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc. This newly renovated hotel combines elegance, style and modern comforts (Like Free Wi-Fi) able to satisfy guests with the highest expectations. At the same time , you will be able to experience centuries of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Antiche Mura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiche Mura Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing